We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best concierge!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Plaza County Hall London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Plaza County Hall London
Ranked #215 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Zagreb Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best concierge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2008

We stayed in Park Plaza County Hall for 4 beautiful days in our Junior Suite celebrating engagements and birthday! Everything was perfect: the suite, breakfast, well, hotel in general! They have the best concierge we ever met! His name is Gary and he really helped us a lot during our stay in London, but the most important thing is that he always has a smile on his face and a friendly approach. He's one of the reasons why we will definitely come back to this hotel each time we're visiting London! We would also like to thank Front Office Manager, Ms. Sarah Hoare for upgrading us in Junior Suite and Executive Lounge. Great lady! Park Plaza County Hall is definitely a hotel to recommend, not only because of its great location (Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and London Eye are right behind a corner!) but also because of the friendly approach which can’t always be seen! Someone once said that English people are cold???

  • Liked — Concierge
  • Disliked — Everything was perfect!
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Skenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,877
    2,187
    551
    207
    124
See reviews for
3,053
1,755
199
1,004
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,067)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2008

We stayed at this hotel through a coach trip, it was our first wedding anniversary, so I contacted the hotel to ask how much it would be to have a bottle of champagne in the room when we go there. I received a reply more or less straight away to say that they had given us a complemetary upgrade to a junior suite and a bottle of champagne. True to their word we had a suite, no bottle of champers though but a half bottle of red wine. Couldn't fault the hotel, others had commented that they had to wait for the lifts and for breakfast, we didn't have these problems. I think that if you get to breakfast early enough there isn't a problem. Drinks are expensive in the bar.

  • Liked — Location, view from room
  • Disliked — Bar expensive
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2008

I stayed at the Park Plaza County Hall from Sept. 1 - 4. The room was small based upon US standards, however was well kept and the bed was comfortable. The best thing was the extremely convenient location - 2 blocks to the London Eye, close to Parliament/Big Ben, and just down the street from the Waterloo tube station.

The staff was generally extremely helpful, particularly the bell staff. Everyone was friendly and I felt that our comfort was important to them.

The one less than satisfactory experience I had was when my wife and I were sitting at the bar to get a drink, it took approximately 10-15 minutes for someone to acknowledge us (and it wasn't busy). This could have been a "one off" instance, however it didn't leave a good taste in my mouth.

Overall - I would recommend the hotel. The size of the room wasn't a big factor as we were out and around most of the time anyway.

  • Liked — Convenient Location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sactown5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2008

We stayed 2 nights , 2 rooms. Our room was a suite , which strangely we walked into the bedroom, then a narrow galley kitchenette( which was well appointed with tea stuff, microwave and service for 2 people) and then to the living room area which had a sofa bed and another plasma TV. Modern decor , sleek lines, very Ikea like, (blond wood, white, glass, padded headboards)
Kids room across the hall was a basic room , not sure its listing on the website, but just a basic room facing in to the atrium of the hotel. I would avoid this type or room and tried to get it changed but hotel was full so they could not.( We were willing to pay for it.) The room decor was fine, of the same calibre as the suite but it was literally like a shoebox. Absolutely tiny . I have travelled to Europe every summer for the last 10 years and am aware that rooms are smaller than in North America, but this was ridiculous.

Our room faced Waterloo Station so no view and was on the 3rd or floor. We had requested Upper floors and view and as I booked 2 rooms I hoped we would get it , but young lady at check in was not very pleasant. Check in was excrutiatingly slow. and there had to have been a bus load of people waiting. I think this has become a cruise line hotel as there were many cases with tags of the various lines. I have no issue with this as were taking a cruise a week later , but considering the number of people the hotel should have more or better trained staff.


We arrived at 12 noon, but rooms were not ready so went for a stroll and some lunch and received rooms at 3.30pm.Young man who handed us the keys was much nicer .
rooms were very clean and bathroom well appointed. We did not find the beds too hard, but I they are firmer than most peoples .Internet in our room was awful. Slow, kept disconnecting and it took 4 calls to front desk before a tech was sent hours later to try and sort it out and to boot we were overcharged for it and had to argue the point on checkout.

Many of staff in bar, restaurant and housekeeping were Eastern European, or so it seemed. certainly the ones we encountered were. They were very pleasant but communicating especially with housekeeping was difficult. Also housekeeping on our floor left their carts in the narrow passage outside our room for the entire 48 hours we were there. A fire hazard as one had to squeeze by them each time. Despite asking her to move it at the end of her shift she would not. the carts stayed across from our door for 2 days. Front desk was of no help either in resolving this.

Concierge: Needs a great deal more training and supervision. On more than one occasion while sitting in reception, I noticed him busy on the computer or writing while guests stood for a good few minutes before he even deigned to look up and acknowledge them.

Location: Fantastic. Close to Waterloo and Westminster stations , both having excellent connections.Area is lively at night.

Price: 110 pounds including breakfast. Excellent value for London.

Breakfast: A good spread. Staff polite but sloppy slow service. It was very busy the 2 days we were there and being that many were new ,they were a bit overwhelmed .
Bar: Lively at night. Service slow but polite.

I am not sure if we were just unlucky with our experience at this hotel, and it is early days as this is a new hotel and hopefully these are just teething problems which will be resolved. Its also possible that the summer rates were so good and occupancy higher than staff could cope with. As it is a popular recommendation on the cruise sites where I first heard of it, I hope management gets the staff better trained as while many were pleasant there were an equal number who were not and this lack of polish is what will keep me away despite the awesome location and good rates.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small basic room, Porly trained staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sungirlxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2008

We stayed at the hotel for one night in August. We booked a junior suite which was ideal for us as we have 2 small children.

The view from the bedroom overlooked the London Eye and was very central for us as we wanted to show the children the sights.

We found the hotel staff very helpful and approachable during our stay, however it was when we returned home that we really needed their help and they did not dissappoint.

My 7 year old daughter had left two very special cuddly toys in her bed and was completely distraught when she realised she had left them on her return.

We contacted the hotel, and spoke with Luke - Jozef Francois
Senior Guest Relations Manager who asked the staff to conduct a search for the lost items. He kept us regularly updated on the progress of the search.

Unfortunately, they have not been found, but to my daughter's delight, a parcel arrived yesterday with replacement teddies.

It was lovely to see a smile back on her face as she cuddled them in bed last night.

We can not thank the hotel enough for their kind genorosity , a gesture which we did not expect..

We would certainly recommend the hotel, due to its location and cleanliness but more importantly its excellent service.

  • Liked — junior suite with 2 rooms
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank familyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2008

We were debating whether to give the hotel a three or a four star review. A three and a half, which seems to be what this hotel averages, would have been most appropriate. The Park Plaza County Hall is a new hotel in a wonderful location. We were able to walk to many attractions including Parliament, Buckingham Palace and the Theatre District. The rooms were clean and were suites, which was a big plus for us, since we took our teen aged daughter with us and it was nice to have separate space. If you are looking for a hotel with a suite, this is one for you to consider.
However, be forewarned, as mentioned in other reviews, that the double bed was hard and the sofa bed was like a rock. It was akin to sleeping in a sleeping bag on the floor.

After the first day, our room began to smell of sewage (avoid a room ending in "05". When we first complained, we were told that we should first allow housekeeping to investigate the source of the odor. However, 15 minutes later, reception called to tell me that the person in the floor below had complained as well and the problem was obviously one involving the line of rooms. The good thing about the room was that the AC had been working adequately. When we switched rooms, we were given a room where the AC was barely noticeable. Fortunately, the heat wave in London had passed, so it was tolerable. The second room was a corner room and was actually smaller than the first. I would recommend that you give your room a once over before unpacking and request a change if needed.

The lifts were not as slow as I had expected, and the staff was responsive to our complaints. There were a few broken items in both rooms. I think that they cheaped out with the furnishings and supplies when they built the hotel.

All and all, it was not a bad experience, but we would probably stay elsewhere if we returned to London.

  • Liked — Location and that they were suites
  • Disliked — sewage odor and hard beds
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2008

We are a family of four, and wanted a place with separate sleeping area for the kids but not a separate room. I contacted London Discount hotels and they offered us a great deal to stay in a Studio Room at the Park Plaza County Hall. There was a bedroom and a small kitchenette with microwave, small fridge, sink and coffee maker (Nespresso) and kettle. Then there was a sitting room with a pull out double bed. Both rooms had TVs, and internet (for a price) and the bathroom was gorgeous with shower and bath.

After reading other reviews I had asked for a room facing the London Eye, Big Ben and Houses of Parliament and we were on the 12th floor with a stunning view. I think facing the other direction may have been disappointing.

The only problem was that though the rooms were separate, there was no door between them and the bathroom had an opaque glass door so there was nowhere to go if you wanted to read when others were sleeping...the lights lit up the whole apartment.

You could easily walk across Westminster bridge, the London Eye was about a block away, and Waterloo Station a couple of blocks away. Also Big Bus Tours had a stop around the corner and the concierge was very helpful with organizing sightseeing. There was a fitness room and sauna, steam room as well.

It was sometimes hard to get the family out of the hotel to see London.

All in all it was a very positive experience.

  • Liked — Proximity to major sites in London
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank swissrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southbank
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#124 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#28 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza County Hall London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza County Hall London

Property: Park Plaza County Hall London
Address: 1 Addington Street, London SE1 7RY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in London
#50 Spa Hotel in London
#82 Business Hotel in London
#89 Romantic Hotel in London
#114 Family Hotel in London
#163 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza County Hall London 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza County Hall London is conveniently located on the south side of the River Thames near Waterloo Station and is next to London's County Hall, home to several attractions, including the London Sea Life Aquarium. The hotel is within minutes of a number of local attractions, including the London Eye, Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. Our London accommodation features modern guest rooms, six well-equipped meeting rooms with natural daylight, restaurant & bar, an Executive Lounge and a fitness centre. Choose Park Plaza County Hall London and see what makes us one of the top Waterloo hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Plaza County Hall London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza County Hall London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Park Plaza County Hall London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing