We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and worth a visit”
Review of Bintang Restaurant

Bintang Restaurant
Ranked #2,284 of 22,808 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: On Kentish Town Road, Bintang Restaurant serves wonderful fusion food with a blend of Thai, Indonesian, Singaporean and Malaysian cuisines. This welcoming Pan Asian restaurant in Camden has a warm, relaxing ambience. With influences from Indonesia, the Philippines and Japan, the Bintang menu features fusion speciality dishes, along with Thai curries, soups and noodles. The cosy interior features dark wood furnishings, bamboo plants and eclectic artwork. Tasty dishes at Bintang Restaurant include the king prawn curry with coconut milk, lemongrass and lime leaf or whole baked sea bass with banana leaf baked in the oven. There are plenty of vegetarian options, including tofu saut��ed with honey, ginger, coriander and walnuts or chickpeas with green mango. Desserts include unique dishes like lemongrass and cardamom flan or coconut pandan pancakes. Open 7 days a week, Bintang is a family-run restaurant serving delicious Pan Asian cuisine in London's vibrant Camden area.
Angus
Level 6 Contributor
430 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Quirky and worth a visit”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were recommended to visit this quirky restaurant. We were not disappointed. The restaurant is excellent value. There is a great atmosphere. Although it it BYOB there are off licenses shops as next door neighbours. There is a wide variety of food styles and we liked the asian fusion although there is a strong focus on Indonesia. The only downside was that the portion sizes are not huge so remember to order sides, vegetables, bread, etc. Would highly recommend a visit if you are in the Camden or Kentish Town areas.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AngusAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    50
    29
    20
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This resteraunt is deceptive. it seems small but it expands to a garden theme in the rear and further seating downstairs. The food is amazing. Wasabi prawns as a starter, blueberry mojito mocktails and Korean chicken and waffles. the waffles were light and fluffy and required no syrup. The chicken fell off the bone. I highly recommend to anyone who is traveling through Kentish Town, London

Helpful?
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Having been here many years ago when it was a good value family run restaurant, I was severely disappointed! It's turned into some wannabe trendy restaurant with mismatching loud music and shabby interior. Despite number of staff, service was slow and we waited ages for food to arrive. I wondered why... Because they prefer to serve the takeaway customers extra speedily whilst making restaurant patrons wait. Squid and tofu starters were over cooked and dry. Garlic rice stodgy and sickly. Aubergine bintang curry undercooked. Only good thing was lamb rendang. We didn't finish our meal despite being hungry.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaysi888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great starters, very medicore mains.”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Thank god a halal chinese place in kentish town.
Ambiance and mood is now, its small and seats are not the greatest.
We ordered tom yum soup and fried squid, I have to say, they were delicious.

However, in the mains we ordered pad thai beef noodles, It clearly tasted like morrisions egg noodles because of the sticky texture of these super market 'ready-to-fry' foodstuff they are easily recognizable. further more it had a more 'experimented-at-home' rather than 'fusion' taste to it.

It was okay, and the garlic rice was avoidable. but still good.and ambiance and halal starters more than make up for the mediocre mains.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kamran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I visited Bintang in August 2013 for the first time since it reopened. My visit definitely did not disappoint - food was great (both taste and portions) and the staff found a table for us without any hassle even on a busy Friday night (booking in advance at the weekend is probably recommended!). I highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bintang Restaurant also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Bintang Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing