We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“upper class B&B”
Review of LSE Passfield Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LSE Passfield Hall
Ranked #87 of 946 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed May 6, 2011

+ very well located
+ nice staff and service
+ clean
+ comfortable great room (we had a twin room - very large)

- thin walls: try to get a room far away from the kitchen and bathroom
- no porridge :-(

All in all: I will come back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schtoeffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 316 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2011

In general it is a good hotel with clean toilets, bathrooms, bedrooms and linens were changed regularly. Breakfast is also good, but it would be great if there could be more options. The room i stayed is facing the street, so it was a bit noisy and with some very energetic neighbours next door, i was woken up a few times in the middle of the night.
May consider:
- giving free wi-fi
- giving free internet services
- more change of towels instead of bed linen
- providing regular dinner and lunch (not to be booked)

Room Tip: Don't go for the rooms facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tetemaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

The rooms were what you expect for a dorm -- bigger than we thought they'd be.
Location is great -- two tube stops just a couple of blocks away (Euston Square and Euston), and Russell Square is pretty close too.
There are three buildings, we stayed there at both the beginning and end of our trip, once at Tavistock (no elevator, beware) and Passfield.
It caters to a younger crowd so as you'd expect there was some late night noise, though much less than a much more expensive hotel in Bath we stayed at too.
Dorm food breakfast had lots of choices; good food considering it was a dorm and plenty of it. Friendly food staff. Chance to chat with other visitors and the students still staying there over break.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Would totally recommend this.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berkeley2TheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Pretty much what I expected from a nice student accomodation. Rooms are simple but feature everything you need (including a sink). Toilets and shower on the floor but seldom occupied. Toilets, shower, and rooms are all very clean (cleaner than I expected, actually). Biggest plus of course is very central location at an affordable price. Biggest minus - if you will - is it's very noisy because the walls are very thin. Slept very uneasy during the first night, then bought earplugs and slept like a baby the rest of the stay. Would definitely recommend it if you value cheap rate more than high end comfort and privacy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbf85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Was really disappointed but perhaps I am being unfair. If I'd known exactly what it would be like I was have been more prepared. It's basically student halls but a bit scummy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soojm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

I had flashes of nostalgia for my old halls of residence, staying at Passfield Hall - both good and not so good - but all entirely to be expected. The noise, random people sleeping in the common rooms and all the joys of sharing bathrooms with students are all part of the experience and if that bothers you - don't stay here.
However as other folks have noted, the rooms are not at all bad - our twin was large and clean. Also the location (with access to the most useful tube lines for sightseeing) is fabulous at this price. The included buffet breakfast was generous and good. All amounting to really good value.

Room Tip: Would recommend requesting an en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lunabetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

I stayed one night at Passfield Hall, choosing it because of its proximity to Euston Station. I paid 38 pounds for a simple, perfectly acceptable single room with ensuite shower. I had requested a quiet room on an upper floor. I got the top floor, but there was no elevator - older, less able customers should beware the stairs.

Check-in went smoothly, the student part-timers on the desk were polite, friendly and efficient. Hot water was fine, and the toilet was conveniently located right outside the door. My student neighbour returned at 11:00 PM and though she wasn't particularly noisy, the paper-thin walls meant I could hear every noise of her attempted seduction of a classmate.

I had a B&B package but as my train to Glasgow was at 5:30 AM, I had to sacrifice breakfast.

The location is great, shops and pubs minutes away. I spent the night watching football in a cosy little place round the corner from Russell Square underground.

It is not for those looking for frills or who want great service. I'd go back, for the price, the location, the lack of hassle. If you pack earplugs, you'll be fine.

Room Tip: T401 will give you only one neighbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpdv21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
#678 of 1,076 in London
177 reviews
Southwark
LSE Bankside House
LSE Bankside House
#473 of 1,076 in London
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
#69 of 946 in London
260 reviews
Covent Garden
LSE High Holborn Residence
Westminster
LSE Northumberland House
LSE Northumberland House
#187 of 946 in London
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LSE Passfield Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Passfield Hall

Address: Passfield Hall 1-7 Endsleigh Place, London WC1H 0PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 946 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $68 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Passfield Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Passfield Hall provides great value bed and breakfast accommodation in Bloomsbury. The hall boasts a unique mix of classic Georgian architecture and modern facilities in central London.Passfield is well-placed for the West End and all of the main attractions of central London. The British Museum and British Library are only a short walk away. Rooms at Passfield are available at Christmas and New Year, spring and summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your LSE Passfield Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passfield Hall Hotel London
LSE Passfield Hall London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing