We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Hakkasan Hanway Place Restaurant
Ranked #327 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $49 - $198
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Fitzrovia
Description: Hakkasan Hanway Place is the original Hakkasan restaurant. This Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant designed by Christian Liaigre has recreated the luxurious glamour of the past by combining Chinese history, tradition and architecture. Wooden lattice screens carved out of dark English oak invite discerning guests for a unique dining experience with contemporary cuisine from Chef Tong Chee Hwee. The menu has a strong Chinese ethnic identity with an ethos of Cantonese cooking that will be informed by a progressive approach, underpinned by authenticity rather than traditionalism. Hakkasan Hanway Place has launched Dim Sum Sundays, a weekly lunch event hosted by resident lounge DJs, available every Sunday from 12:00 until 17:45.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Sushi was amazing and there was a wide variety which is good for our family of 4 kids. We arrived a bit late and they were very accommodating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miranda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,786
    786
    336
    145
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Buzz Great Food”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Lived up to expectations. Entering feels like your walking into a club with lots of name checking etc etc. The room is very nice and the tables well laid out so although crowded there is space. The food was really excellent with each dish being really well balanced and the ingredients absolutely top class. The service is efficient but totally impersonal, whilst the time limit on the table whilst well handled is annoying, hence the four and not a full five !

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food! Great service!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We were actually looking for a different restaurant but we thought we would give this a go. The starters were better than the mains, with little choice for non-meat eaters in the mains but the whole experience was delightful.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allyballybongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The food is average..”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Went here for dinner with some friend I would say the food is average where the service was good. We ordered egg fried rice which way too oily for our appetite and don't get me wrong I am Indian so can take oily food but this one was a big NOOO! where the Hakka noddles we ordered nothing special can get better at a food stall in China Town. Micheal Star you might want to reconsider this.

The most hilarious thing was getting a call from the restaurant during the time almost finishing my main course saying If i was coming restaurant for my reservation hhhmmm.. sorry what do I say "I am already here eating my meal" So you might wanna get your reservation system sorted out !!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank check_5432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
753 reviews
413 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Good food - but expensive”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We came here by accident after other arrangements fell through. We were grateful for the last minute booking as we were celebrating a special birthday. We got mixed up between the two restaurants so make sure you go to the right one (the other one is in Mayfair). The restaurant is in the basement and the carved wood decorations and low lighting make it quite dark so best suited for a winter's evening. Loud music and a very swish atmosphere. Service was quite impersonal and fast moving with no attempt to interact with us - maybe some people prefer it that way. The food was all delicious - and you pay for that quality. Peking duck (whole duck) was £100. This provided 5 people with small pancakes for a starter and then the remainder was cooked into a main course with black bean sauce which was great. Portions are larger than we expected and of the best quality. We were glad we came here to celebrate!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hakkasan Hanway Place Restaurant also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Hakkasan Hanway Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing