We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings, great food when it comes”
Review of Cambio de Tercio

Cambio de Tercio
Reserve with OpenTable
Cambio de Tercio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,820 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: South Kensington
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings, great food when it comes”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Tried to book for 8:30, but as with the sister tapas directly across the road, it was a case of "come along and if we can't fit you in then we have a more cafe-style place next door, we'll get you in there". When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised that there was a table for us. Looking at other reviews, perhaps it had been booked by one of the people who were a few minutes late! Having been warmly greeted and given menus, we then sat for just over 30 minutes and were paid no attention whatsover - and we tried really hard to get someone's attention! Then, just as we were about to leave (past 9 o'clock, time to get something to eat somewhere) along came Eric, and the service for the rest of the evening was exemplary.

Outstanding tapas, everything having a little "twist" to make it different, and all extremely freshly cooked. We had 6 or 7 small dishes between us, which was plenty. I can't praise the food too much - excellent. There's the most amazing wine list which makes you understand why this place is almost next door to HR Owen's Ferrari dealership - similar prices, with many bottles on offer for between £500 and £1750. We had a humble £25 bottle, about the cheapest on offer, which was fine. All the above came to £78 which, considering the location, we thought very good value. Do watch out for the bread basket though - refuse it if you don't order it. We failed to turn it away and spotted £1.50 on the bill for what we thought had been complimentary.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JandLillyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    104
    31
    26
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“two seating but worked well”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

At first we thought it would be really difficult to enjoy our evening in the time frame given by them but to our surprise we could see their experience, the food was served on time and the service was great and we never felt to be pushed and as committed we left on time but couldn't stop ourselves for couple of drinks in the bar. Good recommendation from their other restaurant " Tendido Cero".

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathywhite13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Rude waistress, overpriced place...”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked at the cambio de tercio on Thursday at 9.30, arrived there with 12 minutes delay they simply gave our table to someone else and were not able to eat there.. So we have been directed to the tapas place next to it (same restaurant) where we had a very average, untasty food, the selection of ham was served in a absorbing paper straight on the table (no plates available??) .
We asked the waitress which wine is good she straight pointed at 98 pounds white wine that of course declined to order. The meals arrived, we started eating but 2 waitresses were coming around asking every 5 minutes whether we finished while we were still eating. I was so shocked that I didn't know what to say. One of them was even touching the plates with her hands before asking the question "have-you-finished?"
The bill arrived before we fisnihed dessert and the couple sitting next to us has been given "la cuenta" while they were still eating the main plate.. So rude! those girls clearly have no experience in service, maybe they had a party to go ot that night, but the way they were acting is just unacceptable, Michelin guide noted or not.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bluemarley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“cancelling bookings”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I booked a table for a Saturday night, they confirmed me the availability for 9.30 but then my reservation disappear. I still have the emails... but they couldn't find it. I have to reorganize the night out for a group of 6 people.
If they are not able to keep note of reservation I guess they are also able to loose or misplace orders!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank superanna80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
Level Contributor
107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Viva España!!!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

One of the best Spanish restaurants you can find in London. (They have 3 other restaurants door to door belonging to the same owner). In Cambio de Tercio you have a BIG choice of Spanish tapas: tortilla española, gambas al ajillo, jamon serrano, etc.etc. You have to book, as it is always full. The maitre`s name is Eric Fernandez. Ah, they also have a GOOD selection of wines. Bon apetit!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie-France C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cambio de Tercio also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Cambio de Tercio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing