We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Ranked #256 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I couldn't be happier about my decision to stay at The Grand at Trafalgar. The location was obviously fantastic, and the hotel was perfect for my needs -- the refrigerator and the water station in the hallway were both great. I was prepared for my room to be pretty mediocre, but it was perfectly nice -- definitely nicer than the rooms appear on the website. Other reviewers have noted that there's no real seating area in the lobby, but the bar just off the lobby has lounge seating that I never had a problem sitting in while I was waiting for someone, etc. And if you stay there to be in the middle of everything, there's no reason to spend much time in the hotel anyway.

A couple of notes:
(1) I randomly stopped at The Clarence, just around the corner on Whitehall, for lunch one day. It was so charming, and the butternut squash and brie "salad" (on wild rice and bulgur wheat) blew away my expectations about British food. I'd eat there every day if I could.
(2) As a runner, I loved waking up at the eastern edge of three parks. Every morning, I would run through St. James Park, Green Park, and Hyde Park, with very few street crossings except at Buckingham Palace (about six miles round trip).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillieinAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,573)
There are newer reviews for The Grand at Trafalgar Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

The grand is in the name only, though the lobby and the entrance is quite beautiful and extravagant; the rooms are small and functional, at least the room which I had. The location of the hotel is great, a few steps from the Trafalgar Square and Charing Cross station. The staff are a mixed bag, while some are very friendly and nice; others are somewhat surly and condescending. They offer free use of an iPad for the duration of your stay and that seemed like a nice innovation. The prices are reasonable by London standards.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Encouraged by TA reviews, we booked a short break in the least expensive room available (with 10% extra discount off Laterooms price by booking direct with hotel).

Good first impressions - palatial marbled late Victorian lobby area and a quick, friendly check-in by efficient, polite staff.

We checked in earlier than usual - 1pm - but were given a room immediately. Unfortunately, the room we let ourselves into (there's no porterage, it appears) hadn't been made up. A quick call to front desk brought an immediate upgrade and profuse apologies, and by the time we'd got back to reception they had issued new key cards - so it was a minor glitch, handled extremely well.

Our upgraded room was top floor, with penthouse-like rooftop views across the London skyline to the Houses of Parliament, London Eye etc. It was spacious and well presented, with a very comfortable bed and windows that actually opened (the whole hotel was on the warm side). It was everything we needed as a touring base, minutes from Leicester Square and a two-minute stroll to Embankment tube station.

Although billed as The Grand for marketing purposes, the establishment is operated by Club Quarters, an American business with city centre locations across the major US cities (and also in the City of London). It's not a traditional hotel concept (there are no dining rooms as such), rather more of a members' club offering accommodation and meeting facilities, but it's slick, well run and suited us.

Room rack rates are ridiculously high, but shop about and you'll probably get a deal around the £200/night mark or lower. And at that price, it makes a lot of sense in terms of location and quality of accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpiritOfViator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, easy to walk to Leicester and Covent Garden, Soho etc.
The room was very quiet, clean, beautiful furniture.
Front desk service was very good but the service at the bar not always very pleasant. If it is a bit past 9pm, they will not even tell you they are not serving any more -- although they have to be used to having a lot of continental tourists whose evening tend to start much later than the British ones...!
Other than that I highly recommend this hotel !

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Yolaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

...offer an apology to those who stayed close to room 226 in the morning on Wednesday 30th October. Ring a ding ding. Yes, I did set the fire alarm off early in the morning. In my defence, the only thing I was guilty off was having a shower. And leaving the door between the bathroom and the bedroom open for approximately 4.5 seconds.

If anyone from the hotel management is reading this - please follow the example of the Pestana Chelsea Bridge - they had a warning in the shower saying to keep the door closed as otherwise the fire alarm might go off. So simple, so genius. Thank you Pestana!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kjetil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights 29/10/13. What a great central location, everything within walking distance for most things, your not far away form train and tube stations.
Check in was easy. we had 2 rooms on the 6th floor but our rooms did not have any views, we looked out onto a light well, one room was a large room other was smaller, both had great showers free wifi, docking station for ipod/ iphone. you can control the heating in room form simple controls next to bed's. rooms were warm even with windows open. no noise could be heard form inside room.
on one day we had a meal in Boyd's Restaurant first class service from walking in till you leave Boyd's.
would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Take the one room suite more room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1chigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#176 of 1,072 in London
1,185 reviews
St. James's
The Trafalgar Hotel
The Trafalgar Hotel
#343 of 1,072 in London
2,740 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,072 in London
3,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand at Trafalgar Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Address: 8 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5BY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Luxury Hotel in London
#200 Family Hotel in London
#247 Business Hotel in London
#285 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $192 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand at Trafalgar Square 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand at Trafalgar Square is a full service hotel with 63 rooms located in the beautifully restored historic Northumberland House on Northumberland Avenue. Minutes to Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace and close to Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. The Grand at Trafalgar Square is the best value hotel based on quality and prime location. The Grand at Trafalgar Square provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 10 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 1000 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand at Trafalgar Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand At Trafalgar Square Hotel London
Grand At Trafalgar Square London
The Grand At Trafalgar Square London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing