We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Rules Restaurant

Rules Restaurant
Ranked #866 of 24,772 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: Established by Thomas Rule in 1798, Rules is a Covent Garden institution and the oldest restaurant in London. Tuxedoed waiters glide around the formal interior, decorated with antique sketches, where plush banquettes offer a discreet retreat from the main dining room. The whole-hearted menu of traditional British food specialises in classic game cookery, oysters, pies and puddings, featuring game birds, roe deer and Belted Galloway beef fresh from the establishment's own High Pennines estate. The wine list is a French-led affair, or there are native draught beers served in silver tankards.
Reviewed June 23, 2019 via mobile

Service, atmosphere, food: all top notch. Had the celeriac & apple soup (highly recommend) and rib of beef. The rest of the menu looks excellent. I hope to back and give some of the other options a try.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank AzKevinC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (4,738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 390 of 4,738 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2019

I wanted to find a high quality, fine dining experience to celebrate our anniversary in London. Rules was everything I wanted. The restaurant was decorated in a unique and interesting style that was perfect for making it feel like a special occasion. The staff was excellent. Couldn't have been treated any better. The food was delicious! I had the lamb entree. It was cooked exactly as I ordered. My wife had fish and loved it. We had some great white wine as well. We got the least expensive bottle on the menu, but it was still very good quality. Make reservations ahead of time though. I contacted the restaurant online weeks before our trip and made a reservation because I had researched that this place is constantly booked up. It's definitely going to cost you a decent amount of money to eat here, but it's worth every penny!

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank aaronw58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2019

If you are looking for a truly British culinary experience then this is a must. Arrive early and enjoy a cocktail in the winter garden upstairs then make your way down to the restaurant. Take time choosing as the menu is deceptively rich. Remember to leave room for the traditional British desserts which are a divine...English Toffee Pudding to name one.
Yes, it is on the expensive side but well worth it. You come out feeling like a member of the royal family or perhaps just happily content.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank Macchy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2019

For a nice, formal dinner with professional waitstaff, I always choose Rules. The food is delcious English food. I have yet to have a bad meal or problem with service.
It can be a bit noisy when crowded and the bathroom is a bit of a walk through the restaurant and up the stairs. It's off the beaten track, so I always take a taxi to and from.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank JohnWeyworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2019 via mobile

Fancy restaurant, also quite fancy prices, but attentive service and excellent food makes up for that!

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank gutensohnmilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rules Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rules Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.