We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel and Perfect location to visit London.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Plaza County Hall London
Ranked #241 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 13, 2009

I am just back from 4 days in London. I have chosen this hotel as it was close to many attractions. A small criticism, at our arrival, we were affacted the room 115 but that it was not ready, we have left our luggages and came back at around 13h50. At that time, we were told again that our room 115 was not ready and to wait an additional 30 minutes. At 14h20 , the room was still not ready (no linen ..), I told them that the fact that there were no linen was not an issue for us since we intend only to go to the room to see it , to deposit our luggages and then to go out to start our visit of London. They agreed to give us the keycard .... and when we arrived at our room, the room was ready with Linen and nobody in the corridor so I can imagine that the room was ready since a certain time. May be an Internal coordination problem. But except this, I was really satisfied and the staff was really pleasant. When I booked, I have asked for a quiet room and the room I was provided was really quiet. We enjoyed the English breakfast ;-). The hotel is well located, close to many attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cobalt06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,857 - 5,863 of 7,565 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2009

Stayed here five nights with two young children. Hotel is literally right around the corner from the London Eye, Aquarium, Parliament and Thames River. Was a little skeptical after reading some earlier reviews, but hotel seems to have responded well. Rooms were comfortable and of standard European size. Our rate included breakfast, which was well stocked; although arriving early is better than late. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We upgraded to a larger room upon arrival and had an incredible view of the river and London Eye. Tube station was very close, so travelling to other parts of London was a snap. Woudl definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TechSMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We have just returned from a couple of nights at the Park Plaza. We arrived too early to check in so registered our details with reception. When we arrived at 2:15pm the queues for reception were horrendous so we went for a drink in the very over-priced hotel bar (£7+ for a pint and half of lager!!). The room we were originally checked in to must have been taken and I waited for about 10-15mins while the receptionist looked for another room. We were eventually allocated another room which when we got to it had not been cleaned! We returned to reception and were upgraded to a suite straightaway. I did however find all the staff extremely helpful and friendly which seems to contradict other reviewers experiences.

The room itself was really nice, modern and very clean. We had the full English breakfast which was also very nice. We went to breakfast at 08:30am on the first day and at 10:00am on the second day but did not have to queue on either occasion as seems to have been a problem in other reviews. We found the breakfast area to be clean and both times the tables had been cleaned throughly and re-laid ready. We did not find the lifts to be a problem either which seems to have been a niggle for a few reviewers.

The location of the hotel is fantastic. Given the fact it's next to Waterloo station I expected to hear some noise but we never heard a thing. The london eye is literally within minutes walk and the Houses of Parliament and Big Ben are a 5mins walk across the Thames.

Despite the initial glitch we experienced with getting a room I would return to this hotel as overall we hade a really good stay and the location is fantastic for the sights of London.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

I stayed there with my 2 teenage children for 2 days in August. On arrival all the front desk staff were professional, however, they were all foreign and could have been slightly more friendlier/helpful. Had they asked if we needed any help with our stay or advice on where to locate outside amenities I would have felt much more relaxed as this was my first trip to London.
The hotel is very modern and was of a clean standard. We didn't have the best of views but were told after our stay if we had wanted a view looking towards The London Eye etc they would have been happy to move us had one been available, they said the next time we stayed to ask in advance for the view of our choice which is good.
Our room was a studio room which was very nice and quiet. It had an open room with a double bed, wardrobe and plenty of mirrors. There was a kitchen area next to it with a sink , fridge, mini bar, microwave, tea/coffee facilities, ironing board etc. Next to this was a living room area which doubled up as another bedroom (Settee was a sofa bed). There was a TV and internet access for a fee but was free down in the public areas of the hotel. Opposite the kitchen area was the bathroom which was very modern and nice. There was a bath and a separate shower. In the living area there is a temperature controller and air conditioning. My only problem with the room was that it was quite dark due to the location of being opposite another hotel being built blocking out the sun at the front of the hotel, which would have been rectified had I asked for a room looking out the back of the hotel.
We had breakfast both days which had an extensive selection of choice, it was served up till 10.30am on weekdays and 11am at weekends. Breakfast was expensive at £13.50 but as children ate for free it was worth it.
The hotel is in a great location. The London eye, Westminster Bridge, House of Parliament / Big Ben are just around a couple of corners. Also, a 24hr shop, cafes and restaurants. Waterloo overground station is just over from the hotel and the nearest underground (tube) station is Westminster which is at the end of Westminster Bridge. You can also catch a boat there for a boat trip down the Thames. Carrying on from the bridge Downing St is nearby and it is easy to make your way to Buckingham Palace from there. From the bridge makes a nice walk to Trafalgar Square etc with lots to see. We went to see the musical Wicked in Victoria which I would recommend. We caught the tube from Westminster to Victoria which was very easy to use and only took a couple of minutes. Children under 12 can use the tube for free.
I would recommend visiting Soho/Chinatown where there are a range of alternative shops/bars/restaurants, however in Soho look out for pickpockets as there are random people on one side of the street signalling to their friends on the other side which tourists they think look like an easy target. Oxford St has a massive range of shops and there are information officers you can stop if you need help/directions etc.
All in all London was a fantastic city with beautiful architecture and endless options of what do do and see, made all the better by the excellent location of the Park Plaza County Hall.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morvyDundee_Braemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Just got back from a couple of days in London staying at this great hotel,top of my list the hotel was clean,staff were very friendly and the welcome pack for my little boy was a nice gesture which he loved.Breakfast was very good and the locality to Waterloo saved a fortune in taxi fares. Would definately recommend and we will be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewForestMrsW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We stayed at the Park Plaza for six nights in July 2009. On arrival we found we had been upgraded to a junior suite which was an excellent surprise. The suite was really two rooms, a bedroom ( nearest the entry door, oddly enough ) and a living room. The suite was outfitted and decorated in a subdued hi-tech design with two flat screen TVs, a microwave, iron, kettle etc, all in stainless steel. We had a view over County Hall to the London Eye ( the top of it anyway ) and for the hotel location ,next to a main road and Waterloo Station, the room was very quiet.

The problems? None of the front desk staff seemed to be native English speakers and several wore "Trainee" badges so it was hard to get checked in quickly. Our room wasn't cleaned one day by the time we returned at 4m and on our way out at 6pm we reminded the front desk people of this , however it still had not been done when we got back at 11pm that night. An email asking the location of the nearest tube and mainline rail stations wasn't answered either ( for the record the nearest tube is Westminster ,although this means a walk over Westminster Bridge, and Waterloo mainline is next door ) but for what we paid and the location, these are minor quibles. We didn't take the breakfast option due to the cost and the reported long queues ( even the hotel advised that there were long queues on weekends ) but with a microwave and kettle in your room plus daily supplies of decaf and normal coffee and tea from the hotel, all you need to do is buy a box of cereal bars from any Sainsburys, Tesco or Marks & Spencer mini store or some croissants and you have your own in - room breakfast service for next to nothing.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beruang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as we were doing a wine tour nearby. It is very centrally located and our room (on 12th floor) had absolutely superb views of Big Ben and the London Eye. The room was very light (two floor to ceiling windows) and was also very clean and modern. The bathroom was quite small but very clean.
There were however a few 'niggles'. The lift system (there are three lifts) all seem to have a mind of their own and do not work together so you find yourself waiting ages for a lift (average of 15 minutes each time) and when they did arrive, they were often full! Breakfast was also a let-down. The floors and tables were filthy - food had been dropped all over the place and the tables were obviously not wiped down when one sitting left and another arrived; it was also very packed so you had to wait for a table (there were signs advising people to avoid peak times which we did but still had to queue). The food was not good at all- watery, undercooked bacon and sausage and lack of alternatives.
The staff on the reception desk were not very friendly and also spoke too quickly (most were foreign) so it was difficult to catch what they were saying.
The fan in our bathroom was very noisy and could not be turned off which was irritating and kept us awake.
The rooms are soundproofed so apart from the problematic fan, the room would have been very quiet which in London is unusual as you generally expect to hear traffic noise, sirens etc.
I would however recommend this hotel - good value for money and overall it was a good experience - there are just a few things that require attention to make it a better, more pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dewar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#163 of 1,076 in London
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza County Hall London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza County Hall London

Address: 1 Addington Street, London SE1 7RY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in London
#55 Spa Hotel in London
#82 Business Hotel in London
#89 Romantic Hotel in London
#114 Family Hotel in London
#179 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $174 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza County Hall London 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza County Hall London is conveniently located on the south side of the River Thames near Waterloo Station and is next to London's County Hall, home to several attractions, including the London Sea Life Aquarium. The hotel is within minutes of a number of local attractions, including the London Eye, Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. Our London accommodation features modern guest rooms, six well-equipped meeting rooms with natural daylight, restaurant & bar, an Executive Lounge and a fitness centre. Choose Park Plaza County Hall London and see what makes us one of the top Waterloo hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza County Hall London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza County Hall London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Park Plaza County Hall London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing