We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portobello House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$263
$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$288
$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$211
$193
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$243
$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$281
$238
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$175
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Belgrave(London)(Great Value!)
$160
$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$244
$167
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Nadler Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
$135
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveler rating
107
67
15
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
67
15
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsladbroke grovenotting hillboutique hotelclub king roomfour postertube stationyogurtboiled eggsminute walkno liftrooms are smallstayed here for one nightdefinitely stay here againthe ground floordouble bedfantastic locationhyde park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 204 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Truly a great bargain for London. I recently stayed two nights and was very pleased. The staff couldn't have been nicer and the room was comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was good and the bar scene was hip but relaxed. It is easy to spend a lot in London and to get little in return. Just the opposite at Portobello House.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank jkojkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I had meetings in London and stayed here overnight alone. What a fantastic welcome from everyone. I felt so looked after and nothing was too much trouble.

The room, and restaurant food were also excellent. Really looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janniharri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We rented a flat in Chesterton Road a few minutes walk from this pub so it became our local during our two week stay. Due to a week of snow and freezing cold, we felt this was a good nearby place to have dinner even though there are cheaper places further away in Portobello Road.
The staff were always friendly and efficient, even when there was another table of about 20 who arrived soon after us.
The menu was just right, not too fancy so the burger choice kept the fussy offspring aged 12 and 15 happy, whilst some more adventurous dishes kept the adults happy. The puddings were too good to resist especially the crumble.House wine was also pretty good. The Sunday lunch roasts are fantastic, especially the chicken which was huge!
I liked the atmosphere such as a cosy fire, black and white silent movies in the background and lots of people who looked liked Londoners not tourists!
I cannot comment on the hotel rooms though !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellsey2045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel is a little gem. The staff is lovely, service oriented and professional. Rooms are super clean, cosy, warm and you really feel at home. The staff is always ready to go the extra mile to make your stay perfect and to answer any of your needs. I would recommend this place without any hesitation!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have stayed at the Portobello House on a number of occasions in the past 12 months and we love it for its great bar and restaurant, very friendly service and clean and comfortable rooms. Loved the coffee capsule machine in the room - no tea though. Very well located (assuming Notting Hill is where you want to be) it's just a short walk from Ladbroke Grove tube, and a pleasant 5-10 mins on foot to Portobello market and the shops/cafes around Westbourne Grove. A very easy and short bus ride to Notting Hill Gate (or a 15 min walk).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews