We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location for Tourists”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Ranked #246 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice Location for Tourists”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Booked 2 rooms of this hotel online based on tripadvisor reviews. Stayed 5 nights in late December 2012. The hotel is located in a very good location for tourists. Several museums nearby. Tube station is within 2 minutes walk. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Bus stop is in front of the hotel. Shops are plenty. Even Oxford street is within walking distance. The rooms are not big but okay for tourists. Wifi is free at an acceptable speed. Microwave in each room for easy meals. Laundy and dryer is available for free. Receptionists are very helpful. All is okay for tourists. Would stay there again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davida_Davida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    553
    199
    57
    37
See reviews for
309
688
118
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Grand during New Year's Week. It is amazingly situated. You are steps away from Trafalgar Square, Whitehall, the Mall, and the Strand. Covent Garden, the West End, and Regent Street are just a few minutes away on foot. You can get by without ever having to take the Tube, but two stops are right outside the front door (Embankment and Charing Cross) to take advantage of so you can reach the other sites of the city. Our room was comfortable and clean and the shower was always hot. The staff was very helpful, and Alex, one of the managers, went out of his way to make our stay all the better. We will definitely return to London and to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
378 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We decided to go the hog and pay for an excellent hotel in a fantastic location. We haven't really got the money but I wanted my adult daughter to have a good time due to her circumstances
The room was ok, nothing more. No hot chocolate, plenty of tea and coffee however. no biscuits.
The windows were awful, I trapped my finger badly but not wanting to spoil any thing did not complain.the fridge was not working. Surely it should have been checked beforehand. No gowns in bathroom.
Very noisy bedroom.
Only one lift was working and this was a real problem. We waited ages every time we wanted to go out etc. it was ridiculous.
Location was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suitcase0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here just before Christmas. It is an excellent location very close to both Charing cross tube and Embankment in a really quiet but safe street. It is a short walk to Westminster, the London Eye, Covent garden and Oxford Street We paid for an ungrade to the slightly larger room and it was worth it. The hotel staff were friendly and we were allowed to store our bags when we left. We arrived at 12 and our room was ready. It was nicely furnished and the free wi fi was a bonus, as was the free use of the computer and printer to book in for our return flight and print off our boarding passes.
I would definitely consider this hotel again when I return to London

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon,uk
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel is located right next to Trafalgar Sq, superb location and polite staff although they weren't interested when I mentioned our room was freezing. The heat control in room 314 simply didn't work, it blew cold air into the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plinthadenoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The location of The Grand couldn't be better! You are within blocks of two tube stations. Just a block to the National Museum and the National Portrait Gallery. It is about a 5 minute walk to Leister Square if you want to get half price theatre tickets! Most theatres are within walking distance. There are many restaurants in the area that offer pre- and post-dinner theatre dinner specials. Our room was on the 7th floor and we had views of Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament! The room was very functional and good sized by European standards. The staff was very helpful with information and making restaurant reservations. Every floor has water bottles and there is even an ice machine! I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here during May 2012 and booked the hotel for its location near several tube lines and ability to walk easily to Westminster, British Museum, and the South Bank. The hotel is cozy with nicely appointed but small rooms. The magnificent old building has a lot of charm and is warm and inviting. Staff is great. I had a lost bag delivered from Heathrow and the hotel staff went out of there way to make sure my luggage was back in my hands as soon as possible. Tea service at the hotel is a must, especially for out of country visitors. The only complaint during the stay was the thermostat did not work properly and the room stayed cold (if we had a longer stay we would of made a bigger deal about it). This hotel is perfect for tourists and you just cannot beat the price and location. I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#196 of 1,067 in London
1,123 reviews
St. James's
The Trafalgar Hotel
The Trafalgar Hotel
#361 of 1,067 in London
2,648 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,067 in London
3,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand at Trafalgar Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Property: The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Address: 8 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5BY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#182 Luxury Hotel in London
#200 Family Hotel in London
#247 Business Hotel in London
#285 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand at Trafalgar Square 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand at Trafalgar Square is a full service hotel with 63 rooms located in the beautifully restored historic Northumberland House on Northumberland Avenue. Minutes to Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace and close to Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. The Grand at Trafalgar Square is the best value hotel based on quality and prime location. The Grand at Trafalgar Square provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 10 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 1000 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Grand at Trafalgar Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand At Trafalgar Square Hotel London
Grand At Trafalgar Square London
The Grand At Trafalgar Square London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing