We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh brewed coffee for breakfast”
Review of LSE Passfield Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
LSE Passfield Hall
Ranked #92 of 923 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed September 12, 2013

That was really great: Freshly brewed coffee for breakfast instead of machine stuff. The room was a bit worn and my stay would have been most enjoyable had I known the advice I give at the end (i.e. garden side). The staff was polite and helpful, even giving ideas for future stays in town. A Boris bike station close by with easy access to the sights around (get yourself the newest "cycling in Central London" and docking stations maps before going bonkers in the oneway system). The WLAN was free at my stay though the registration process was a bit cumbersome. Worth a try.

Room Tip: No lift to third floor. Ask for garden side (quieter and not so much heating up during the day)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flugwiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 313 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

The staff at Passfield has gone above and beyond the call of duty to accommodate my mobility handicap. The building is old and not ideally suited for disabled but with their help I have made a go of it. Don't expect a 5 star hotel, this is a COLLEGE DORM. You can rent wifi connection, but there is no air conditioning and no TV's in the room. I stayed here in August and September 2013 and was quite comfortable with an electric fan operating in my room. It is located very near Euston train station with many connected bus routes making it very convenient to get around London. It is in a quiet neighborhood (unless they are doing remodeling nearby) and there are shops and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colliermj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife & I just spent a weekend at Passfield Hall, and doubt if we could have found better accommodation in London for anywhere near this price. Everywhere, from the rooms, communal areas like showers, and the dining areas were clean and well maintained. The showers were good, and there was always plenty hot water, and clean towels provided.
The choice and quality of the breakfast was good with more than enough selection of both cooked items and cereals/fruit etc to suit us. They do get a bit off if you dont take all your breakfast items at once.
The location is great too - handy for Euston, Euston Square, Russell Square and not too far from Kings Cross - plus the many restaurants in the area, and attractions such as the British Museum and Foundling Museum.
If you don't mind the fact that rooms are not en suite, don't have double beds or televisions this is great accommodation at a great price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Crofter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Manager at LSE Passfield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We value all our customer feedback as this gives us an opportunity to monitor our service and identify areas for improvement in the future.

I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Passfield Hall and that you appreciated our great value for money rates. I will be sure to pass on your comments about cleanliness to the Housekeeping staff who work very hard to ensure all guests have an enjoyable stay.

I very much hope that you will stay with us again next time you are thinking about taking a break in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Passfield Hall was easily accessible by train from Heathrow. Instructions provided on how to find the Hall were faultless. We easily walked into London central from Passsfield. In fact we did not use the train except for arrival and departure, all our destinations - including Buckingham Palace - were within walking distance. Our stay was for 3 nights. A twin room, comfortable beds, lovely and clean and plenty of windows; a kitchen 2 doors down the hall. Great

Room Tip: No elevator available so choose ground or first floor where possible. If you are fit, other floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 397Susanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed at Passfield Hall with my 2 children for a four night stay. The staff were really friendly and helpful, our triple room was spotless and the breakfast couldn't be faulted. The location was brilliant, right next to Euston so wherever you decided to visit it was always very easy to get back. We would highly recommend it, I wouldn't think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajc1929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was our second time staying at a LSE accommodation, so we kind of knew what to expect. We arrived at what we thought was the normal check in time of 3pm, but were told that because students were moving out, we couldn't check in until 5pm. This wasn't really a problem,we just had to change our dinner plans slightly as we had an early theatre booking. Once we were shown to our room, we were very pleasantly surprised - the room was huge!! It had 5 sets of windows and was very airy and bright. I was a bit worried about having to 'share' the facilities (due to a mix up in the booking process), but it was fine. There was a toilet/shower just down the hall from our room but the light wasn't working in the shower, so we had to use another, this wasn't a problem. In fact even though the building was entirely full, I didn't see anyone in the halls. After a quick shower, we were off out so didn't spend much time in our room. Breakfast was fine, although someone needs to rethink the 'toaster situation' as it is a nightmare to try and get your toast done before your breakfast gets cold - lol!! We were able to sit out in the courtyard garden which was very pleasant. Of course I would prefer to stay in a 5* posh hotel, but hey this is London and prices are astronomical, so needs must. I will save the 5* hotel stays for cities like Barcelona and Rome where it is more affordable. :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I've just had a long weekend in London to watch the Rugby League Challenge Cup Final with some friends. One of the other guys booked it for us on a budget as we needed nothing special and I was therefore expecting a real no frills accommodation. Well I must say I was pleasantly surprised; the rooms were basic but clean and well maintained. The separate WC and shower facilities were also clean and the reception staff were pleasant to deal with. The only minor gripe I would have is that the rooms (single - by choice) were extremely warm for sleeping in but we were provided with fans to help keep us cooler - it is summer I guess!. So overall, if you are looking for a budget accommodation of a good standard and are happy to share washroom facilities I would most definitely recommend Passfield Hall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garyu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
LSE Bankside House
LSE Bankside House
#460 of 1,077 in London
532 reviews
Clerkenwell
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
#685 of 1,077 in London
176 reviews
Fitzrovia
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
#74 of 923 in London
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
LSE Grosvenor House Studios
Westminster
LSE Northumberland House
LSE Northumberland House
#170 of 923 in London
276 reviews
Covent Garden
LSE High Holborn Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LSE Passfield Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Passfield Hall

Address: Passfield Hall 1-7 Endsleigh Place, London WC1H 0PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 923 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $60 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — LSE Passfield Hall 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Passfield Hall provides great value bed and breakfast accommodation in Bloomsbury. The hall boasts a unique mix of classic Georgian architecture and modern facilities in central London.Passfield is well-placed for the West End and all of the main attractions of central London. The British Museum and British Library are only a short walk away. Rooms at Passfield are available at Christmas and New Year, spring and summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your LSE Passfield Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passfield Hall Hotel London
LSE Passfield Hall London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing