We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing

Really enjoyed this show. Brilliantly talented cast, Kim and the engineer stole the show... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Julie b
Wow!!

Saw this for the third time, and it never fails to impress. The last time was on the UK tour... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Julie A
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 1,167 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around London
from $72.10
More Info
from $118.00
More Info
from $81.30
More Info
from $119.30
More Info
Reviews (1,167)
Filter reviews
1,080 results
Traveler rating
798
167
69
30
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
798
167
69
30
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews helicopter scene prince edward theatre west end vietnam war lea salonga stole the show standing ovation special effects les miserables story line roller coaster great songs scenes cast production stage lyrics
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,080 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really enjoyed this show. Brilliantly talented cast, Kim and the engineer stole the show, helicopter scene was amazing, being plenty of tissues. Well worth going to see.

1  Thank Julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Saw this for the third time, and it never fails to impress. The last time was on the UK tour. The songs are simply incredible, the actors are out standing and the story line keeps you hooked all the way through. I never want it to finish. To the people who have given it negative reviews, I am baffled?? There is nothing to criticise, just tons to be impressed by. If you have the chance to see it, just go, you will be impressed....

Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

Having waited a long time to see this musical I can definitely say it was worth the wait. The cast were fantastic as was the staging. I only knew a little of the storyline before going and I’m glad I did as the ending was heart breaking. It was a very powerful show with great acting and singing. There were more than a few of us in tears by the end. Standing ovation by everyone.

1  Thank traceyandmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

I think you will either love or hate this show - there is no in-between. I didn’t enjoy it, but I was surrounded by people happy to give it a standing ovation and who had been to see the show several times.

The good stuff:

A supremely talented cast.
Fabulous set, staging and choreography.
Some fantastic special effects.

The not so good stuff:

The show is so angst ridden throughout that I really didn’t care who lived or died by the end of it.

There is no dialogue- they sing everything which starts sounding whiney and really spoilt it for me personally. They also sing too fast at times and you can’t tell what is being said. Some great dialogue mixed with great songs would have nailed it and enhanced the storyline.

The music itself is not particularly memorable - or good - only a few songs to note (one of which became repetitive).

So sorry, despite the huge efforts that have gone into this show, I would not return to see it.

1  Thank Whatawonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

The first time I’ve seen the “revived” version of this show and it will be the last. What a travesty. In an attempt to make the show worthy the new director has made it uncomfortable to watch. In an attempt to do god knows what the lyricist has made it trite. The new song is awful, the new lyrics are boring. Bring back the original lyrics and songs. Remind yourself that it’s a musical, it doesn’t need to be made to be worthy. Let it speak for itself. Cameron Mackintosh should never have let this happen. What next? Perhaps they’ll ask Ben Elton to rewrite Hamlet? Or maybe get Russel Brand to reinterpret Dudley Moore’s Arthur? Oh, wait a minute. What a shame.

1  Thank ukhonesttrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018

I had never heard any songs from the show before going, and still have not heard any songs from the show, apart from part of the first song after the interval sung acappella I could hear every word and was delightful until the orchestra started up and drowned them out. Clearly the conductor thought he was playing the Albert Hall and not some small provincial theatre. Overall the production was very dreary and I contrast it with the earlier musical with similar themes but set in Malaysia and Singapore - the amazing Privates on Parade at the Aldwych in1977 (not the film version spoiled by John Cleese) - this had great tunes and lyrics and every word could be heard, unlike the dirge that is Miss Saigon. Even the raved about helicopter scene is a let down - a video projection just won't cut it these days when you have seen a coach and horses move off the stage and over the audience in Cinderella at the London Palladium. I put this in my list of Musicals where you come out feeling on a downer - the other one on the list is Mack and Mabel.

1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Brilliant show , well worth it & took my friend as a birthday present & would go to see it again , very thought provoking & excellent casting . Stayed for the weekend , ate at Bella Italia & Greek Meze lovely food & friendly service . G R

3  Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018

I wasn't sure what to expect so I checked online what it was about. Without revealing too much about the plot, this show is absolutely heart breaking. Get ready to cry! All the actors have amazing voices! You'll be blown away. Expect the unexpected. This show comes with parental guidance.. It is a show you would not take a young child to see and yet there is a young child in the show.... Not a show for the Prude People and i do get why as some scenes are a bit XXX rated. But nether less i did love it and my daughter who is 13 loved it too although i wouldn't take her if she'd have been any younger, but she does do drama at school and loves theatre. Defo worth it.

1  Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

Very impressive production although the sound quality wasn’t great. Hard to hear the words of the actors. Seemed muffled. Sexy scenes were a bit over the top, I think the message was there without so much graphic detail, simulating sex on stage was unnecessary, that said good gripping story. Loved the helicopter bit. A shame there were a lot of empty seats but can imagine it’s not everyone’s cup of tea, although seat prices may be a factor.

1  Thank mandyr112017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

Very disappointed with strong language and sexual connotation. The actors gave it their all but I could not recommend it

1  Thank gordonthamilton45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews