We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as last visit - but OK”
Review of The Crispy Duck

The Crispy Duck
Ranked #11,222 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Soho
warwickshire
Level Contributor
192 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Not as good as last visit - but OK”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I think , perhaps we were a bit late in arriving so service and food was not the usual high standard . Still very fair offering though .

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank horacebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    22
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food and service in London's China Town”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

In London's china town there are many choices. We stumbled into the Crispy Duck and were not dissappointed. There were 10 of us so we needed to accomodate numerous tastes. The Crispy Duck did not dissappoint. The Peking Duck and Sweet and Sour chicken were 2 very good choices!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DLCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We loved the food at the crispy duck, the service was also fantastic, restaurant almost full but quality and quantity was not by anyway interrupted by this. Would definately visit again!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Eddy237111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Food only OK, but service rubbish !”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Tried the Crispy Duck because it appeared busy, but that turned out to be just the ground floor. We were led down to the basement which had no atmosphere. Ordered dim sum with a plate of ma po dofu. The dim sum was very average and the dofu arrived without rice (which was included on the menu I'd seen). When we paid our bill I found they'd brought a large portion which I hadn't ordered. Service was very poor throughout; there was no concept of trying to find out what the customer wanted and unfortunately the quality of the food didn't make up for it. When I asked to take home all the food we hadn't eaten (which is a common practice in Chinese restaurants) the containers were simply dumped on the table for us to pack ourselves. And the restaurant wasn't very busy, so the staff were hardly run off their feet. I wouldn't go back to this restaurant, given the much better experiences I've had at others in Chinatown.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janetol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“You gotta try "Crispy duck"”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

The food is great especially "crispy duck" and the way you eat it. The service time is not that great might be from too many customer though. I have to wait awhile for the duck disk but worth it with the taste.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank malttrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crispy Duck also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Crispy Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing