We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pre and post movie convenience par excellance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Da Corradi

Da Corradi
Ranked #1,270 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Ledbury
Level Contributor
126 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“pre and post movie convenience par excellance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Open all day, this little Italian restaurant tucked away in Shepherd Market is such a find. After a movie at the Curzon up the road, a couple of months ago, we were starving and pitched up just after 4 pm - no problem, we were served a late lunch / early supper - friendly helpful staff, super duper food and a great atmosphere with affordable prices. Second time round may not always be up to par? - and this time we booked for lunch, pre movie up the road, and so glad we did - the place was heaving. Sitting upstairs is definitely preferable to downstairs, so booking is advisable. Again, great food, antipasti starter was more than enough to share, followed by lamb cutlets cooked to perfection, my dining partner had a chicken dish with roast potatoes and beautifully cooked vegetables. Two bottles of merlot, followed by strong coffee, also went down very well!! Do try this gem of a place, you will not be disappointed - we loved it the first time, even more the second and will most certainly be going back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    142
    33
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wargrave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfect Saturday hideaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a movie to see at the BFI IMAX on the South Bank and had thought about eating close to the theatre. However, we remembered walking past Da Corradi a few months ago and recalled how quaint the area was, tucked away in a pleasant corner of Mayfair, and how inviting this pleasant traditional Italian restaurant looked. So we booked an early dinner and arrived from Green Park station, just a few minutes walk away, in the late afternoon. The welcome was warm and enthusiastic and we were immediately shown to a perfect corner table. You could tell this was a 'proper' Italian restaurant, traditional but friendly with the emphasis on good food. We settled down to a couple of glasses of the House Wine - very nice - and then dived into the menu. The bruschetta for starter was divine - fresh, tasty tomatoes on crusty bread - and the linguine with prawns, done in a cherry tomato sauce, from the Specials menu was fresh and tasty (if a bit too generous in portion). My wife shared the bruschetta and then ordered her favourite; penne pasta with tomatoes. We had coffee (and more wine!) before settling a surprisingly reasonable bill. This is a 'real deal' Italian and I only wish we had longer to tarry and enjoy the atmosphere. Never mind, there'll definitely be a next time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent English Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I are here one Sunday morning with my wife. Cute interior, friendly staff, and very competent full English for a tenner. Fresh orange juice, toast arrived buttered, and the milk was warm. Very good!

Helpful?
Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Affordable Italian Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We've now been to Da Corradi a number of times and have never been disappointed. This is Italian food at its best, at great prices for central London, and with generous portions. The antipasti starter is mega and gorgeous. The pasta is always great -- the Carbonara is especially luscious. The puddings are also generous if a little too mainstream. Earlier this week we had a 3 course lunch there which with two rounds of soft drinks and service was under £65 for two. The restaurant is family run, always friendly and with prompt service. There are about 20 covers upstairs and at least as many again downstairs plus some space outside, so don't be deceived if what you see walking past is full. Downsides? I didn't get ice and lemon with bottled mineral water and the seating is a bit cramped -- but I can live with both of those as the rest is so good. So good in fact I'm taking a party there is December. Oh and they do great breakfast too!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kcm1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

After a few days in London we were looking for a good Italian restaurant. This place met our expectations. Its small for sure but the food was excellent. We had the risotto and the lasagna and both turned out to be good choices. Price including wine, appetizers, coffee and tip came to about 50 pounds which is very reasonable for the location and the quality of the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim602013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Corradi also viewed

 

Been to Da Corradi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing