We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”

Outlaw's at The Capital
Ranked #166 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $75
Cuisines: British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Knightsbridge
Description: The Michelin starred restaurant Outlaw's at The Capital boasts an ever changing array of unique dishes created using British seafood caught predominantly around the coast of Cornwall. Masterminded by Nathan Outlaw and Head Chef Tom Brown, who source the freshest and best seafood from fishermen they know. They let the ingredients take centre stage and menus showcase an array of original and creative seafood dishes. Nathan who holds 2 Michelin stars at his eponymous restaurant in the village of Port Isaac, Cornwall spends time each week at the restaurant with Tom.
Camberley
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We called in unannounced for lunch, just passing by from Harrod's. The service - excellent, the food - excellent, the wine - excellent. The best restaurant we have been to this year. And not too pricey either, for Knightsbridge. What more can I say?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    146
    48
    20
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
146 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Refreshingly New”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Outlaw's has taken the place of the previous French Restaurant at Capital Hotel. It is a HIT! The setting is much more casual and the food is really yummy. Not too heavy with perfect presentation. I had lunch with a friend and for 2 of us it was GBP50. Great value considering the food standard and service!They have a "special" on Thursdays where you can BYOB and no corkage charge. So I already booked a table in October for a celebration meal. My partner is going to be chuffed we can take a bottle of our own.
Very good all around ..... hope the can keep it up!!
Right next to Harrods so great location if you are doing a bit of shopping there!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ho_sik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Uk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Food was delicious. Interesting fish menu. Service was faultless. Although a little lacking in ambience. Would thoroughly recommend a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrickwelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It was a triumph”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Quite a small restaurant, but with very professional service and exquisite food. This restaurant really did exceed our expectations. Good use of mirrors on the back wall to give the illusion of space and an interesting glass viewing panel into the kitchen. Excellent homemade breads and also a mise en bouche (pre-starter) of miniature fish cakes. An ordinary dish of fillets of plaice was executed perfectly with distinct flavours from anchovy anna potatoes and sweet red onions. The Chocolate mousse and elderflower and gooseberry crumble were also fantastic. This was followed by more freebies of petit fours ( small orange treacle tartlets and chocolate truffles). We ordered from the set lunch menu which proved to be excellent value. Overall our lunch was a triumph.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Disappointing and Dull”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I really was looking forward to going to this restaurant that has Nathan Outlaw's name above the door. He runs a restaurant in Cornwall with two Michelin stars and had great expectations. We arrived at 7.30 on a Friday evening to find us sharing a virtually empty restaurant. I said to the wife that i was sure that later it would be busier, after all it is a Friday night. The room is clinical and lacks any ambience and perhaps would get better if it had a few more diners. When we left just after 9 there remained four diners! The waiting staff were perfectly acceptable in an efficient manner. So to the food; we ordered crispy oysters and hot seafood to start and my oysters were very good and my wife said her hot shellfish was "epic". For the main course i had Turbot on the bone and my wife had Mullet which she said was average. My Turbot on the other hand was not very good at all. The flesh did not pull away easily from the bone and was undercooked and any pieces i did eat had bones. Because it comes with a red wine sauce, there was a very horrible grey mess left on the plate when it was removed. I did say something to waiter but did not get any comment back. Dessert was shared and i remember some sort of elderflower concoction which was very good. The wine list is varied, wide ranging and very expensive. So Nathan, we don't think there will be any stars coming your way for this restaurant unless you dramatically up your game. With your name above the door it also makes me think twice about going to your restaurant in Cornwall. Perhaps you should stay off the television and spend more time in the kitchen here. Like "The Greenhouse" this restaurant has a long tradition of being awarded Michelin stars but this time the owners have made a bad choice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek-Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outlaw's at The Capital also viewed

 

Been to Outlaw's at The Capital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing