We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You go here to eat food not for ambiance”
Review of Asakusa

Asakusa
Ranked #1,054 of 23,024 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
London
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“You go here to eat food not for ambiance”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is my local. I have been visiting this restaurant for years at least once a week. This restaurant is for sashimi lovers. I normally go when it is just open between 6 to 6.30. I order my three piece sashimi mixtures , followed by spinach with sesame sauce, ikura, asakusa salade. Thursday night is a good night to go as fish order arrives for the weekend. Always packed June San the owner very friendly and welcoming. Most Japanese chefs eat here

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margeritta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    88
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Get a bigger rice cooker!!!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This place irritates the heck out of me. I keep getting told it's the BEST Japanese in London, which judging by the fact Japanese people cross the city to get there must be true in some respect. I just don't get it, however. I've eaten many times in Japan and around the world in quality Japanese places and after a number of visits to Asakusa still find it positively mediocre.

The environment is plain dirty - yeah, astonishing for a Japanese run establishment. From the sticky carpet to the greasy tables, cheap or not, it's unpleasant. It's like some freakish throw back from small town 1970s Japan.

Plus, the big plus, at approximately 8.30pm without fail, they seem to run out of rice, meaning oppressively long waits for sushi - average 45mins to 1 hour for a few pieces of nigiri. On two occasions my sushi was served literally hot because the rice hadn't been properly cooled. After a 50 minute wait I was furious!

In short, get a bigger rice cooker!!! How a place touted as the best Japanese restaurant in London consistently runs out of cooked rice is beyond me. While they're getting a bigger rice cooker, they may also consider investing in some cleaning products and ventilation.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank swj101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Itsumo oishii desu ne!”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Best value reliably excellent Japanese food in London. Loads of wannabe places describe themselves as izakaya. Rubbish. This one's the closest you'll get to that in the UK.

If you're yearning for something less mainstream try the cow tongue or chicken gizzards.

Yum yum yum.

If there's two of you order one normal asahi and one asahi black, mix and have a "harufo to harufo". Trust me.

Gochiso-sama deshita!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidbummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Brilliant Japanese in London”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Such a great restaurant (book at weekends), full of Japanese people which shows you how good it is. Amazing value for money and the sets are brilliant.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sonia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Never fails to please my taste buds!”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Asakusa is something I crave for. The food is excellent. I've never had a bad experience.The staff have always been very nice although some times forgetful so make sure you repeat and check they have your order right.
Sushi is freshly made and delicious and other dishes w've tried include Katsu chicken, Edamame, fried aubergine with sweet soya sauce, pork dumplins, tempura prawns and my favourite Asakusa salad. I also like the green tea ice cream and the chesnut ice cream.
The restaurant looks a bit dated and from the outside you wouldn't think that the food is so good but it is always fully booked, even mid week and full of Japanese people. They have recently revamped to toilets but I think the downstairs seating area really needs updating. Food wise - perfect!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank angelika76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asakusa also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Asakusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing