We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uber good experience with family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Ranked #256 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We had 4 enjoying nights in a spacious room with fab sofabed for our 14 yo son, clean bathroom, location's fab, walking distance to train station, trafalgar sq, national gallery & shopping area eg. Covent Garden.. Staff are friendly & helpful.. And the most important thing is FOOD! No worries! They have Deliverance Room Service..we tried the indian food & it's fantastic! So tasty & good price..

Would be perfect if they up-dating their furniture with more brighter furniture so it will be more fun to stay! ;)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miraclemine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,573)
There are newer reviews for The Grand at Trafalgar Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

816 - 822 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

I had acquired tickets to a West End show as a Christmas present for my mother and stepfather, and wanted them staying somewhere central, to avoid them having to drive back late at night, or pay for taxis to a hotel in a non central location. Club Quarters was recommended to me by a business colleague, who said that it was the only place that he would stay when in London, both for location, and for their apparently faultless service.

My mother is rather particular about what she likes, so I did some research first, just to double check it's credentials. I needn't have worried. Both Mum and Stepdad absolutely raved about it!

Obviously they were lucky to have the Christmas tree in Trafalgar Square visible from their window, which they said only added to an already magical stay. They were apparently warmly received by 'the most charming American girl', who apparently went out of her way to show them to their rooms, give them directions, and offered to store their luggage the next day, when Mum decided shopping was on the cards!

They said the room was comfortable, quiet, Stepdad was happy to be able to watch sports on the large television the next day, and the bed met Mum's high standards too!

They dined in the in house restaurant, which they said was lovely, and when they returned later after the theatre said that again they were again greeted warmly, and asked how their evening had gone.

Mum was so thrilled that she wanted to write a review herself, but as she hasn't managed to get to grips with email yet, I have been entrusted to do so on her behalf! She apparently wants a repeat stay for her birthday in June.

Thanks Club Quarters, would certainly recommend, and might even treat myself to a night there, when I next have a late one in town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jakeyboy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I flew into London a day early before heading up to Cambridge for the week for work. I wanted a good nights rest, as I generally suffer from bad jet lag. This hotel was great!

I rarely reserve hotels through Orbitz, but, couldn't resist when I found a great deal for this hotel. I had a nicely sized corner room, with a very cozy bed. It's a bit noisy outside which is expected based on the location, but nothing to worrisome (just some vehicles).

The staff was efficient and competent. I had dinner in the hotel restaurant and had nice conversation with the bartender and other staff members. The food was forgettable, but, I had a nice wine by the glass. The music was good (down tempo/cool covers of pop songs) and the decor was modern and cool.

The location was great. I took a nap upon arriving (They allowed me to check in early, which was great since I was so tired) and after napping I took a casual walk down to Westminister Abbey and the National Gallery.

Oh, they also have a purified water machine in the hallway, which was nice. And free wifi.

The hotel is very nice though, and I'd surely stay again.

Room Tip: I always ask for a corner room, they're often a bit bigger. I stayed in 325, which was a bit noi...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We arrived @10 am and they let us check in straight away . Rooms are very clean and up to date . Have stayed here before. The only down side to me is the price of the breakfast but its only a short walk to Trafalgar Sq

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed 1 night at the hotel this week in room 221. Their Boyds restaurant was holding a private function, and there was a "Burns" night in another part of the hotel, so I had to eat in the Japanese restaurant down the corridor called "Watatsumi" which I give warning, they sneak a service charge on your bill. NOT ACCEPTABLE. Do not sit near their main door, as the cold air coming in, hits you full on !!! ( Brrrrrr, freezing). IF you pay your bill through your hotel bill you cannot get the service charge back,, The Hotel management should make you aware of Watatsumi charging a service charge, when you check in.. I informed the hotel receptionist, I would write my disappointment of Watatsumi, in this review
My room was great, the heating was controlled by a variable fan speed and temp control unit next to the bed, keeping the room warm. There was plenty of towels, bathroom shampoos, soap etc. The bed was really comfortable, everything was spotlessly clean. On the second floor there is a work station and break out area, if you want to use this for work time, or FREE internet access on their PCs. This Hotel has great free WIFI, at last a hotel not ripping me off for internet use.
I will stay here again, perfect location, to all central London and Theatres etc.

Room Tip: If you are going to the Theatres or simply coming to London as a tourist, this hotel is perfectly pl...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulandbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The location – Virtually right on Trafalgar square, access to 2 tube stations within minutes, easy walk to houses of parliament, Big Ben, Westminster, Southbank, Piccadilly Circus and Oxford Street. Lots of old (warm) British pubs around every corner.
The hotel – Large foyer with a nice bar, toilets playing Harry Porter e-books over the speakers (sounds strange but spent longer they I need to just to hear the end of the chapter)
The room – huge king size bed, clean, large bathroom 6th floor so a good view over south bank.
The service – fairly good, our room wasn’t ready on arrival which is always a pain, took a short walk around the area and had a drink at the bar. Our room had no bar fridge when we first arrived but the staff were quick to bring us one after little fuss.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomad_Axela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is the perfect London hotel. The location is just the best, literally just a few yards from Trafalgar Square and Charing Cross Station! The rooms are very spacious for London, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean with large comfortable beds. Ours also had tea/coffee making facilities and a 'fridge. The staff are very helpful and friendly and multi-lingual. There is also a very smart bar and restaurant serving great cocktails and superb food. What more do you need? Book it now!

Room Tip: All three of our rooms were perfect!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SRE51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#176 of 1,072 in London
1,186 reviews
St. James's
The Trafalgar Hotel
The Trafalgar Hotel
#343 of 1,072 in London
2,740 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,072 in London
3,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand at Trafalgar Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Address: 8 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5BY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Luxury Hotel in London
#200 Family Hotel in London
#247 Business Hotel in London
#285 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $192 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand at Trafalgar Square 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand at Trafalgar Square is a full service hotel with 63 rooms located in the beautifully restored historic Northumberland House on Northumberland Avenue. Minutes to Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace and close to Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. The Grand at Trafalgar Square is the best value hotel based on quality and prime location. The Grand at Trafalgar Square provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 10 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 1000 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand at Trafalgar Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand At Trafalgar Square Hotel London
Grand At Trafalgar Square London
The Grand At Trafalgar Square London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing