We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent curry finally”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Afghan Kitchen

Afghan Kitchen
Ranked #2,972 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent curry finally”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place for a relatively cheap casual meal out. Not too fancy, no frills cafe decor with only a limited number of seats. Curry was a limited choice but everything was of a good authentic standard unlike most curry houses in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank d_wilkinson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    61
    15
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“limited number of dishes but amazing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have eaten in this place several times and I have always enjoyed it! Not a lot of dishes (only four mains if I remember well) but they are amazing, especially the yogurt-chicken and the spinach-lamb. Usually I had to share the table with other as there are not so many seats. Nice atmosphere in general.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nicola g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“Fast food & competent service. Pity bread not available @ luchtime”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

You could walk past this little restaurant a dozen times without noticing that it was there. With its grey exterior and not exactly eye-catching signing it is easy to miss, and when you peer in it looks more like a takeaway than a restaurant. There are two tables downstairs and a further three upstairs, with seating for around 30 people altogether. It is clean and minimalist, and there are free newspapers, which is a nice touch. There are some ten dishes displayed at the counter and these are pre-cooked so you don’t have to wait long for them to be microwaved. This was at lunchtime; I don’t know what it is like in the evenings. Opening hours are 12-3.30 & 5.30-11; closed Sundays & Mondays.
The food was ‘interesting’; chicken in yoghurt was good, lamb with spinach ok, both cost £7.50, not including rice which was very expensive (£7 for two small portions served in one bowl and just basic boiled rice with a bit of butter or ghee). by contrast, the Baklava (sweet) was just £1. There was no bread because that is only done in the evening. The yoghurt and mint drink (dogh) was excellent; wine and beer are also available.
Service was efficient but overall the meal was a bit expensive, around £45 for lunch for two people on uncomfortable seats. But definitely worth trying.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Makaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Such a nice place. Have eaten here several times and have also used their take away. Food is consistently good. Rice always perfectly cooked and the limited number of dishes nice and spicy.
The seating is very cramped and not very comfortable, but as the atmosphere is friendly that is a minor complaint. For what it is I find it a bit expensive. However, over all a nice place to have a good meal..

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Peppercanario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Should be called "Amazing Kitchen"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

My partner and I were out in Angel, where he works, for a beer after a long Friday's working day. We wanted to go somewhere we had never been to before and found the Afghan Kitchen. What a great find! Although the staff are a bit all over the place and they bully you into moving a couple of (very high) seats up every time a new party shows up, they are mostly friendly, but slow! However, the wonderful food makes up for these pitfalls. It is not cheap, but it is worth every single penny you spend. It is not pretentious and the food is certainly top notch! The star of the menu is the lamb with spinach, in my opinion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MadMax70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afghan Kitchen also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Afghan Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing