We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and delightful”
Review of The Penn Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Penn Club
Ranked #439 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The Penn Club is quiet and delightful, and it has a small, nice library with comfortable chairs. My bedroom had adequate space and was quite comfortable. It and the bathroom were very clean, with adequate supplies. Hair dryers can be obtained at the desk.The written information in the room was very helpful in describing restaurants and facilities in the neighborhood.

As disclosed on its web site, the rooms do not contain televisions or mini bars. There is a common sitting area on the street level, with a television and newspapers. A computer is available for use of the guests.

The breakfast room was pleasant and bright. The breakfast was ample and tasty. After breakfast, the room was available for use by the guests. It was a good place to meet other quests and to use the table space for various projects. Several guests brought in lunch and dinner from nearby places to eat there.

The Penn Club is located on a short street in Bloomsbury, conveniently near the British Museum, many small restaurants, and Russell Square. I found Bloomsbury to be a nice area, within easy walking distance to many London sights and with good transportation connections. The British Library and several train stations (King's Cross, St Pancreas, and Euston) are an easy walk from The Penn Club. For example, we walked to Covent Gardens and The City. A bus stop also is located on Bedford Place across from the hotel and several underground stops are near.

I enjoyed the quiet, comfortable ambiance of the Penn Club. I have recommended it to several friends and I will return when I am next in London.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruppbenn_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 178 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

A good place for alone female to stay good served breakfast newspapers etc.
Your own entrance key .,nice and central.its run by the quakers but you donot have to be one in order to stay there, you can also become a member for a small annual fee which gives you priority booking.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 68teapots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

For a comfortable, friendly stay in Central London, The Penn Club is simply the best. Ample and delicious breakfast is included in the price.We enjoyed an en suite bedroom on the first floor -- and do note there is no lift. While the combined buildings are a bit idiosyncratic, the common rooms are welcoming: quiet library with plenty of reading material, lounge with TV, and dining room available all day for noshing (bring in your own foods, they have microwave and utensils) or working at your computer. Great place to meet other interesting travelers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gretchen_Friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I needed somewhere to stay in London during a weekend in December. This was the cheapest accommodation that I could find that wasn't in a hostel and was in a central location. I stayed in a budget single room without an en-suite. It was perfect!

The room was spacious and very clean. The bed was comfortable. I slept really well.

I was travelling alone and felt safe in the area and in the hotel. I was a bit concerned that I could leave my luggage during the day, but it wasn't locked up. But, it was fine. Be aware if you are leaving anything really valuable you might want to pay at a left-luggage facility somewhere.

I was a bit apprehensive about sharing a bathroom, but it was absolutely fine. The bathroom was just a few doors down from my room and it was fine - perfectly serviceable and clean. There were only a few people sharing each bathroom. At this point in my stay, I was quite happy with the room and the hotel.

But, the Penn Club really shines at breakfast time. I loved that I could sit on a long table with other people who may like to chat. This was a lovely way to make friends over breakfast. If you want to sit quietly, there were lots of other smaller tables available. There was a lovely friendly and peaceful atmosphere at breakfast time. The food was also good, a traditional english breakfast cooked to order.

This will definitely be my first choice when I visit London in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hollymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stumbled on this great place to stay. Our en-suite double was cozy and clean. The other person in our group had a lovely single en-suite with a big bathroom. The breakfast was simple and decent. One of the delights is theCadbury Room, a quiet place to read and relax after a day of sightseeing.

The rates are reasonable and the staff pleasant. As a Quaker facility the Penn Club tries to put those values into practice.

This is not the place for people who want minibars and tvs (there is a tv room and no phones or tvs in the bedrooms). It is a great place if you want a charming, safe, centrally located place to stay in DC.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

In my experience this is the only place to stay when in London. It meets all reasonable requirements...its clean (spotlessly so) warm, centrally situated, well appointed (without the ghastly tackiness of corporate hotels), its affordable,and it serves a splendid breakfast ! So far so good, but the Penn Club also scores heavily on the humanity of hospitality. Walking in here you now that you are amongst friends (many of them members of the Religious Society of Friends, so literally amongst Friends). There is a wonderfully respectful atmosphere, guests are individual and varied, but all seem to share a mindfulness of the needs of others. Therefore, don't expect shrieking and braying laughter, loud music, or alcoholic revelry. Enter the Penn Club and find yourself in a world of good manners, good behaviour and gentle charm. It's wonderful and is valued by its many returning guests. As always, sincere thanks to the management committee and the staff...this is a treasured place in central London.

Room Tip: All the rooms at the back of the hotel are quiet, they overlook the garden, but the absence of TV an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank portliberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The Penn Club is the most peaceful, charming and welcoming place in London. How can you be in the heart of London and not hear any traffic noise? Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable and overlooked a lovely garden. Breakfast was superb - beautifully presented by discreet staff and was delicious and plentiful. This hotel was a little pricey for our v. budget travel but I just had to indulge in the Quaker experience as it is my heritage. This is a squeaky floorboard type hotel that Miss Marple would feel very much at home in. Love it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank babyteal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#366 of 1,077 in London
836 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thanet Hotel
Thanet Hotel
#535 of 1,077 in London
349 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#80 of 1,077 in London
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#555 of 1,077 in London
566 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#566 of 1,077 in London
339 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#655 of 1,077 in London
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penn Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penn Club

Address: 21-23 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#293 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $109 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Penn Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Penn Club Hotel London
Penn Hotel London
The Penn Club London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing