We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for Sunday lunch”
Review of The Phoenix

The Phoenix
Ranked #3,980 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Price range: $18 - $39
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Westminster
Description: Whether you've just popped in to see the Queen but didn't fancy staying for tea, are catching a show at the theatre next door or just feel like lingering over a pint before facing the hustle and bustle of Victoria, we have the perfect place for you. The Phoenix, just 5 minutes from Victoria Station, is alive in the week with office workers and on the weekend the hubbub comes from the tourists popping into Buckingham Palace. Our menu showcases the fresh seasonal ingredients whilst reminding all how good traditional British food can be. The large bar is a mix and match of tables, armchairs, with space at the bar for those wanting to sample the real ales or a fine fine glass of wine. The Upstairs Bar is ideal for meetings, dinners, drinks and more. Out the back is the garden delightful for a light lunch or after work libation. The Royal Family have a delightful local.
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place for Sunday lunch”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

A third visit to this cosy yet stylish pub for lunch did not disappoint. Consistently good service, good-value and a very well-cooked Sunday lunch.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank dnhbham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    126
    48
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice pub with good seats and big tables”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This pub makes good drinks and is good food. I also like the big tables. I generally like the Geronimo pubs and this one is no exception.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pigchopolopolous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
190 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great new decor, disappointing level of service”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Dropped in here for lunch on the recommendation of our hotel concierge, who couldn't praise it high enough. We liked the decor; it wasn't terribly busy. We were asked to find a table and sit, then menus would be brought. We did, they weren't, despite our being right under the nose of the waiter. We left, letting them know that that since there wasn't any service we would find lunch elsewhere. They shrugged. Not good. We trust this is an unusual occurrence because it looks a great little pub and staff turnover sometimes results in this kind of experience.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank accidentaltourist_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“I love this pub but it can get very busy”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

OK so I’ve only eaten here once or twice but I spent the 3 years I worked in Victoria in the Phoenix at least twice a week – some times more if work required!!!!!!!!!!!!!
It’s part of the bigger Geronimo chain (which has a few equally as nice pubs scattered across town) but the way they set the chain up makes each one feel slightly more individual.
Yes it’s quite pricey (it’s one of the few nice bars in Victoria and is always busy!) but it’s a really nice bar to drink after a day in Town.
If you’re not into crowds of workers, don’t go on a Thursday or Friday night – it gets very very busy!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesF_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First pub visited in London”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Located near our hotel. Good food - friendly atmosphere. We had lunch there, and returned the next night to a line outside so we did not eat dinner there. Appears to be a popular place.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Phoenix also viewed

 

Been to The Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing