We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This restaurant is a hidden jewel ...”
Review of Cantaloupe - CLOSED

Cantaloupe
Price range: $26 - $39
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Shoreditch
Description: A place for genuine fans of the 'chilli pepper', as it plays a large part in the dishes at Canteloupe. While the menu meanders happily between the Iberian Peninsula and South America, it is a mixture of the traditional, like meatballs or hake prepared in tasty fashion, to the more inventive. Decor is functional, the atmosphere buzzing (especially at weekends) and overall it is a great experience, with some of the best food of its type in London; don't forget to finish with some of the excellent Spanish cheeses, accompanied by excellent quince jelly - membrillo to those who know
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This restaurant is a hidden jewel ...”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

The menu at Cantaloupe has just been revamped. There is much to choose from, with a selection of generous Tapas style starters and sides if you’re after a quick bite, to a varied selection of mains, including hunger-busting steaks and delicious vegetable stews. There really is something for everyone. Cantaloupe is a great venue with much to offer at terrific value - you could stop by for a cocktail or two, share some authentic Spanish Tapas or indulge with an authentic, hearty meal. A three course meal for two with a bottle of wine is around £30 a head. Cocktails start at £6.50.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evie_fireflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Pea broad bean and pancetat tart was brilliant.”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

All four starters and main course were superb. Recommend the tart. Nice staff too. Quite a trendy place. Would return

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidaylover00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Average food + poor service = Cantaloupe”
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Whilst the Atmosphere is good here, which is ideal for people watching over a glass of wine, service is poor. I reserved a table at 7.30pm on 9 June 2011 and upon arrival the bar man had to ask two members of staff which was my table, neither knew and had to refer to another member of staff (there was only one reserved table in the building!, how could they miss a "table reserved" notice on the table?!)

Food is average; there was no wow factor or exciting tastes from the food. I opted for the crab salad which was tasteless, the only taste was from the rocket salad, and the tuna crab was soaked in liquid and grease. My main course was Liver which was good and the root mash complemented the liver. My friend ordered a veggie mezze plate and was disappointing. A dip was meant to be with the mezze but was missing and the waitress found it amusing when my friend pointed out a ramekin where the dip should have been was actually empty!

The long wooden tables and the comfortably battered seating in the bar area ensure that as soon as you step through the door you immediately feel at home. Further seating can be found at the back with squishy leather sofas arranged around low tables whilst up the steps there’s a slightly more formal restaurant area.

Service is slow (not “relaxed”) and not attentive. Average food, reminds me of going to a friend’s house, but having to pay the bill afterwards.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seat_1A_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“This is pretty cool..........”
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Had a great time here - good food. I had the gazpachio to start and main course pigeon - nice nice nice. Service great and good value. Def coming back to sample new menu.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katymac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Will be back first chance I get!!!! Wonderful place.”
Reviewed June 2, 2011

There are not many places you go to for lunch and get real personal service....at Cantaloupe I certainly did!!! Not only was the food immaculatley served, it tasted as good as it looked...also...I was under the weather that day and the lovely bartender went out of his way to go to the pharmacy to pick up some hay fever tablets for me. Its the small touches that make you go back to somewhere, I'll be back as soon as I can

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adamgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantaloupe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing