We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Party for the Taste Buds”

The Bombay Brasserie
Ranked #591 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $65
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: South Kensington
Description: Opening in 1982, Bombay Brasserie was in the vanguard of modern Indian cuisine, with an inventive approach that married classic regional cooking with a European brasserie-style menu. The spacious interior, with its airy conservatory and bright murals, extends to a welcoming bar and a more traditional dining room well suited to the affluent Kensington clientele.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Party for the Taste Buds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Bombay Brasserie was recommended by our concierge at The Bentley - London. The food was amazing and the staff was excellent. So good in fact that we planned a second dinner during the same week.Be sure to start your dinner with the Palak patta chaat. I wish I had a bowl now.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathie_Juengling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    316
    98
    47
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great meal, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Had a very nice meal here. My companion had the lamb shank and I had a small portion of bindhi masala and a small portion of chana masala (not on menu but chef was very accommodating). Food was delicious and the service was great. Restaurant seemed busy for a Tuesday. Recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The_World_Is_Big
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,057 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“Great to be Back to savour this Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Its been around 18 months since we last ate at the BB. i always keep abreast of trip advisor reviews so was interested to see what our experience was like. This is not the best restaurant around but is good. The service for us was good so anyone experiencing poor service need to look in the mirror. Food was not great but very good. Expensive for what you get but well worth a visit

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CorneliusfudgeGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A great place for a good meal and a conversation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I really like the table lay ouy in this Brasserie. It allows you to have a conversation without being overheard by those at the table next to you (or overhearing their conversation either). Too many London restaurants cram tables so close together that the din is awful and a decent conversation at normal speaking volume impossible.

The food is tasty and the service quick and unobtrusive.

It is conveniently located - just a hop and a stride from Gloucester Road Tube station.

I shall definitely come again and bring others with me.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a fabulous meal here. In grand surroundings. The cocktails at the start were delicious. The only slight complaint was that there was a noisy party Nextdoor and we were sat right next to it which did spoil the ambience, however the food was delicious.

Helpful?
1 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bombay Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to The Bombay Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing