We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, clean, personable and WiFi that works.”
Review of Portobello House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portobello House
Ranked #69 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I stayed at the PHH with my teenage son (brave, I know) for two nights. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. I travel quite a bit on my own and am quite cautious. I loved the area and getting around whether it was walking/tube/bus or taxi was a snap. We enjoyed walking Portobello Road, Ledbury and Westbourne Grove areas. We came back in the evenings to a bistro that was buzzing with local people, which made a nice change from the bigger hotels. A must for us was WiFi, which worked brilliantly throughout the hotel/bistro. The room we stayed in was not large, but it was decorated tastefully. HAIRDRYERS are available, you just need to ask at reception. (In a review I had read it stated that there weren't any) I will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mbluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 196 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2012

A lovely hotel and restaurant, Carlos and his team made us feel very welcome and treated us in a very friendly manner (very un-London). The prices are very reasonable and I shall hopefully be making another trip there in the very near future. We were there to see my younger sister and this place made us feel like nothing was too much trouble... I cannot recommend them enough, far better than the faceless 5 stars that will knacker your bank balance and make you feel unwelcome. Enjoy! I have submitted this same review to booking.com as it is how I feel about this great place.

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank Max F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This hotel is a gem! This is a boutique styled hotel. Services and cleanliness were excellent. Mostly, staffs went out of their ways to make us feel welcome. The owner Carlos even booked a mini cab for us. The only thing I recommend is it would be helpful if a blow dryer is provided inside the room.

We will be back for sure!!

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank meatballlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay here. The hotel is fantastic mainly due its friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely recommend to friends

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed here for one night recently and would definitely stay again. The decor is lovely and the room was immaculate as were all areas. The place smells brand new.
The staff were all really helpful and friendly and it's in a great position to just walk to Portobello Road a couple of minutes walk away. The bar down stairs also looks lovely-has a nice atmosphere.
I took my 17 year old niece and we had asked for a twin room but on arrival we had a double bed, which they apologised for profusely (one of the owners said it was a muck up by the booking agent online) we were also given two rounds of free drinks, in actual fact every single member of staff we met apologised. It's not a problem when things go wrong for me as long as they rectify it and are gracious about it which they were.
The bed and pillows were really comfortable also- lovely fresh white linen ( no chintz anywhere in site) I get a bit tired of hotels saying they are boutique hotels when they most definitely aren't - this is a boutique hotel, even down to great lighting,lampshades/wallpaper etc.

The breakfast was fine ( choice of croissant/toast/cereal/fruit salad) although the Happy Shopper yoghurt didn't look very appealing. It saved looking for a cafe for breakfast.
Great place though and we didn't want to leave.
Another reviewer said it's noisy at the front of the building, this didn't bother us at all - It's London, we wanted life and if the windows were double glazed it would wreck the look of the place. It was great looking out the window - people watching.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debo66buster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

With a lack of suitable establishments for in our area to enjoy a Sunday lunch with my rarely seen siblings and mother who still lives locally we decided to visit the revamped Portobello House. What struck me immediately was how much it had changed from the old pub I remember when from my youth.

The atmosphere was welcoming, the staff friendly and the modern decor was finished with a vintage touch. There was 10 in our group and we were asked to wait for a couple of minutes whilst the manager organised a table for us. By the time we got everyone through the table was ready and one of the waitress' had colouring sheets and crayons for the kids.

As highly anticipated we were offered a selection of meats, most of us went for beef, which was an excellent cut and very succulent. We did not have to wait very long at all and the soft and fluffy yorkshire puddings went down well with all.

Overall, we had a fantastic time and the manager and staff were attentive and looked after us very well. we will happily return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Have visited this establishment 4 or 5 times. Whether we dine, snack or take a cheeky drink,
always made to feel most welcome, swiftly served and leave content :)
Great staff and delicious seasonal dishes... complements to the chef.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claudiav282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Notting Hill
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#478 of 1,077 in London
192 reviews
Travelodge Wembley
#463 of 1,077 in London
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#394 of 1,077 in London
208 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#286 of 1,077 in London
1,714 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#354 of 1,077 in London
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello House

Address: 225 Ladbroke Grove | Notting Hill, London W10 6HQ, England (Formerly Earl Percy Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $146 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portobello House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Portobello House in Notting Hill, Hotel, Bar & BistroThe Historic Landmark that is the chic Portobello House Hotel has 12 brand new totally re-designed charming boutique bedrooms, with a Felliniesque cocktail bar and gourmet bistro. Portobello house welcomes people from all around the world with a friendly smile and a complimentary glass of bubbly or a famous Portobello House Cocktail. It is situated in Notting hill near the famous "Portobello Road market" with all its colourful buzz and artistic counter culture. Take a leisurely walk to nearby elegant Kensington Palace gardens, once the home of Princess Diana, then a stroll through Hyde Park to the Royal Albert Hall for a concert. With a good night's sleep in our wonderful Millbrook beds you will wake up in one of the most unique, eclectic and fun parts of London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Portobello House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portobello House Hotel London
Portobello House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing