We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chandos House
Ranked #68 of 572 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2009

I didnt originally put a review of this hotel on trip advisor because it is soo nice, and such a hidden secret when I want to stay again it will be full. But, this is a fab place so a little unfair to keep it myself. We got a deal for this on laterooms.com and what a bargain, the room was spacious, beautifully decorated and quiet. We had one of the more standard rooms in the downstairs but this did not effect the quality, nothing can be faulted with this hotel and Id definetly stay again

Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
Thank myheartistotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 143 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2009

This Hotel is linked to the RSM but other than the rooms being perfectly adequate and the great location, this really lets itself down. There is no room service and breakfast is cold. If you want a cooked breakfast you have to walk over to the RSM and there is an extra charge.

over priced for the service but if you need to be in central london its well located

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mae74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Stayed for 1 night midweek in August. It's in a good location, just off Regents Street & 5-10 mins walk from Oxford Circus. The thing I will say is that it doesn't feel like a hotel or BB, it's an unusual feel, which I can't put my finger on (not in a bad way). It felt more like a grand house which was having a lick of paint, which I found mid August to be a weird time to have decorators in! I wasn't sure which parts had/hadn't been decorated, it was difficult to tell as it was c300 years old so I could understand wanting to leave some character, but the stairs definately needed some attention.
The first room we were allocated was in the basement, (a nice modern room) with no air con or window which opened. It was far too hot, I asked if we could move to another room but was told I had to pay extra, I expressed my unhappiness to pay extra as I booked through 'Laterooms' & there was no warning to state the room was in the basement, which I thought unfair. No too happy but they agreed to move us to the 3rd floor for no extra. This room had air con & a window that opened, much better.
The 2 hotel receptionists were not warm or particularly friendly. The 'hotel' had a bar according to the details found in the room, but I never saw it & the hotel staff receptionists didn't offer any information at all other breakfast times.
For a midweek stay in central London, the hotel was fairly good value for money, it was clean,tidy.modern rooms & good location.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglishRose169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

I have stayed here several times when in London and it's a real undiscovered gem of a place. I believe it was one of Robert Adams' first forays into residential architecture and having been restored with the help from English Heritage it retains many of it's orginal features. Having stayed in several of the bedrooms ( but not yet in one of the two grand suites!) I know they are all individually decorated to a very high standard.

Despite being literally two minutes from busy oxford street and a stones throw from the theatre district it is a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle. We most recently stayed in November and it was wonderful not to have to jump a cab in order to struggle our christmas shopping back to the Hotel!!

Apparently there is many a bride that has been married here and I can see why, it has 4 fantastic chandeliered grand rooms and you can almost imagine the swish of a silk dress sweeping down the grand stair case.

We had a lovely break, and the staff were friendly but discrete. It felt like our very own country house in the centre of London.

I look forward to going back very soon.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank thatswhereiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: avoid room nr.5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rome-weary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pajarito_amarillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 38stefania1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#114 of 1,077 in London
766 reviews
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#16 of 1,077 in London
536 reviews
Fitzrovia
Astor Court Hotel
Astor Court Hotel
#604 of 1,077 in London
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
The Lanesborough
The Lanesborough
#15 of 1,077 in London
278 reviews
Marylebone
London Kings Hotel
London Kings Hotel
#51 of 572 in London
164 reviews
Marylebone
Park Avenue Baker Street
Park Avenue Baker Street
#107 of 572 in London
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandos House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandos House

Address: Chandos House 2 Queen Anne Street, London W1G 9LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 572 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $183 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chandos House is a traditional Georgian period townhouse from the 18th century and beautifully restored to provide central London accommodation at it's finest. The bedrooms and bathrooms offer the very best in hospitality, are luxurious and well presented, and some contain original fireplaces and period features. Chandos House has 17 individually designed and furnished bedrooms, including exceptionally large superior rooms to accommodate families and friends in an exquisite setting. All of our bedrooms and suites have flat screen colour televisions (with built in Freeview box), direct dial telephones, en-suite bathrooms, ample desk space, Wi-Fi internet, hairdryers, tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge with complementary still and sparkling water. Children are welcome; we have travel cots and extra single beds available on request. Inclusive within the room rate is a continental breakfast buffet which is served in the impressive Terrace Room with its high ceilings and Venetian style windows overlooking the walled Garden Terrace. We have a 24-hour reception team that are always available to help and assist you to ensure your stay is exceptional. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chandos House Hotel London
Chandos House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing