We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great comfort food”

Browns Brasserie & Bar - West India Quay
Ranked #3,604 of 23,023 Restaurants in London
Price range: $13 - $31
Cuisines: British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Description: West India Quay is a thriving part of London in the heart of the Docklands. The Browns building was once a sugar warehouse, built in the early 19th century by Napoleonic prisoners of war. It has a truly distinctive atmosphere and a lovely external seating area overlooking the dock. The site is spread over two floors with a large front external terrace and lower ground floor bar garden. Come and enjoy our innovative take on classic dishes, or join us for one of our legendary cocktails in the heart of the Docklands.
london
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great comfort food”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Came here for a quick dinner - 10 of us were eating before going on to an event and we had limited time. We made this known to the waiter and he and the rest of the staff were superb in making sure we were attended to quickly. The food is good, honest grub and everyone was happy. Not often I go out with such a large group and not one person complains about something! We were staying at the Marriot next door and chose to eat here instead of the hotel - good decision. It was a strange time to eat (4.30pm) so not many people in the restaurant but it still managed to feel cosy. Would have come here for breakfast too (menu looked great and cheaper than the hotel) but didn't have time! Will come again in the summer as the setting is superb.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank branxLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    194
    84
    58
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Good food, cosy atmosphere and reasonable price ! It must be even better in the spring and summer, along the docks !

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Minzy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in the middle of business district”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I had a dinner with my other half in Browns in the beginning of January and, as far as I'm concerned, the place is as excellent as the one in Leicester Square, but since I'm writing a joint review I have to accommodate my man's opinion too.

Browns has a great menu, speedy services and a lovely environment. The old warehouse converted into apartments, shops and restaurants were Browns is located adds an extra spice to the experience. No concern in recommending the place to anyone!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank safaricakes s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, fantastic service!!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile



A group of seven of us recently spent a girly (40+girlie!!) weekend at the Marriot west india quays. We were reluctant to have the hotel breakfast as we never feel we eat our money's worth. With BROWNS being right next door we decided to save money on the room and eat there. It was the BEST decision!! We ate there both mornings. Breakfast selection was fantastic. I can recommend the bubble and squeak. Beautifully seasoned bubble and squeak with spring onions, grilled bacon, poached eggs and a silky hollandaise sauce. We also tried the full English, eggs benedict, French toast, sausage sandwich and ham and eggs. All of which were perfect. We all had fresh leaf tea and all paid around the £10 including tip. Less than half the price of the hotel.
When we arrived on the Friday we also made use of the drinks and nibbles vouchers we had found on the website. Bottle of house wine and three tapas plates for £14.95. We had several!! Perfect way to start our weekend.
We used the restaurant three times and each time the service was immpecible. All of the waiters and waitresses were friendly, helpful and accommodating with any changes we wanted to make. Can't recommend this place highly enough. Thank you BROWNS!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bossydiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torba, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“What a difference a week makes!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Fri 4th Mr Havebag enjoyed a Lovely Lobster Tagliatelli so the jealous Mrs Havebag followed him in on the 9th, oh dear, we wernt to know but this time it was not pleasant at all. Not bad, just not good to taste and nothing like the week before!
Also, on the recommendation of the waitress Mr Havebag tried the Whole Lobster, another mistake, Very small (not much more than a jumbo parwn) and Absolutely Tasteless!!
When I was offered to give my opinion of said tasteless 'lobster' and answered honestly I wouldnt have expected the reply to come back as "well, you still ate it all'!! Cheeky monkey!
Is our normally reliable and mostly enjoyable Browns to be added to the list of 'forget about it's'?
Maybe, especially if Mrs H gets her way (and she Always does).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank havebagwilltravel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Browns Brasserie & Bar - West India Quay also viewed

 

Been to Browns Brasserie & Bar - West India Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing