We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique in its own way”
Review of L'Autre

L'Autre
Ranked #2,478 of 22,834 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $52
Cuisines: Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unique in its own way”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Place doesn’t look like much from the outside but inside it’s cozy and packed. The surroundings are somehow very original and imitate. Food is very tasty, well portioned and rather cheap. Service is good too. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    53
    19
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Funky but a favorite”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Restaurant with French name, small British pub atmosphere, and Polish or Mexican menu - not your usual combination. We liked it enough to go back twice on this visit after a meal there last year. Outstanding and reasonably priced wine list is one of many surprises. We thought that the Polish side of the menu was better and more authentic than the Mexican but part of our party is from Texas and very sensitive to good Mexican fare. Prices are reasonable and the owner is usually tending the small but well stocked bar and often taking meal orders. Well located In Shepherd's Market in the heart of Mayfair.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tigerworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“L' Autre - Fun, Intimate, and Great Food”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful dinner at L' Autre on Dec 17th. I have been to London a few times and have eaten there before and really enjoyed it. This time I was on vacation with my wife took her there after a long day of touring. Again it was outstanding. First of all, it is completely charming and is probably one of the few restaurants in with world that features Polish/Mexican cuisine. It isn't necessarily fusion cooking, but the menu features both Polish and Mexican dishes. If you want tortilla soup followed up by kielbasa and cabbage then this is the place for you. They have starters/appetizers and entrees in both Polish and Mexican varieties. A great place, so if you are looking for a memorable meal in London try L' Autre. It is located in Shepard's Market.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wadere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cold service”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Cosy place, serving staff comes accross cold and not caring though, which I wouldn't expect being Polish myself. Starters were nice, so was a big portion of Polish sausage, the main course of blinis was very dissapointing-all soaked in too thick sauce and pieces of chicken felt old... Wine was delicious. Give it a try and judge for yourself I would say.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank astor1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton Socon, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique Dining”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

After learning there was a Polish Mexican restaurant in Shepherd's Market, I had to at least give it a try. I was delighted with the quaint atmosphere, and good food. The place is small, but cozy, rather than cramped. The food is great, although I can't vouch for any of the Mexican items. The Polish menu caught my eye each time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Autre also viewed

 
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to L'Autre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing