We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A regular haunt”
Review of Amalfi - CLOSED

Amalfi
Cuisines: European, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Soho
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A regular haunt”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We go here a lot. The staff are friendly and welcoming and it is always good fun. The menu varies a bit with weekly specials and the food is good value, well cooked and presented. It is modestly priced. Worth a vist!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JosephLondonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    105
    36
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Sunday night on the May Day weekend and Soho was heaving. Couldn't get into our first choice but Amalfi took our booking and just as well that we booked as it was full. Our table was ready on arrival and service was fast and friendly. No charge for tap water and we stayed at the bottom end of the prices on the wine list and got perfectly acceptable Montepuliciano at £18 a bottle. First courses came in good time with the Bruschettas voted a success as was the triclore with good ripe acvocados and tomatos alongside the mozzarella. My Suppa Vongole was huge a delicious. Main courses were however disappoointing the Risotto Verdure was bland and no parmesan was offered, when it did arrive it made little impact. The two pastas were judged as ok but nothing special whilst the pizza contadina was a little soggy towards the middle of its thin crust and again bland. Findente Cacao got the thumbs up but Gelati Sorbettis were average. At nearly £35 a head a bit pricey for the quality but this is Soho!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENT
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Nice.......”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Found this amongst dozens of Italian restaurants in the area - don't know why but it seemed to stand out. Food was lovely, so were the staff who couldn't do enough for you. Only downside was that they were out of Prosecco - had to have sparkling Rose in my Bellini's (someone's got to do it!). There was a really nice atmosphere, and they turned the lights down to light candles on the tables. My dessert was heaven on a plate - don't remember what it was called but it was flavoured with Amaretto. Prices were reasonable for the area too. All in all, would thoroughly recommend this great find, and will certainly go back again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank christinekelly07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Such a great little resturant tucked away”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was pleasantly surprising. Great service with very helpful waiters always on hand. Quite busy considering it was quite late, but they managed to find us a table quickly though service was slower than I could have hoped for.

Nice variety on the menu and they cater well for vegetarian options, and we were offered alternatives to toppings etc. The food itself was fantastic. Perhaps some of the best I've tried at an Italian restaurant, and wasn't too expensive either! Will definitely go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamzah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbys
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Good local Restaurant”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We found this for a pre theater meal just walking the street. It is a real family run Italian restaurant of a dying breed.It would not be somewhere to make a special trip to but we would certainly remember it for this purpose and go again. The food was real and price reasonable and service good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fiveducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amalfi also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing