We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of The Rose Lounge

The Rose Lounge
Ranked #4,013 of 22,808 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $46
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: St. James's
Halstead, Essex
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The waiter who was half Spanish & help Polish was very attentative. Food was good. The surroundings were classically English like sitting in someone's sitting room :).

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank senoritatraviesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am glad to hear that you have very much enjoyed your experience over your Afternoon Tea.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir.

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Sofitel London St James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    25
    10
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful time in the rose lounge....The service was impeccable. ..The food was divine the sandwiches and scones were replenished as often as we wanted. The French pastries were divine...A wonderful experience hidden in central London. ... All should try and get there...

Helpful?
1 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear sir,

I thank you for this wonderful feedback.

I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed so much our delicate, refined pastries and sandwiches.

We look forward to many other visits of yours.

Au revoir.

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Sofitel London St James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea at The Balcon”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Me and five friends went to the Balcon in the Sofitel Hotel for afternoon Tea. I must say this is one of the best afternoon tea's I have been to due to the lovely food and excellent service. Our waiter Anthony made our afternoon, he was very friendly and went over and above to make our afternoon special. Would definitely recommend this place!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRAI16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow! What a great afternoon”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Afternoon yea today was splendid!
Myself and my 4 year old daughter throughly enjoyed ourselves. The tea was great, delicious sandwiches and three different kinds of scones! You also get to choose your own cakes! My daughter loved that bit! We also had the best ever waiter! He made our day! I will defiantly be back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EvelinaB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback.

I am happy to hear that yourself and your daughter have thoroughly enjoyed your Afternoon Tea experience.

We look forward to welcoming you both back.

Au revoir.

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Sofitel London St James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Classy oasis - fantastic scones, delightful environment”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have been here three times, both as part of a couple and with friends. The hotel is extremely central, close to Piccadilly and Pall Mall, thus perfect for a shopping break or a romantic break. Staff is efficient, discreet and pleasant, tea selection is wide, and the lounge itself is a sight for sore eyes, with warm colours and intimate seating. The scones are the best I ever had, just remember to save some room for that delicious cake selection afterwards...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iDuck85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at The Rose Lounge, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for such positive a feedback both on Sofitel London St James and on The Rose Lounge.

Thank you for pointing out the delicious and refined pastries served to you during your Afternoon Tea.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Sofitel London St James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rose Lounge also viewed

 

Been to The Rose Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing