We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pre theatre”
Review of Asia de Cuba

Asia de Cuba
Ranked #446 of 22,808 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $94
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Cross street: Long Acre
Transit: Leicester Square, Charing Cross, Covent garden, Picadilly Circus
Description: For global travellers with a cultured palate and a love of variety, Asia de Cuba is a destination restaurant with a must-taste fusion philosophy. The iconic St Martins Lane eatery has been newly renovated and now offers an updated menu and whimsical, enchanting interior design. Cuban-born executive concept chef Luis Pous enhances Jeffrey Chodorow's original culinary vision with experimental combinations and a new twist on old favourites. Inspired by the cultural synthesis of old Havana's Chinatown, Pous interprets Asian-influenced Cuban fare for a modern crowd and a discerning palate. The new Asia de Cuba retains the same authentic preparations, tropical accents, and sharing-style presentation loved by guests and food critics alike, now enhanced with a creative new menu and a chic new dining sanctuary. Fresh ingredients, handcrafted dishes, and eye-catching interiors make for an unforgettable dining experience with surprising cultural flavours. Bottomless Brunch runs from Friday to Sunday, with live music on a Saturday. Summer Terrace: Created in partnership with premium gin Tanqueray No. TEN, discover our summer terrace at St Martins Lane which is divided into two elements, representing the hotel’s interior outlets. One part echoes The Den serving Gin & Tonic Afternoon Tea that will satisfy and surprise the most discerning of the tipple’s enthusiasts; the other will reflect Asia de Cuba providing a selection of exclusive gin pairings.
Alton, Hants
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great pre theatre”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Tried this with the pre theatre fixed price menu of £22 a head. Wine is extra as is service.

Service was quick and efficient. Food hot and delicious. In and out within an hour.

Atmosphere is ideal for pre threatre with a nice mix of music and other people. Decor is quirky.

Overall a really nice experience and will be goinf back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank webberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,025
    538
    217
    119
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Too much expensive...”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Really high quality food and very coreographic dishes in a cool location but... I reasonably think that 148 pound for a squib salad, a rib steak and roasted chicken (with two mojitos) are really too much. Luckily, we di not take wine, or we could spend more than 170 £...
Definitely, for this price we can eat much much better so... if you want to go, just don't be surprised as we were when you'll receive the bill :-).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theyaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We booked for the Sunday lunch Dim Sum which was an offer through top table although it probably didn't save a great deal as the dim sum is reasonably price on the main menu. The food was very good with pleasant service. The restaurant is nicely designed and has a great atmosphere. Worth a visit

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Truby1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant, faultless experience!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Booked this for my husband's birthday having read a few good reviews. Was a bit apprehensive that it might be one of those snooty places when the hotel had no signage, but the Maitre'd couldn't have been more charming & friendly, chatting and joking and wishing my husband happy birthday. He showed us to a lovely table for four, rather than forcing us onto a smaller table for 2. We booked for 2pm on a Saturday and it was pleasantly busy, you could have a conversation at a normal level. The decor was beautiful, irreverent and relaxing, nowhere near the overly-hipster snoot-fest I'd dreaded.

Our waitress, Monica, was fantastic. She explained the options, made excellent recommendations, was attentive without being overbearing, funny and genuine. She really did make the experience, which is rare for a busy Central London restaurant (IMHO).

To start we had the crispy salmon pancakes and the calamari salad - both of which were absolutely divine. The salad even included banana and cashew nuts - I don't know how, but it just worked. My main was the caribbean chicken and sticky rice, and he had the tuna; the portions were perfect considering the large starter. Dessert was doughnuts and some kind of ice-cream cake and sorbet - if I had to find fault, the sorbet was a little over-sweet. But it's a minor complaint for such an outstanding meal. Drinks-wise we stuck to the obscenely-sized Cuban Missile cocktail (well, it WAS a birthday!) - highly recommended, and best made by the Polish barman.

For me, this restaurant and it's incredible staff has raised the bar for London dining, which is a hit-and-miss experience at best (especially in the West End). I'd be hard-pressed to think of anywhere more fun and welcoming, in a lovely setting with fab food too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitty548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Great combinations of food with perfect service”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a short (just before theatre) but very delicious meal, perfect food and perfect service in a very nice location/ambiente.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank haktus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asia de Cuba also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Asia de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing