We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 miserable nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon
Ranked #336 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed over the last weekend of February and will never return to a Hotel Antoinette. The walls are like paper so every conversation (at 3am between drunken neighbours) can be heard. The room was cold, the bathroom draughty (the air vent a simple hole in the wall) and dirty. The shower screen was not fit for purpose and there was more water on the floor than in the bath. The positives were that we were on the top floor and there was no traffic noise and the bed was comfortable. As for the breakfast, the £8 pay in advance is a rip off. There was very little food available (admittedly we were not the first down, but nor were we by any means the last). When we got a table (just vacated) it was cleared by staff simply sweeping the debris from the previous guests onto the floor, and then being told we had to wait for food to be available (bread to make toast? Took 10 minutes to get some). On the second day we were told to share a table with another couple as there was no space for a table of our own. To finish with another positive, the off street parking is good - if you can get a space. Overpriced and underwhelming would be a generous description of this place.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank n b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison W, General Manager at Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear n b,

Thank you for your recent review, and I am sorry to learn that you did not have an enjoyable stay at Antoinette Wimbledon, which as you will see from previous reviews is not typical.

I am dissapointed to learn that the room allocated did not meet your expectations, but would like to assure you that had the issues with the room been brought to our attention an immediate room move would have been offered.

Please accept my apologies that on this occasion our breakfast provision did not meet our normal high standard, of quality and service. All items served at breakfast are replenished on a regular basis to ensure they remain fresh, and that hot dishes maintain their temperature. I understand that during this weekend the particular issues you raise, were as a result of a member of the restaurant team being unavailable for work, and a large group staying at the hotel unexpectedly dining.

I understand that you feel that you do not want to return but I would be delighted if you would contact me to arrange a return visit, so that you can see that your experience is very much the exception not the norm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 583 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

My intial impression was not good. When I arrived there was a group of musicians playing rather loudly in the lobby for a wedding party, which made it almost impossible to hear what the receptionist was saying. Could not the musicians have been in the the room where the reception was being held?
After getting out of the tiny lift, things got better. My room was small and simply furnished , but was clean and neat. After I had turned on the heating and air-conditioning the room warmed up. Who ever had had been in the room before me, had left the window wide open, not a good idea on a cold evening in February. In order to close it, it was necessary to climb over the bed to close it, which can be a bit tricky if you have to use a walking stick.
To get back to the room, the bed was comfortable, but I could have done with a second pillow, not just one pillow and a small cushion. The bathroom was very neat and clean with plenty of towels. Despite being on the front of the hotel, the room was relatively quiet.
We had a drink in the lobby. The young man who served us was rather off handed, and did not know how to make a simple drink like a vodka and tonic.
Breakfast the next morning was very good. plenty of choice and the waiter was very helpful and friendly and as I have to use a stick, was very good in helping me to carry things. He should be highly commended.
Overall my stay at The Antoinette was pleasant and the staff , helpful and friendly, apart from the one exception mentioned above. The hotel was reasonably priced for it's location and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison W, Guest Relations Manager at Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Christopher G,

Thank you for your recent review, and I am sorry to learn that some aspects of your stay were not to your expectations, which as you will see from previous reviews is not typical.

The hotel does on occasions cater for Wedding Receptions, and I can confirm that having musicians in the foyer was a special one off request.

Please be assured that had you requested extra pillows from housekeeping, these would have been arranged.

The hotel aims to achieve a high level of customer care, and I am dissapointed to learn that it was not delivered by one member of the bar team, but that you found a member of the restaurant team very helpful.

I am glad to learn that you wish to return, and as such please do not hesitate to contact me, so that I can personally look after your reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Over all it was a good hotel to stay in, if you are going to wimbledon theatre its just up the rd, warm rooms, clean and tidy. All you can eat breakfast full english and continnental friendly staff too. We had a room at the back so no traffic noise, We got back at 10 to midnight saturday and there was a wedding doo in the conferance room 2 floors down which we could hear ever word of every song it was very loud we figgered it would end at midnight which it did, if we had returned any earlier it would have been a big problem so might be worth asking when you book if there is anything going on in conferance rooms because you wont get any sleep till midnight if there is. I would definatly stay there again.

Room Tip: A rom at the back if you like windows open at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed overnight in a superior room the Saturday after New Year. Room cosy and quiet, looked out over roof terrace and car park so we could see the car too and it was nice to know it was safely off the street and behind a barrier. Didn't have breakfast there as we went to relatives nearby but had breakfast last time we were there (Dec 2010) and it was fine. The main thing that struck us was the staff who made everything seem easy, including night staff when we arrived back after midnight. Very friendly. Only minor quibble is that the lift is tiny, so one person plus a large bag fills it up, but at least there is a lift!

Room Tip: We chose a superior room as we had a standard before which was very small, facing out onto a fairly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hels38_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed there on the 19th January the room was lovely and breakfast was good too. On switching the lights on in the bathroom the rest of all the lights went out so went to Reception who sent someone up to fix it but had a problem getting into the cupboard, so straight away was upgraded to another room for the inconvience. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel is a good location if you need to get around London and they had their own car park so didn't have to worry about where to park the car overnight.
Would definately go back there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed there on the 13th January and had a very enjoyable stay. When i arrived i was quickly checked in. My room was clean and nice. I also attended a party in the function room which was very enjoyable. The food at the party was very nice. An all round good hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deant1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

First the good points - good location, comfy beds, sensible location of shower controls, friendly staff.
Now the bad - traffic and pedestrian noise, poor soundproofing between rooms, poor/average breakfast food.
We would go back there if we had to stay in the area again, but try to get room at rear of hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at front suffer from NOISE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harburybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
0.9 mi away
Wimbledon Hotel
Wimbledon Hotel
#709 of 1,078 in London
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Wimbledon South Hotel
5 mi away
Hotel Bosco
Hotel Bosco
#2 of 2 in Surbiton
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hotel 55
Hotel 55
#431 of 1,078 in London
410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South
4.7 mi away
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon T...
#7 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon

Address: The Broadway, London SW19 1SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Best Value Hotel in London
#244 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $85 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wimbledon's largest hotel, is located within walking distance of Wimbledon Station and South Wimbledon Underground. Journey time to London is 15 minutes, making it an ideal base for business or leisure. All rooms have air conditioning, plasma television, hospitality tray, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi access, and well appointed bathroom. Our Lambourne Restaurant offers modern British cuisine, and is open Tuesday to Saturday inclusive and offers a 20% discount to hotel guests. On other days a room service menu is in operation. A variety of room types are available to suit all budgets, including Superior Rooms with private balconies. Excellent value Weekend Breaks are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antoinette Hotel London
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing