We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,350)
Filter reviews
8,350 results
Traveler rating
4,531
2,640
719
277
183
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,531
2,640
719
277
183
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waterloo station london eye big ben studio room south bank the sofa bed the penthouse kitchen area city view small kitchenette westminster abbey nespresso machine excellent location an upgrade mini bar fantastic hotel booked this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
5,364 - 5,369 of 8,350 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in London for three nights in late September 2012. This is the second time we have stayed at PPCH. We think that it is a well located hotel (near to Westminster bridge and next to overland and underground stations at Waterloo) and the standard of the rooms is good for London, being large and of an excellent standard for the price. Service can be a bit "patchy" and it is a good idea to avoid rooms that open onto the walkway around the central atrium (there is a lot of lift and other noises that echo).

Room tip: We stayed on the 8th floor overlooking Waterloo, the view is clear and the room was quiet, but i have stayed on the opposite side with a room that opened toward the atrium and there was a lot of echo noise.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrewAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear DrewAV,

Thank you for your review. I agree we have a wonderful location, moments away from London’s most important attractions and Waterloo Station. I am sorry you felt the service offered was “patchy” and please rest assured that I will address this with all the team as this does not reflect our high standards.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Dana David
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed here with a friend on Saturday 29th September. From the moment of arrival the staff were very helpful and friendly.We had a studio - upgrade from a double. The view was spectacular with the whole of Waterloo station and some London skyline. The studio had a bedroom, sitting room and bathroom and a great expresso machine. The lifts were slow as one is out of action at the moment but it wasn't really a problem. Breakfast was good and staff allowed us to check out at 12.15 as we were running late. Really enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Caroline C,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear you had a great time at our hotel thanks to our team, the room allocated to you and the great city view.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Dana David
Guest Relations Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

With a kid and buggy and suitcase in tow the lifts took average of Half hour in mornings. A disaster of a hotel. Get them fixed. One was allegedly under repair but we saw no work on it over a four day stay. Don't normally care but this really hampered our stay. We took stairs when possible . Not worth it just book the other hotel across street same chain and is nice. We had to rely on kindness of fellow guests to help us and one elderly lady was in tears as she had a stick and couldn't get up stairs. Embarrassing. Spoke to kind manager but three staff members passed us struggling to carry a buggy a child and two cases on stairs and wouldn't even offer to open a door to help. Forget the floral arrangements guys get the very basic right. rooms decent and spacious for London. They are replacing the lifts but I wouldn't stay again unless was past the buggy stage if have kids. Not v wheelchair accessible as result

Date of stay: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilovehotels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for your review.
May I apologies for the issue you experienced with the lift while staying with us recently. We currently, as noted on our confirmations and other media are carrying out essential engineering work to increase the efficiency and speed or our lifts. Due to the increase in waiting times for lifts we have implemented additional measures such as the modification of another lift in order to compensate for the one lift being out of service, We do have a 24 hour concierge service who will collect luggage from your room and also help bring pushchairs or other items down for you, signage on every floor and an increased level of staff to help our guests.

All our staff do inform our guests that they will experience an increase in waiting time during peak times while we carry out these works. Once again sorry for the experience you experienced and the manager you spoke to will pass your feedback to all our staff to ensure this does not happen again.

Kind regards

Andre Read-Kontou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Nice contemporary room. View of the train station. You might want to ask for the Big Ben view. Very clean and well appointed. After flying all night, we arrived at 10:00 am and they wouldn't budge on the check-in time of 2pm., so we sat falling asleep in the bar, where the service was non-existent. They say they have a restaurant but it was never open.

Room tip: If the view is important ask for it.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear ladyagogo,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience here at the hotel. It is good to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and your room, but I am sorry that you were not offered the right service in our Bar/ Restaurant.

I hope that during your next visit, the highlighted areas will have been resolved and we will be able to exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,

Brandy Dragan
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Walking distance to so many attractions, and only a block away from the Waterloo station (trains, Jubilee, Northern and Bakerloo tube lines). The room i had was very small, but well appointed, everything is modern and new. The only issue is a poor design in the movable shower door, which let heaps of water run under it on to the floor, resulting in a good-sized puddle on the floor every time i used the shower. Room and bathroom were very clean, as everything in this hotel. The fitness facility is much better than average for a hotel, and i used it every day rather than pay the £10 per visit i usually pay at a private gym. There's a wonderful little cafe/bar just across the tracks, in Lower Marsh street, that serves huge breakfasts all day long costing only £4-5. Given that it is in central London and right by busy Waterloo station, my room was amazingly quiet. I would stay at this hotel again.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPCHLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza County Hall London, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Marc F,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,

Brandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews