We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely afternoon tea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rose Lounge

The Rose Lounge
Ranked #3,880 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: St. James's
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Small, cosy, warm, colourful and comfortable with good food and excellent service - book to be sure of getting in for tea though.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gaspari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    23
    10
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing - just amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Me and my sister went to this hotel to have afternoon tea. Everything was fantastic - the atmosphere, the staff, the food and even the toilets (I went to the toilet three times just of the amazingness) !

The roselounge was beautifully decorated and smelled like roses. It was very comfortable and the staff was very serviceminded!

The scones were heaven! Clotted cream and lemon curd.....mmmm....

It was two hours of plain luxury and happiness! I really recommend other people and tourists to visit this amazing place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Annelie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Manage your expectations and enjoy the scones”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

There are 2 types of Afternoon Tea establishments in London. There are places, like the Athenaeum, where you are treated like royalty, where the experience is close to perfect from start to finish. These are the places that you book for special occasions, especially if you rarely splurge. Then there are places like The Rose Lounge, where service is more Pizza Express than Ritz (only within the lounge, from what I saw of the rest of the hotel, the service was impeccable). These places should be visited for a casual afternoon tea, not for special occasions or if you're looking for your first London afternoon tea experience.

Let's start with the setting. This is the biggest positive of The Rose Lounge. Within the beautiful Sofitel hotel, the lounge itself is well decorated with bright, vibrant colours. A harpist in the corner only adds to the atmosphere. Chairs are well laid out and guests don't feel cramped.

To start, you get 4 finger sandwiches each. The fillings were fine, but the bread was a bit stale. Disappointing really. Either the bread was stale when the sandwiches were made, or they'd been left uncovered somewhere to harden. Couldn't really fault the scones - they were perfect and you get 3 each. The cakes were very nice, if a bit on the big size. That's not a common complaint, but personally I thought they could have improved by offering 3 or 4 smaller cakes rather than 2 big ones. They had a wide selection of teas and the champagne and lychee cocktail was excellent.

Service fell down on the finer points. They had no record of our booking, but did not explain why or apologise for their mistake. One waitress took pleasure in patronising our neighbour, who thought his PA had arranged champagne cocktails in advance. We weren't asked how everything was, nor were we wished well on our way out. In fact, we were ignored after the bill was settled. Minor details that make a big difference at the better establishments.

Overall, the price was £180 for 5 afternoon teas with champagne cocktails, including a 12.5% service charge.

I've seen retorts from the manager in other reviews that Sofitel offers better value for money than the other hotels. This may be true, but the difference in value really isn't worth it here. Either save up and visit Athenaeum or The Dorchester, or go somewhere cheaper and more casual like Bea's of Bloomsbury or Dolly's at Selfridges.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mrikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Went here with my sister's and a friend on a hen treat. It was lovely. Delicious melt in the mouth sandwiches, warm scones with clotted cream, jam and lemon curd, great selection of teas, and beautiful cakes to finish. The harpist was excellent, service was beautifully done, and surroundings lovely. All in all a wonderful way to spend an afternoon in London and well worth the price. Well done Sofitel. I will be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Had a great night having drinks and the bar staff were great. In particular, the Australian from the Gold Coast. It was great to talk to someone from home

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tracy633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rose Lounge also viewed

 

Been to The Rose Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing