We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dinner spot”
Review of Automat - CLOSED

Automat
Price range: $26 - $82
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Cross street: Piccadilly
Transit: Green Park
Vienna VA
Level Contributor
261 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Great dinner spot”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Loved the menu -- leans toward American fare -- and its done very well. Reasonable prices in London, cool dining room (I sat at the back bar) and very good and well presented food. The kitchen is busy and provides good entertainment. Look forward to returning!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MJSKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    88
    46
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
warwickshire
Level Contributor
192 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Splendid American Breakfast - A1 in all respects - Great fun”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Quirky American Style Diner in the heart of Mayfair . Breakfasted here and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience . Good food , Good Coffee & Pleasant service . Reasonable too!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank horacebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Amazing Burgers”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a little gem of a restaurant which serves excellent simple food including one of the best burgers you will taste - but book for lunch time in particular

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoderickG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service consistently lets this place down! 5 visits, 4 terrible service experiences.”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

In 4 out of our 5 visits there, the service has been so terrible, that after the last time, we swore never to return even though the food is quite nice. We were taking friends of our out for lunch, and had booked way in advance. When we arrived we were told that our requested table was only available for an hour and 10 minutes. (Not what you want when you booked a month in advance, and have friends coming in from out of town specially for a nice slow brunch). So, we moved to a different cramped table right in the middle of the very noisy entrance room. Our waitress was so appallingly rude. She shushed my boyfriend when he tried to clarify an order our friend was trying to place but which the waitress couldn't hear over the noise, she consistently brought the wrong drinks orders, my coffee was cold by the time it got to me, and when I asked for it to be reheated, she told me it was just fine. She forgot one meal altogether, but didn't own up to it, and tried to rush a meal through the kitchen, meaning we all sat there waiting for the final meal to arrive, sadly watching our eggs benedict getting cold. She then forgot about us altogether, and we had absolutely no service for over an hour (I'm talking empty plates left on the table, not even an offer of tea or coffee in sight. ) And when we finally had had enough, and when paying decided to cut her "discretionary service charge of 12.5%" down to 10 %, she stood blocking our exit from the restaurant telling us that we were short on the bill, despite the fact that she already had a substantially high tip, that she certainly didn't deserve. Such a pity! we love good American brunch, and wish that the management would also import some good American service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joelleb777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“No Stars and Stripes on US Election night!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Despite the surprising lack of obvious election paraphenalia in the restaurant on the afternoon of the US Presidential election this is a great American brasserie with excellent food and friendly and attentive staff. Although there on business I would happily go back on a non business visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grapefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Automat also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing