We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Golden Phoenix

Golden Phoenix
Ranked #17,334 of 25,017 Restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: The restaurant is located in Gerrard Street, the heart of London Chinatown, this superbly renovated restaurant is one of the largest with a 350 seating capacity and 7 private rooms spread over 3 floors. Its contemporary luxury and elegant interior design provides a relaxed atmosphere for a unique dining experience at an affordable price. We specialize in Cantonese cuisine, but also provide authentic Szechuan and Malaysia cuisine to suit every palate. There are plenty of culinary surprises in this restaurant, especially the Dim Sum and other famous dishes - try our Crispy Duck and Shredded Chilli Beef. All dishes are of the highest quality ingredients and freshly prepared on the premises. It's a great place to dine, party or hold corporate events and to bring tourists. No booking required, walk-ins are welcome during opening hours.
Reviewed May 17, 2015 via mobile

Visited with my cousin for lunch on a Saturday. Looking through the window the place was full of Chinese people which is what attracted us to this one in particular. It was good to see more chinese coming in throughout our meal- always a good sign.

We ordered a dim sum platter and some extra dim sum, plus a couple of main dishes and noodles. All were excellent, the pork in crysanthamum honey was outstanding. How the sauce is made I'll never know, but it was delicious.

Service was fine. No complaints at all. I think price wise this was slightly more than some of those we looked at and walked away from but given the quality of the food and the decor and cleanliness of the restaurant you can see why. It's well worth the extra few pounds.

Would I come back to this specific restaurant if I was in the area? Yes. Without hesitation.

Thank Caz160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ping H, Public Relations Manager at Golden Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2015

Dear Customer

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this positive review, your comments are very helpful to us and indeed encouraging. I am glad that you had a most enjoyable time with us and I will pass this to the restaurants management and all the hard working staff. They will endeavour to continue to provide high standards of customer service and quality food.

We look forward to welcoming you back to visit us soon.

Best Regards!

Ping H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

528 - 532 of 796 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2015

Picked this restaurant by chance,had one of the set menus which suited both of us, had a few drinks, the service was very good from start to finish,the waitress was very pleasant. Good value and quite tasty,would go back again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ping H, Public Relations Manager at Golden Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2015

Dear Customer

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this positive review, your comments are very helpful to us and indeed encouraging. Although, we always try to maintain consistently high service standards in some circumstances we recognise we still have some way to go. That said, I am glad that you had an enjoyable time with us and I will pass this to the restaurants management.

We look forward to welcoming you back to visit us soon.

Best Regards!

Ping H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2015

As we go to China Town regularly, we like to try all the restaurants. Also, the in joke in our family is that they all share the same kitchen !! That is fine by us, as we have never been dissapointed. Until now. We chose Golden Phoenix as it looked busy and good decor. From the first interaction with the staff, things were not good. We ordered our food and a bottle of wine, asking to change one thing on the set menu. That will be an extra charge and did you want to order drinks ? The extra charge was no problem to us, just his attitude, also was the wine we had ordered not classed as drinks. He seemed like he was on autopilot and it was only 6pm. The starters came immediately and were stale. Seaweed was cold and in a lump that you couldn't break. Prawn toast was cold and rubbery. Why didn't we complain ? We'd had a lovely day and thought it's only a minor hiccup. As we were eating our starter the waiter " plonked " the plum sauce on the table for our duck. Ok, this is going to be over very quickly. 40 minutes later, still no duck. The waiter said it was on its way. After waiting again, we asked if there was a problem. No, we were told and it was produced, and was very good. Sadly, the main meal was very poor. Crispy, chilli beef has never been so wrongly named. It was wet, pale and flavourless. When they bought the bill, my husband said he did not want to pay for the chilli beef and gave his reasons. They bought an amended bill, reduced by £6 and said loudly, this is your bill that you asked for discount on !!! Maybe the staff should take a walk along China town to see how it should be done

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CHP1536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ping H, Public Relations Manager at Golden Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2015

Dear Customer

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your comments are very important to us and we treat each customer's input very seriously. They will help us continuously to improve our service standards and quality of food served. I am regret that your recent experience at the Golden Phoenix did not fully meet your expectation. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

I will certainly pass on your message to its management in order to improve the quality of food served to customers and the standard of customer service.

Please do contact me at info@goldenphoenixchinatown.com, as I would like to invite you back to visit us and show you the improvements we are working to achieve.

Best Regards!

Ping H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2015

Food was good. Very extensive choice of dim sum food served quickly. Staff helpful. Only downside was their was only one ladies toilet for a very busy restaurant. Big queue.

Thank 244sarahj561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ping H, Public Relations Manager at Golden Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2015

Dear Customer

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this positive review, your comments are very helpful to us and indeed encouraging. Although, we always try to maintain consistently high service standards in some circumstances we recognise we still have some way to go. That said, I am glad that you had a most enjoyable time with us and I will pass this to the restaurants management.

We look forward to welcoming you back to visit us soon.

Best Regards!

Ping H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2015

We enjoyed a fantastic meal, however the staff were extremely rude. NO smiles, they looked so miserable and are clearly in the wrong job! It did spoil the dining experience. Having now read other reviews about their customer service I am not surprised we had similar experience. What is disappointing, is that the restaurant have replied to comments stating they have taken these reviews on board. Clearly this is not the case. We had to ask for the bill twice. The first time, the waiter walked off and did something else! No apology given when we asked again. They didn't provide forks when asked so had to ask again. No one even said goodbye to us as we left. It was also disappointing to read 'service charge not included' stamped in red at the bottom of the bill. The waiter didn't even present the bill to my husband with a smile of his face!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ping H, Public Relations Manager at Golden Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2015

Dear Customer

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your comments are very important to us. They will help us continuously to improve our service standards and quality of food served. I regret that your recent experience at the Golden Phoenix did not fully meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

We are aware that our level of customer service is somewhat below the standard we seek and the restaurant’s management has put into operation a training programme designed to help improve such skills. I will pass on your message to the management which will help to reinforce our staff training plan to make sure customers receive a friendly, effectively and efficient service.

Once again, thank you for your comments. They are really appreciated.

Best Regards!

Ping H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing