We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boredom coupled with annoyance”
Review of Rules Restaurant

Rules Restaurant
Ranked #353 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: Established by Thomas Rule in 1798, Rules is a Covent Garden institution and the oldest restaurant in London. Tuxedoed waiters glide around the formal interior, decorated with antique sketches, where plush banquettes offer a discreet retreat from the main dining room. The whole-hearted menu of traditional British food specialises in classic game cookery, oysters, pies and puddings, featuring game birds, roe deer and Belted Galloway beef fresh from the establishment's own High Pennines estate. The wine list is a French-led affair, or there are native draught beers served in silver tankards.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Boredom coupled with annoyance”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Been to Rules 5 times in last 24 months. This time asked to confirm booking by text. Did so and booked for a 3rd person. Staff argued until I showed them their own text. Then still annoyed!! Staff generally bored. Asked if I wished for scrambled egg with salmon. Yes, please. Then forgotten. Did I really want it? Fish well cooked. Boredom not appreciated. Last visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaudeRains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,962
    827
    302
    153
    100
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Rules Britannia !!!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We went to Rules on this occasion as a pre-concert treat
I booked for a late lunch and it definitely came up to expectations
Rules is the type of restaurant where you can almost guarantee your needs will be met.
The decor is traditional and likened to a shooting lodge. The tableware is lovely and the staff are very helpful
We opted on this occasion for a main course only and had the ribeye served in a copper in abundance with a deep gravy and macaroni cheese (yes I thought the same . . . but believe me, it was a excellent accompaniment to the meat and a very clever choice of the chef for combining the two !!!)
The meat was quite expensive (about £70 for two) but really the best beef in town !!
We were stuffed but my partner did have a cheesecake dessert and I had a selection of Ice Creams.
Thank you again, Rules for providing a fabulous afternoon and exceptional food. You are a credit to London and it is little wonder the American visitors either side of us clearly enjoyed their lunches too ....shame so many of your guests fail to dress for the occasion and constantly use their mobile phones in the restaurant ....you would think people would want to savour the wonderful atmosphere that is quintessentially Rules Britannia

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank getmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester Hampshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“I Love This Place”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have been dining at Rules for over 40 years and in all that time I still find it an exciting experience. Among the tourists and celebrities it is amazing just how keen the team are to make you welcome and the trouble they go to make you comfortable. I was early the other day for a lunch and i was offered a newspaper and a drink on the house whilst I waited. There are not many restaurants like this that would do that for an ordinary punter. The history and the decor is wonderful. Of course the cost is not for the feinthearted but what the heck - you only live once. Go there and enjoy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rumpole70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“well, we ordered fish n chips! lol”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

it is lovely!!!!! batter is crunchy and fresh, never oily. chips, wow, the size is giant. with crispy golden skin and creamy inside. mashed pea with mint and tartar sauce with plenty of pickles are just perfect. so sad our stomaches got no space for desserts.
it is a amazing place. definitely will come back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patatamio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This place was busy and very very good”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The menu is rather old school with lots of game and this links in with the decor of the restaurant. Rules prides its self as Londons oldest restaurant and true the service was very formal but polite and attentive.

Starter was a crab salad, followed by rib of beef to share - now that was a huge amount of great meat, with big Yorkshire puds and lots of veg' it was certainly value for money.

Sadly the main course was so filling no room for pudding.

I would sum up Rules, as Quintessential English dinning done well.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rules Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rules Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing