We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Soho Special Was Really Special!”

Bodean's BBQ - Soho
Ranked #590 of 22,557 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $41
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Soho
Bari, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Soho Special Was Really Special!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great BBQ in the heart of Central London.
No early reservation can be made since they have a walk-in policy for group less than 8 people.Anyway it is absolutely worth the wait.
I tried the Soho Special which was so juicy and tasty...mmmmh so yummy!
Average prices and great atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GiankG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    801
    610
    188
    62
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Recomended to us, but not great”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was overly excited about visiting Bodeans after a recomendation from a friend, but it was pretty dissapointing on the food front. Ribs were tough and not at all slow cooked, and the rest of the meal was average, plus a 2 hour wait for a table made it worse! The best part of the night was the drinks, good Bourbon and cocktails, but wouldnt bother to go back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Long wait - average food!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I love ribs and BBQ and was seriously excited when a supplier suggested we eat at Bodean's. Unfortunately, this place was yet another let-down with the service and lack of organisation testing my patience to the limit!

After more than 1.5 hours wait for a table, we finally seated ourselves. Yes that's right, we seated ourselves because the waitress lost the plot and people who had not been waiting as long were given a seat before we were so we had to take matters in to our own hands.

We went up to the counter (I found this bit really irritating having already waited in another queue for over an hour) and ordered some burnt ends with fries, slaw and a beer. The food was okay but really not worth the hype. I was expecting so much more! I did take solace in the fact that my colleague got the chef's hair in his food as this is a fate that is usually reserved for me. To be fair, they did replace the dish but seriously, it was so obvious on the plate that I just can't believe the kitchen missed it.

Would I go again? Only if I had to as part of a bigger party.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sHoRtY_nIeLsEn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing place!

Even though its a BBQ Shack the staff were more than happy to accommodate me being a vegetarian and were happy to go through what they had and what they personally preferred etc which was excellent. A pleasant surprise!

We were greeted by a friendly waitress who found us a table and served as soon as we were ready. Cocktails were amazing and the good was first class!

Service was great throughout and there was absolutely nothing to fault! 100% in our eyes!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Djjonblower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“BEST RIBS I'VE EVER EATEN”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Unbelievable sauce, melt in the mouth meat, super vaule. no more needs said & can't wait to get back

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gflennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodean's BBQ - Soho also viewed

 

Been to Bodean's BBQ - Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing