We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not nearly as good as other reviews make out.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of LSE Passfield Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LSE Passfield Hall
Ranked #111 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not nearly as good as other reviews make out.”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I found my stay here to be disappointing from beginning to end. I had spoke to one member of staff the day before my stay (with regards to obtaining a fan and an early check-in) and I was informed that my room would probably be ready at around 12 noon. At the time, I was also told that the official check in-time would actually be 5pm, which was actually a surprise (and quite frankly, absurd) given that my booking had stated 3pm. I arrived at the check-in desk at 12.30pm (hoping that the room would be available) and the four female receptionists didn't even bother to make eye contact, let alone say 'hello' or 'how can I help?' In fact, they had to be prompted to make any sort of conversation which I found surprisingly rude and unprofessional. I was strictly informed that check In was at 5pm and 5pm only and there would be no chance of a check in before that time ( despite what an another member of staff had told me during the previous day). This was disappointing given that I was going to a festival in Hyde Park that started at noon. They also went on to criticise that particular member of staff in front of everyone in the reception.

I was given a key to a luggage store to drop my bag which was completely unstaffed. Any person staying at this hotel could steal others valuables and there's nothing stopping a member of the public walking in behind someone with a key (especially given the chaotic nature of reception). ' I had no option but to take my bag with me and sit in a park across the road until 3pm. On leaving reception, i heard a member of staff telling a customer 'that check-in was between 3-5pm' completely contradictory to what I was told. When I came back to reception at 3pm there were hoards of people congregating in the hot, stuffy reception waiting to get their room key. It was a challenge just to get to the desk. I stayed on the third floor (lift only goes to the 2nd) the decor throughout the accommodation was tired, dated, dirty and stained. Rooms are basic, but I was already aware of that. The heat throughout the building is unbearable, how anyone can sleep in those rooms during summer months is beyond me. I was literally pouring with sweat no matter which part of the building I was in. The windows only open two inches and there's no air con. I had the luxury of a fan, but the power was akin to one of those 99p battery powered hand held things. I literally plugged it in and had to have it within a foot of my head just to feel a gentle breeze. That was the only reason that I got any sleep at all, I really felt for others staying without one.

Showers are cramped and seemed to run hot water only and there's no where to put your clothes or toiletries. One of the toilets has a window with no blind or curtains so people can see you from buildings across the road.

Breakfast was average and the staff treat customers like crap. It really was like a military exercise. I was embarrassingly asked 'WHERE'S YOUR BREAKFAST CARD!' in front of many.

Ultimately, if you enjoy staying in a hot stuffy dump where the staff treat like customers like dirt then you should stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona T, Manager at LSE Passfield Hall, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
I am extremely sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay and that we did not manage to live up to your expectations. I accept that we should have done more to make clear to you in advance of your arrival that check-in time on our turnaround day would be at the later time of 5pm. I apologise that this was clearly not the case on this occasion. As a result of your complaint we have amended our processes to make sure that on turnaround days in the future, our guests will be fully aware in advance of their arrival that check-in is later than normal. I also apologise that you were given incorrect information by a member of staff and that your experience of our breakfast service was less than satisfactory. I will ensure that both these issues are addressed in future staff training sessions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    140
    53
    15
    14
See reviews for
46
37
109
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hostel looks nice and I wish I could say I had had the opportunity to stay there, but unfortunately due to poor customer service I was unable to. Don't expect any miracles from this place if an unexpected event prevents you from making it to your room on time. My flight was delayed, and when I called to exchange my reservation to the night after, they were booked solid. They were also booked for three other nights I tried. I asked if an exception could be made given the circumstances to have my booking cancelled without penalties, and they all but told me to piss off. Despite being booked solid, and therefore definitely being able to make their money back through another traveller, they refused. Instead, they wanted me to cancel, keep my money, and then rebook the room to another traveller. Needless to say I did not agree to this and was left extremely dissatisfied by the experience, particularly given the attitude of the receptionist and manager, who during my second call told me they had better things to do, and told me to stop calling and wasting their time as they would do nothing for me. I honestly could not believe it. Worst. Service. Ever.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona T, Manager at LSE Passfield Hall, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

Whilst we would have been happy to move your reservation with us to another day, we can only do so at times when we have vacant rooms available. Unfortunately in this case we were fully booked on all your alternative dates and therefore unable to accommodate your request. I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion.

Please be assured that we take our customer service very seriously. Feedback such as yours is valuable as it enables us to learn from our mistakes and put things right. We will take steps to ensure this does not happen again. Please accept my apologies if our service fell below our usual standard on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Clean and tidy housing. Nice neighborhood, quite close to Euston Station with easy access to all the main attractions of the city. Worthwhile for both long and short stays, with a plain and correct English breakfast. The room is designed for the LSE students, so be prepared for a simple bed, wardrobe and study table. The shared bathrooms are clean and tidy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gncdias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Didn't realize it was in the 'student area of London - really posh area, hotel was lovely - clean & tidy - rooms were very comfortable....for £90 each for 2 nights which included breakfast - for London - we couldn't complain!

and a stone's throw from Covert Garden so we saved loads on tubes......literately able to walk right into town

Will happily book there again - quite happily.....

Room Tip: if there's two of you sharing - double is only £68 which make's it better value for money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Price seemed reasonable, perfect location, and nice pictures. Stayed for 8 nights and could not sleep at all. Being a student hall, I expected silent rooms to be able to study and rest, but I got coughing noises from the neighbor, the entrance doorbell, foot traffic by reception inside a room with a bed, desk and washbin.
What they did not mention in the website at all is that windows don't shut properly, all the noise from the street comes in, as well as a nearby A/C unit which made it impossible to sleep.
Staff at reception are not qualified to deal with customers or any issue outside standard check-in/check-out procedure.
There is no elevator, so be sure to pack lightly or have someone carry your suitcases up the stairs..

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heboma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSEVacations, Manager at LSE Passfield Hall, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It was unfortunate that we were unable to accommodate your request for a “silent room if possible.” Our occupancy at the time limited us to the number of options we could present to you.

The sash windows in our listed building are maintained throughout the year, and our maintenance team was available to assist had we been advised of a problem. As advertised on our website it is the case that access to some parts of Passfield are by stair only, however the main building is fully serviced by lifts. Our reception team operate daily throughout the year, looking after people from all corners of the globe, and the feedback we receive from our guests is good to excellent. We appreciate that your stay with us was not wholly satisfactory, and although the entire team mobilised to assist, we acknowledged that we could not provide you with the room you required, and apologised.

We wish to thank you for your comments. The entire team at Passfield take all customer feedback seriously, reviewing both our operation and training requirements accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed overnight as we wanted to be close to London attractions. It's 45 years since I was in a Hall of Residence (University of Exeter) and I have to say my accommodation then was of a higher standard than Passfield Hall. I think the Travelodge would be a safer and more comfortable overnight stay than Passfield Hall, but at least they provide breakfast and a coffee or tea (if they have any mugs available and we had to share one!). Sorry, Passfield Hall, but you're OK for backpackers and students, but those of us wanting some creature comforts would want a little more.

Room Tip: Try to be in the main block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowardIsleofWight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed for one night, great location only 5 minutes walk to Euston Station with all transport links. Very quiet location. Rooms are very basic but what do you expect for £60 for two people in central London including breakfast!! Room and shower room were very clean and well kept. Would recommend for a cheap stay and i will be using this place again myself in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
#661 of 1,088 in London
167 reviews
Southwark
LSE Bankside House
LSE Bankside House
#540 of 1,088 in London
438 reviews
Fitzrovia
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
#67 of 837 in London
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
LSE High Holborn Residence
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Knightsbridge
Imperial College Accommodation Prince's Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LSE Passfield Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Passfield Hall

Property: LSE Passfield Hall
Address: Passfield Hall 1-7 Endsleigh Place, London WC1H 0PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — LSE Passfield Hall 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Passfield Hall provides great value bed and breakfast accommodation in Bloomsbury. The hall boasts a unique mix of classic Georgian architecture and modern facilities in central London.Passfield is well-placed for the West End and all of the main attractions of central London. The British Museum and British Library are only a short walk away. Rooms at Passfield are available at Christmas and New Year, spring and summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your LSE Passfield Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passfield Hall Hotel London
LSE Passfield Hall London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing