We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good but not exraordinary Indian meal”

The Bombay Brasserie
Ranked #605 of 22,376 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $65
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: South Kensington
Description: Opening in 1982, Bombay Brasserie was in the vanguard of modern Indian cuisine, with an inventive approach that married classic regional cooking with a European brasserie-style menu. The spacious interior, with its airy conservatory and bright murals, extends to a welcoming bar and a more traditional dining room well suited to the affluent Kensington clientele.
norfolk england
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A good but not exraordinary Indian meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We arrived in South Kensington late and after checking into the hotel we ventured out in search of food. We didn't make it very far ( right next door to our hotel in fact) when we stumbled on to the Bombay Brasserie. We were in a party of four and were able to be seated with in 30 minutes of walking through the door. We all went with the taster menu option one and every dish was good but not extraordinary. On the whole though we had a great time and the staff were all very nice and attentive. I wish Tripadvisor had a 3 1/2 * option as this is what I would have given it but went with 4* as 3 would have been to harsh.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank n0rf0lk_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    317
    98
    47
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Catching up with Old Friends - welcome surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

No reservation, we found the Bombay Brasserie whilst staying at the nearby Millenium Hotel - who do not serve dinner !!! Through a small door in the wall, expecting a small restaurant, but oh no !! into a bar area for drinks whilst reviewing the menu. We found the service was excellent. We could not believe our eyes when we were shown through into the main restaurant area, we were then taken to the right into the new area. Our starters arrived very quickly and were delicious. The waiting staff were very knowledgeable and explained the ingredients, area of India where the dishes came from and alternatives we might like to try on a subseqent visit. The wines were good. We were left to chat and the waiting staff came immediately we signalled to them. Not a cheap evening but certainly a night to remember.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterfly607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Did I miss something???”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Without doubt the location is ideal, unless you're driving and the decor is far classier than your average Indian.
However the limited menu does not include any of our Indian favourites.
Soft shell crab, lamb shanks and fried spinach was not is strange enough but even more so when serve with rice, and the complimenary mini poppadoms were like Quavers.
With small portions and high prices our overall impression was nouve cuisine meets asia.
A perfect place to impress a girlfriend but not for a night out with your mates.
Oh! and the service was chaotic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wearytravellers60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What's All The Fuss About?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I used to come here in the late 1980's and early 1990's for their buffet lunch which was always enjoyable.

I read a recent glowing review and decided to try it on a Monday evening. Service was very good and the decor is sumptuous and very comfortable.

I was recommended the spinach starter which was very good indeed, the poppadoms were also very nice, bite size pieces and they came with a deliciuos sauce rather than chutney but there was not enough of it or any other choice.

The main course curries were a complete let down. The Goan fish curry featured over cooked fish in what looked and tasted like tomato soup with added coconut and the sauce for the lamb curry tasted and looked like oxtail soup there was nothing "delicately spiced" about either.

I won't be returning for no other reason than there are so many other places to try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Taking you back to the Princely India”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed in London 7 nights and ate at the Bombay brasserie 3 nights. Service was fabulous, and they even served our favourite dishes that were not on the menu. A must for lovers of Indian food

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bombay Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to The Bombay Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing