We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hakkasan Hanway Place Restaurant

Hakkasan Hanway Place Restaurant
Ranked #316 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $47 - $191
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Fitzrovia
Description: Hakkasan Hanway Place is the original Hakkasan restaurant. This Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant designed by Christian Liaigre has recreated the luxurious glamour of the past by combining Chinese history, tradition and architecture. Wooden lattice screens carved out of dark English oak invite discerning guests for a unique dining experience with contemporary cuisine from Chef Tong Chee Hwee. The menu has a strong Chinese ethnic identity with an ethos of Cantonese cooking that will be informed by a progressive approach, underpinned by authenticity rather than traditionalism. Hakkasan Hanway Place has launched Dim Sum Sundays, a weekly lunch event hosted by resident lounge DJs, available every Sunday from 12:00 until 17:45.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“wonderful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Perfect for a Sunday brunch, beautiful classical dim sum dishes. Decor exceptional and staff are attentive. I loved it and I have it on good advice that the sister Mayfair outlet is very good too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Norheim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,728
    758
    325
    141
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
162 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Very good food and good atmousphere. Food very innovative. Definately a place to go to if you like Asian food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Embraceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cool and Stylish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our second visit to Hakkasan on a Saturday night for a surprise birthday visit. Once again it did not disappoint us. Bought cocktails at the bar, the choices are good and the cocktails are mixed well, the "Hakka" cocktail is worth a try. We found the bar staff attentive and did not have to wait long to be served. We were given enough time to enjoy our drinks before were taken to our table, Once again attentive service from our waiter, Food was fantastic. They have improved the egg fried rice since our last visit and the fish options expanded. Chose the dover sole which was mouth watering as was the chicken satay and vegetarian dim sum. Atmosphere was vibrant and cool. A fantastic experience can't wait to go again

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HousePeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Mixed emotions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Went with high expectations to Hakassan for my birthday dinner on a rainy saturday night,
The start looked promising, everything well organised, from the receptionist checking on your table reservation, up to the hostess showing you the way to the bar.
The place was fully packed, every table occupied. The bar was huge with great drink selection.
The service at the bar was efficient, the price for the drinks were rather overpriced in our view.
The food quality was top class - we sampled through their menu, tried the soups, dim sums, duck with truffels (try it, won't disappoint you) and the beef with merlot sauce and had no complains. The dishes were in our view reasonably priced and the portions adecuate.
Service at the table was correct and quick, not more.

What we didn't like:
- the well organised process we experienced at the reception seemed all of a sudden got lost from the moment we were at the bar: after 50 minutes waiting for a table (which we booked a week in advance) - we and several other couples/groups started getting unpatient. After 90 minutes waiting time we finally got a table.
- from the moment we sat a the table we got the feeling to be rushed through. Some details: we ordered sparkling water but got natural water served; while taking our order we got told by the waiter to skip part of the dishes (since the amount was too much) - we got the strong impression the motivation was to free up a table rather than taking care of our stomachs. We certainly would have appreciated a starter more..


All in all a very stylish and snobish place, fully packed with people, serving high quality food but with some disadvantages...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Miguel957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great contemporary Chinese cuisine and an astounding wine and beverage list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The chefs who I did not see must be .simply brilliant. We were a group of six who ventured into this virtually hole in a wall restaurant. You need to know your way around Mayfair to find it. But once you get in the interiors, the bar and of course the staff and patrons are "posh". The drinks menu when first presented blow you away with prices that can go up to £25,000 or a select bottle of rare single malt that can be double of that. However quickly turning a few pages you get to wines and other beverages that do not hurt the pocket as much. The selection even if you only read it is impressive and actually educative as descriptions are fairly elaborate. However you can settle for a very good bottle of French or new world wine for around £35 or a tad more. The selection of cocktails is also fairly good. The bar itself is a feature running the breath of the restaurant and with every imaginable beverage in visible stock.

The reason we went in was the recommendations that we had received on the food at Hakkasan. Well as I have mentioned at the beginning of this review, the chefs must be simply brilliant. The menu was well thought thru and covered everyone's preferences. Be it dim sum or roast duck the preparations were simply fantastic. Try their crab rolls, mouthwatering. The presentation of the food is also the work of an artist. Apart from all this the service and attention to detail is impeccable. Price- somewhat higher and to be expected for a posh Mayfair venue. But for a special occasion a perfect venue if you are in the mood to indulge. We were having just won an award.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 747Aviator787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hakkasan Hanway Place Restaurant also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Hakkasan Hanway Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing