We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a try !”

China City Restaurant - Leicester Square
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Soho
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth a try !”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We visited China City because we could not get into the Joy King Lau as the queue was too long. We were not disappointed though . We had a very friendly welcome and did not have to wait at all. The staff were very attentive and accommodating, varying the set menu we chose to suit our children. We did not have to wait long before our food came and when it did we really enjoyed it . We thought that the standard of food was well above the average chinese restaurant and was not overpriced. There were a lot of Chinese diners so that was a good sign. We would certainly go back again next time we are in London. The only downside was that the loos were a bit grubby.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sladdergoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    29
    16
    8
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous food!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We came here after reading some previous reviews on trip advisor I have to say the food was really great can't fault it but don't let the inside decor put you off! It's not an up to date modern Chinese restaurant but it you want great food I would recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chellenanaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great night!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Came across this restaurant the other day with my friends after watching a film at the empire leicester square cinema. We decided to go get some chinese food from chinatown as it wasn't too far from where we was. The outside looked nice so we decided to come here for food and drinks. We were greeted by the owner of the restaurant, who at the time we thought was the manager. The guy was a great laugh. Anyways we sat down and ordered food and drinks. Service was good, food came reasonably quickly and was of a high standard, a cut above the restaurants around my area. The owner who we had now realised was not the manager came and took the time out to chat with us and ensured that the food was to our satisfaction. We then ended up having a round with him. What a Lad!! We then started talking about the karaoke rooms that the restaurant had which we weren't aware of. Fai, the owner then took us upstairs and showed us the newly refurbished rooms which had lasers and really comfy sofas. We then decided to do some karaoke and get some drinks in, it was a great laugh. It was totally unexpected and nothing that we planned to do at the start of the night, but he had a great time and concluded spontaneous nights are the way forward!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old favourite”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Been eating here for aeons when it was 'Poons' and it's always beeen a favourite of mine. Plausibly priced with a wide menu of well prepared and interesting food. One of the things that drew me to it in the first place was the fact that most of the clientelle are oriental and they ought to know what's what!
It's been through a few changes over the years but to no major ill effect and remains my 'go-to' location for a Chinese in town.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Miasmaphone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Karaoke and food - brilliant night!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Went here with a group of 10 girls for a friends birthday. We hired a private room from 8pm - 12am. The food was delicious and the karaoke machine was great! Lots of song choices - we didn't even get through all the ones we wanted! Great fun, would absolutely recommend this to anyone who enjoys chinese and karaoke!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China City Restaurant - Leicester Square also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing