We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Plaza County Hall London
Ranked #233 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect trip!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed at the park plaza on 7th january for a one night stay in a junior suit. Room was tremendous with an outstanding view of big ben and the london eye! Breakfast was included and had so much choice, they were all delicious! The location was perfect for all sightseeing and was a short walk from most things! Couldn't fault this hotel at all, perfect stay well done park plaza county hall.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriellegiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Gabriellegiff,

Thank you for your great review. We are thrilled to hear of the fantastic stay you had at our hotel and are looking forward to seeing you again!

Kindest Regards,

Dana David
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,039
    2,319
    604
    223
    136
See reviews for
3,243
1,827
218
1,065
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,095)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This Park Plaza has demonstrated to my family and I that it more than justifies its Four Star rating. It was the third visit for my wife and I and a first for my son and daughter to this exceptional hotel.

As a 21st Birthday surprise for our daughter, this hotels management and staff surpassed our expectations in making our stay a wonderful and memorable occasion.
My daughter was upgraded to a superior room with a view overlooking both the London Eye and Big Ben. An added unexpected gift of a bottle of wine and a birthday card was left for her and signed by the manager and her team. My daughter’s thoughts of her stay were expressed in three words, Amazing, Spectacular and Memorable.

My son has some extreme dietary restrictions and these were dealt with efficiently and considerately by the excellent manager and staff in the Executive lounge at breakfast. As usual the breakfast in this hotel is superb in both the quality and variety it provided its international and UK guests.

A special thank you also goes out to all the other managers I spoke to prior to our arrival and during our stay who helped in upgrading our daughter’s room and making sure all our rooms were on the same floor and close to one another.

Our view is that this Plaza hotel is a shining example of customer care and commitment that puts many other similar establishments in London in the shade.

Room Tip: A room away from the lifts would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear David M,

I absolutely love our hotel’s new name: “Plaza Shining Star”! This truly says it all about your family stay with us. We always want to make sure every guest’s stay is a memorable experience and there is nothing more wonderful than knowing that this was indeed achieved!

We are looking forward to your next stay with us!

Kindest Regards,

Dana David
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our room was located on second floor and was nice and modern.
Check in was quick and we were in room within 10 minutes with our luggage.
Location is excellent for London Eye, Houses of Common, Tube and British Rail services at nearby Waterloo. Some rooms face towards the old Eurostar platforms.
Stay was 2 nights and ate out at nearby restaurants.
Pleasurable stay - Friendly staff and hotel new and modern.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear paulreg,

Thank you for your review. Fantastic to hear you had a great stay at our hotel!

We are looking forward to your next stay at our hotel!

Kindest Regards,

Dana David
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Liked: Holding bag service on day of departure, excellent gym room, spacious rooms, microwave in room handy, very nice decor
Disliked: no toilet roll holder, the sheet had a stain on it which was fixed, the air-conditioning had to be turned down at desk, breakfast for room service missed my eggs was redelivered.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Jerss,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel; however please rest assured that I have now addressed with our Executive Housekeeper and Food and Beverage Manager those areas where we failed to provide a 5 star service!

We hope to see you again soon and completely exceed all your expectations.

Kindest Regards,

Dana David
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

As some other reviewers have stated, this hotel does not deserve all the rave reviews it has been receiving. From the crowded and slow check in, the interminable wait for an elevator, and the room that was more like a sealed box than a bedroom, I cannot understand what people see in this place. After a long flight the last thing I wanted was a room with no natural light, no windows to open, and an air con system that was noisy and ineffective. It extended my jet lag by days. The food was abysmal, the bathroom fixtures in disrepair. Do yourself a favor and skip this one.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Dick D

Thank you for your reveiw, we treat the feedback we get with great importance and each department is dealing the details of this reveiw.


Thank you for taking the time to complete a reveiw

Kind regards
Karen Lorimer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I do not think that there are enough appropriate words in the English language to explain how let down we were by your hotel, but please let me try.

We stayed thehotel from Wednesday the 2nd of January and checked out on the 6th of January 2013. We were excited to stay at the hotel and have a lovely break in London. We had looked at trip advisor when booking, and had been recommended by a colleague who is also a Shell employee, as this hotel is a Shell recommended hotel. We couldn’t be more wrong, and trip advisor completely mis led us, and never before has this happened. We booked through last minute.com as it was a last minute booking, but not cheap by any means.

This is how our stay with you went. To begin with on arrival, the reception area was extremely busy, so we waited for 20 minutes, only to be informed that our room was not ready, and that in fact rooms are not ready at 1pm as stated in our booking, but can sometimes not be ready until 5pm. Advised to come back in an hour, taking into account we had multiple bags and had just got off a flight, we were hot, bothered and wanted to freshen up. We went and got a drink from the bar, which by the way the 5 tables were full and cannot cater for enough people. Eventually getting a drink and managing to get served by the very ignorant bar staff, we were still then told our room was not ready, so we decided to head out into London, and not sit about on the off chance it would be ready anytime soon.

On returning to the hotel at 5:30, our room was finally ready. Room 806. We were happy to finally head up and relax and get ready for dinner. On entering the room we were extremely upset to see it was small and that it was internal, one of the very few in the hotel from studying the plans. We had paid for a superior room, and other who paid the same got a room with a view. Very bad for the same price as room with a window and a view, not a sealed cabin. The room was also very hot and stuffy so we turned on the aircon.

We booked the restaurant for a meal at 6pm and headed up. We were seated in a small table, even though we were one of 3 groups of guests. We got a drink and ordered. Only 10minutes after ordering we received our bread. Immediately after finishing, without having even put our forks down, the plate was whisked away and starters placed. We thought at first this was efficient. Then we leisurely ate our starters and was offered another drink. Then again, as soon as we had put the last mouthful in my mouth, the plate was gone, and our steak mains placed. The restaurants was still pretty much empty at this point. No rest from food, nothing. The chips on the steak were cold and hard. There were 8 guests, and 7 members of waiting staff. Not once during the entire meal would any staff make eye contact with us or offer another drink. They loitered around the tils and the pass, doing absolutely nothing. With no drinks and unable to discuss the cold food with any staff we continued. Again the same happened. I had not even placed by fork down and a waiter almost ran past, took our plates and didn’t say a word. We had eaten 3 courses in under 30 minutes. We then continued, with no drinks, to wait for a further 30 minutes being ignored, until I left to get the host to get the bill. I made a comment to the waiter who brought the bill about our displeasure, and he pretended to not understand or speak good English and said he would tell the hostess. She came over, never apologised and took our payment. No word of anything. Upset we left and went back down for a drink from the bar. Again waiting to be served by the bar staff who seemed to take great pleasure in gossiping behind the bar rather than serving. The waiter who had claimed to not understand, came down to the bar and begin a 15 minute discussion with a member of staff at the bar in full English, and showed him lots of amusing pictures on his phone. Very galling to see after how he had treated us.

We went back to our rooms and went to bed. We went down for breakfast but the queue was so long, and exiting guests were audibly complaining about the lack of hot food, so we went without. The room was so hot throughout the night, with the air con at low, we complained at reception in the morning, as well as about our meal. We were told the heating is controlled from somewhere else and that the buttons in the room don’t do anything, its all automatic. She said it would be turned down through the day and to leave a key in it so it would stay on and cool, and also that the restaurant manager would call us about the meal.

When we returned the room was so so hot that we asked to be moved, and was told that no rooms have opening windows, and the air con could be turned down to 23 degrees. My heating in my house doesn’t even go up to 23 degrees that is so hot. I asked for 15 and she advised me it could only go to 18. The key that we had left in the room had been removed by a cleaner.
We had a missed call from the restaurant manager who said he would call again. We tried to call him again but he was never about, and he never bothered to get back in touch.
This went on and on and on, the air conditioning was never fixed, the only time we were told an engineer could come to the room was at 11pm. Not acceptable. After leaving the key in the room repeatedly as advised, the cleaning staff continued to remove it.
We ordered room service in the evening, only to find our calamari didn’t have any dip, when asked, the dip took so long that the food was cold, and had to be remade.

We ordered room service at our expense for breakfast twice, only to find that you do not supply a table. For a 4* hotel to have to eat on your bed, as there is no dressing table either, it appalling, We used the ironing board! Disgusting. Because we ate on the bed, some ketchup was spilled on the 2nd morning. The stain was still there until we left, the bed sheets never being changed.

The room was dirty, and dirty cups and glasses we never changed by the staff, let alone the beds. The sink was filthy and the cupboards dusty. We once returned to our room at 4pm, only to find it hadn’t been cleaned. We were advised to have put a tag on the door to ask for it to be cleaned, as they can be cleaned up to 4:30pm. We didn’t have the said tag.
The storage, not having anywhere to hang a long coat or dress is also disgusting. The hairdryer didn’t work, and neither did the shower screen, which flooded the bathroom every morning.

May I also add that 3 lifts for 16 floors is a joke. Sometimes we waited 20 minutes to get out of the place.
We could have coped with the problems with the room if we felt that any one took on board or cared about our concerns. Your staff are rude, unprofessional and do not follow through with their promises
.
On checking out we complained, and the guy said he could get money off our bill. After 5 minutes he advised he couldn’t and we would have to wait to speak to the manager. We had a flight to catch and couldn’t wait.

I have never been so appalled by a stay anywhere, let alone a 4* hotel. We will also be making a formal complaint through Shell about this being a recommended hotel for the company.

Room Tip: Ask specifically for NOT an internal room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lucyhyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Lucy,

I was very disappointed to read your e-mail and TripAdvisor review; however after our phone conversation today I am pleased to know that you will be returning to our hotel in the future. I am looking forward to your next visit at Park Plaza County Hall!

Kindest Regards,

Dana David
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We travelled up to London for a family birthday. Whilst checking in we mentioned the occasion, within 20 minutes of arriving in our rooms a birthday cake slice elegantly decorated had arrived which was an excellent gesture and got our holiday off to a great start! Location of the hotel was exellent and the concierge service was very helpful. Evening entertainment (a Robbie Williams tribute act) was very entertaining and the bar staff were just as helpful. Attempting to get into a lift was an issue, with only 3 lifts available the wait was quite frustrating, and with us being 13 floors up, the stairs weren't an easy option. The breakfast quality was excellant, however, the 20 minute queue getting to it wasn't pleasant and the price was quite high. Breakfast was a good experience but I would advise heading down to McDonalds for a double Sausage and Egg McMuffin, much cheaper! Rooms were good quality, only complaint would be the sliding glass doors to the bathroom, didn't block out light and noise which was a pain giving that there were 3 people staying in our room.

Room Tip: When asking for a room with a view, don't assume it will be facing the eye and the river, rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lewie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Lewie88,

I am delighted to know that we helped to make of your birthday celebration a very special occasion! We offer live music every Thursday in our bar- it fantastic you were here and could enjoy it!

It is true that at peak hours the waiting time for our lifts and breakfast might be slightly longer than usual, however I would like to assure you that we are continuously working on this so as to find new solutions and improve our guests's experience.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kindest Regards,

Dana David
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#162 of 1,068 in London
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza County Hall London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza County Hall London

Property: Park Plaza County Hall London
Address: 1 Addington Street, London SE1 7RY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in London
#53 Spa Hotel in London
#82 Business Hotel in London
#89 Romantic Hotel in London
#114 Family Hotel in London
#175 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza County Hall London 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza County Hall London is conveniently located on the south side of the River Thames near Waterloo Station and is next to London's County Hall, home to several attractions, including the London Sea Life Aquarium. The hotel is within minutes of a number of local attractions, including the London Eye, Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. Our London accommodation features modern guest rooms, six well-equipped meeting rooms with natural daylight, restaurant & bar, an Executive Lounge and a fitness centre. Choose Park Plaza County Hall London and see what makes us one of the top Waterloo hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Plaza County Hall London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza County Hall London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Park Plaza County Hall London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing