We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Budget Hotel, Good Location”
Review of St. Mark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Mark Hotel
Ranked #937 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed June 13, 2012

If you're going to be using the tube a lot this is a good hotel, it is a two minute walk to the station and there's quite a few shops and fast food places (kfc, mcdonalds, subway) great for late nights after a day of sight seeing to be able to grab something and take to the room. The room was great, fridge, bed, tv, bathroom, the usual, the one fault I had was my room (ground floor directly next to the reception) had a broken lock, we we're told on the first day 'the lock is broken but will be fixed by tomorrow' as he had to let us into our room, but we spent the rest of our time there having to be let into our room. Especially annoying to my boyfriend, as a smoker he was in and out quite a lot and each time had to be let into the room by some one behind the desk. This was extremely annoying, other than that hotel was fine.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francescarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 345 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

Clean, friendly Staff, great facilities & we felt really safe. I was pleasantly surprised at the standard at this hotel all aspects of the hotel the staff were very helpful, the room was lovely I would defiantly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roballa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed here over the weekend in a family room with our three children aged 7, 5 and 7months. The room, sold to us as a family friendly room Venere.com, was down several small and awkward steps, forcing us to hitch up, carry and generally man-handle the buggy and all our bags in and out of the hotel. When we arrived there was a black bag of rubbish, a bag of dirty towels and linens and a vacuum cleaner (still plugged in the socket switched on and cables strewn across the floor) left in the narrow corridor.
In our room was a double bed, two singles and loads of black mould. The room smelt damp, carpet was damp to the touch and the bedding damp. I'm only grateful that I declined a cot and had baby sleep close in bed with me.
The worst thing was that there was black mould on the ceiling, across the skirting boards and up and across the window. The walls felt cold and damp and so we moved the bed our daughter (5) was sleeping in away from the wall, there was no surprise in finding mould all across the bottom of the wall.
I'll say that again - there was BLACK MOULD AROUND THE WINDOW, ACROSS THE SKIRTING BOARDS AND ON THE CEILING.
The bedding was clean, but as I have said it was damp and the heavy blankets (no duvets) felt cold and horrible. The bed was hard and there were only two pillows on the double bed.
Although the en-suite was modern in style, in the middle of the night the shower suddenly began to pour with water; we hadn't used it during our stay.
All in all it was an awful experience and probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. After an awful night's (lack of) sleep we left at 7.40am without trying breakfast; we just wanted to get out into the fresh air and as far away as possible.
It may have been budget, but the condition of the room was so bad it should not be let out at all until it is dried out and made safe - do not take your family to this hotel!

Room Tip: Room 9 not family friendly but damp and mouldy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CB03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

"London is stupidly expensive" this can adequately describe London ! so staying in this cheap & basic bed & breakfast makes it a bit more affordable ( alisaww i so agree with you ! ) .
Only 2 points for
1. Location, which situated in a quiet place in a very decent area (even though its less than 5 mins walk to the earls court tube station )
2. Cleanliness
the rooms are super small and its barely room to walk ,VERY small bathroom & shower ,there's almost no room for wash up if you are overweight ! ( recently renovated though )
breakfast was BASIC but fine ( boiled egg and slices of cheese makes a bit luxury !) and like everything else ,the breakfast room is so tight but still there's plenty of seats if you manage to be there before 9 .
THERE IS NO LIFT , so try to get rooms on lower floors or YOU'RE DEAD by small stairs !!!!
No more cheap hotels and definitely no more LONDON !

Room Tip: LOWER FLOOR rooms if you don't wanna be dead by stairs !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saniban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

London is stupidly expensive. Staying here made the trip a bit more affordable. The rooms were small - we had a double, a twin, and a baby cot (for our 2yo, ahem, baby). And there was barely room to walk. The carpets are pretty trashed. But you can't expect luxury for this price. The breakfast room was fine and hey, there was breakfast. The location is pretty darn unbeatable. Walk to Hyde Park easily, steps from Earls Court tube station, on the edge of the Chelsea - the wealthiest neighborhood in London. Nothing about the rooms grossed me out - were clean if worn. They weirdly seemed to try to add luxury by providing us with approximately 82 little packets of shampoo. Staff were fine, if not overtly friendly. Average place, great location, reasonable cost. We asked for a room on the bottom floor and got one.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alisaww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed in St. Mark's for 3 nights in Nov 2011. Stayed in a triple room which was located on the third floor. Please note there is no lift in this hotel yet personally I didn't find this a problem as we only had to carry our bags up the stairs once - on arrival, and then down again - on departure. So it wasn't a huge obstacle as previous reviews make it out to be!

Although compact, I found the room cosy with everything we needed for our short stay. It even had a fan which helped a lot when we felt a bit stuffy at night. The normal tea/coffee facilities were present in the room with the addition of a microwave and fridge. The bathroom was also compact but modern, and possibly only recently renovated.

The breakfast was very basic but we were aware of this on booking so it wasn't a surprise. We only had breakfast in the hotel on the first morning - basic cereal and tea and toast. Didn't have an issue with queues but others after us had to wait at the door for a table.On the other two mornings we opted to have a lie-in and instead got breakfast in a lovely pub at the top of Barkston Gardens Road called "The Blackbird".

The room was provided with new towels and linen each day, and the cleaning lady always greeted us in the hall.

Personally, the best thing I found about the hotel was the location. It was approx a 5 minute walk from Earls Court tube station which was great for getting around the city and various tourist attractions. And only a 3 minute walk from M&S and other various shops.

For those giving negative reviews it must be reminded that St. Mark's in Earls Court is not a leisure hotel but simply somewhere to sleep at night. We didn't spend much time in the hotel during the day, only slept there at night. If your planning a relaxing trip away in a nice hotel, I'd opt for somewhere more expensive.

But in light of this being a budget/basic hotel, it is by far a basic hotel of the highest standard. Knowing we had opted for a basic hotel, I found myself pleasantly surprised at how comfy and clean St. Mark's was, and this is possibly the reason I regard it so much. Ultimately, lower expectations gave rise to a pleasant and thoroughly enjoyable stay at St. Mark's, Earl's Court.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Orla23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We booked three nights at this hotel for a family with three adults and one child. Granted, it was a super cheap price especially for 4 people, however it fell slightly short of the mark.

For instance, the breakfast room was too small, and we had to wait to get a seat, but if you time it right you can get in. The breakfast consisted of cereals, orange juice, toast, cold boiled eggs and rubbery cheese. We noticed that the eggs were probably the ones not eaten from the day before too. There was tea and brewed coffee but it was of cheap quality.

The hotel staff barely spoke English and couldn't seem to take in what we were saying when I asked for more cups for our room.

My main complaint though is that the television in our room was unwatchable. It was a wide, flat screen tv and had 'satellite tv' but only if you speak in Arabic. It was tuned to a small selection of channels that I couldn't recognise. We complained about it to reception but the man just said it was the aerial connection. On our insistance he said he would speak to the manager about it, and try and take a look at it, the next day we noticed we had one of the main terestrial channels but it was snowy, like you were trying to watch using a coat hanger for an aerial.

There was a tv in reception which seemed to be tuned into CBBC ok and the one in the breakfast room was tuned into a music channel. So I don't understand why they had aerial problems.

Also the fridge in our room froze everything in it within a matter of hours. there was no temperature control on the fridge either.

There was a microwave, kettle and sink in our room which was great for preparing some food but no toaster as advertised.

The bathroom was modern and lovely, and the beds were comfortable (I slept well) and as the others have said there were plenty of sockets. The room was clean and serviced daily. It even had a telephone but no number for reception was given to call. There was also no welcome pack with hotel information.

The hotel was in a quiet, lovely street and close to shops, pubs and restaurants, Earls Court Road and the tube station.

This was the best thing about the hotel. Next time I think will pay a little more for better service and basic tv.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R0adtripJunk1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#747 of 1,081 in London
681 reviews
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#599 of 1,081 in London
1,047 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Windsor House Hotel
Windsor House Hotel
#983 of 1,081 in London
594 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#637 of 1,081 in London
363 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#746 of 1,081 in London
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Mark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mark Hotel

Address: Road, Earl's Court 4 Barkston Gardens, London SW5 0EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #937 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: $52 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Mark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Mark Hotel is situated on Barkston Garden in London's Earls Court district. The St Mark Hotel is a popular budget hotel in central London offering 25 guest rooms all with private ensuite facilities. The Hotel is located in the heart of Earls Court, giving hotel guests excellent access to central London, including Earl's Court Exhibition Centre and Olympia Exhibition Centre, making the hotel an ideal base for both business and leisure travellers to London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St. Mark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Mark Hotel London, England
St Mark London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing