We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penn Club, excellent value”
Review of The Penn Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Penn Club
Ranked #537 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

London is very expensive. My husband researched Friends accommodations, and based on the website we booked. The Club is in an excellent location (one tube ride from LHR), close to many fine amenities, and very quiet. It was clean, homey, comfortable, and very well kept. Each morning we enjoyed a full breakfast, cooked to order, and used the fridge and microwave to prepare lunches and simple dinners, which we ate in the dining room. We booked a double ensuite and were given a spacious first floor room overlooking a well kept, quiet garden. We go to the UK every year to visit family and friends, and decided we would apply for membership.

Room Tip: Yes, back rooms are quiet, but so is neighborhood. No lift, so take that into consideration.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank marie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for The Penn Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 158 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

If you want wifi, t.v. or luxury, don't bother this one. But if all you want is a very comfortable bed, a powerful, hot shower, a friendly place to stay and a great breakfast at a great price (breakfast included) in Bloomsbury, do choose this one. (Cheaper still if you're happy to share a bathroom.) Based on Quaker principles, this is a lovely, peaceful place to stay (noise to a minimum in the lounge - and no expensive bar) and a perfect location. We loved the lack of extras, the 'freebies' for which you always pay a premium in other hotels, so remember to take your own shampoo! Yet, you can make as much tea as you like at no extra cost, and yes, there are tea/coffee making facilities in the bedrooms. You get a key to the front door, so you can come and go as you please.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook a little garden as opposed to the ones overlooking the main road. We chos...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Was in London for a business trip, but hubby was going to be sightseeing; as expected he spent a good bit of time at the British Museum, so this location was ideal. The conference hotels were quite a bit more expensive and the reviews were scattered, the reviews for The Penn Club indicated it was clean and quiet which we absolutely found to be the case. The room was quite large and was very clean; was on the first floor a bit far from the entrance so a little cumbersome to get too with our luggage. Our room overlooked a garden and except for the noise from the extractor in the bathroom was very quiet. The beds were okay, not the most comfortable on the trip, but not the worst. Is not a phone or as far as I saw an alarm clock in the room, so glad I had my phone to wake me up in time for my meeting. Also, did not notice a hair dryer, but did not look very hard either.

We did the breakfast one morning and although there was a good selection, the quality was only okay - scrambled eggs not good, fried eggs okay, lots of toast, nice fresh fruit. We left a bit of the food on our plates and that seemed to draw some nasty looks from others. It is included in the room price, so if you are on a budget worth a try. My husband spent some time in the common room one night watching TV with some other guests and had a nice experience.

Although everything was mostly as expected, my one real complaint was the service. I understand it is not a hotel and I was not expecting to have beck and call service. Still, I would have expected at least some common courtesy. We had a morning train arrival and wanted to do some sightseeing before my conference began, so headed straight to the club. I fully expected to just leave the luggage, but said we were there to check in as frequently the rooms are ready and they will let you go ahead and check in, this seemed to draw some ire, but they did allow us to leave our luggage - other guests had done so too. Was checked in by another staff member who was a wee bit nicer, but still did not feel like we were a welcomed guest. That evening, I stopped by to ask if they could call a taxi and again the response was not very pleasant like I was asking for some herculean task, she did say it was easy to catch one outside; not upset that they didn't do it, just in the way they responded to my request. They did do me a favor the next morning, so it wasn't all bad. Oh, and a tip, be very careful with your key, they are real keys (not electronic) and require a room deposit (5GBP each set), if you lose it, you have to pay 25 GBP - one poor lady had that happen while we were there.

Overall it was a nice place to stay, very spacious rooms - especially for London, very convenient and a good value. If you might be a high maintenance traveler, not the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank greenmelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Penn Club Has the calm of its Quaker connections. There is a simplicity in its basic rooms and a simplicity in its breakfast in a dining area free of mobile noise. The public areas are not areas for the chatter of our mobile society. The Reading Room is a haven in which to relax. Penn Club is very conveniently placed for travel from Russell Square - a station on the direct line to Heathrow. Bloomsbury is a fine area to experience London style and the British Museum is around the block. Great walks in the area and it is a comfortable walk to London landmarks such as St Paul's and central London. Penn Club is a bargain in the expensive metropolis.

Room Tip: Budget is on top floor. No lift. This is clearly set out when booking on line. If you choose shared...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hubert1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you're turned off by multi-national hotel chains with expensively crafted "mission statements", then here's one place that genuinely delivers what it promises: "The Club’s purpose is to provide premises in central London for the enjoyment of members and guests; and to foster a spirit of fellowship in accordance with its Quaker ethos ... Our employment and purchasing policies reflect our Quaker association. We seek to encourage community whilst respecting the individual’s privacy." Although it's a members' club, anyone can stay there.

And that's it. It's very well placed - 10-15 minutes' walk from Euston and King's Cross; two minute's walk from Russell Sq tube (for Heathrow). Popular tourist destinations such as Oxford St, West End theatres, Trafalgar Square, even the Houses of Parliament are all within walking distance for an averagely fit person. There are public gardens close by.

The accomodation is basic but comfortable (don't expect air con). The club has an 'interesting' internal layout (two buildings joined together, four floors, no lifts). The only meal served in breakfast, "full English". It's not a gourmet dining experience, but you won't go hungry either.

What makes the Club special is its atmosphere. It's a very 'safe' place for solo travellers. If you want company, then the Club provides subtle ways to bring people together; if you want to be left to yourself, then your wishes will be respected. It's a peaceful, genuine place, where hospitality means much more than teaching the staff to smile and say "Have a nice day" at every opportunity.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jpmcc_ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have been staying in The Penn Club on and off for the last ten years. It's really good for solo travellers as it's reasonable rates, friendly, quiet, very clean and located in my favourite London location. I stopped staying for a couple years because I couldn't negotiate the stairs and preferred to find a hotel with lifts (and air conditioning in the summer). I've returned now that I can manage the stairs again. However, note that there are two rooms (for two) on the ground floor you can request, and I book these when visiting with my elderly mother. I prefer a single, all of which, I believe, are upstairs. You can always get help with your bags on arrival to get to your room. You usually need to book well in advance, but it's always worth a try.

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side are quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RosaBonheur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

No carpet on the floor, many shared, old fashioned bathrooms (and some en suite). No carpet on the floor, just a rug by the bed, and very simple furniture. The resident's lounge has mandatory silence for a period each evening, and also a simple quiet worship and prayer service.
The huge full English breakfast (or kippers, or smoked haddock), is probably the best breakfast in London.
If you want a quiet oasis of calm whilst visiting London, use the Penn Club. But if it is summer, and hot, you might like to ask for a room at the rear, as Bedford Place has quite a lot of traffic noise, and a lot of student accommodation.

Room Tip: rear rooms are quieter, higher floor rooms are quieter (but there is no elevator!).
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Leiden_food_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#304 of 1,072 in London
820 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thanet Hotel
Thanet Hotel
#498 of 1,072 in London
344 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#566 of 1,072 in London
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
#605 of 1,072 in London
259 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#77 of 1,072 in London
1,782 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#509 of 1,072 in London
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penn Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penn Club

Address: 21-23 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#294 Business Hotel in London
#358 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $121 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Penn Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Penn Club Hotel London
Penn Hotel London
The Penn Club London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing