We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Challenging but good fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Escape Land Oxford Street

Escape Land Oxford Street
Ranked #31 of 337 Fun & Games in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Escape Land is a live escape game in London. Locked up in a room with a group of 3-5 people, you've got 60 minutes to fight through a maze of puzzles and mysteries and to open up the final exit door. Ideal for team building, game enthusiasts, friends & families.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Challenging but good fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

This is the third escape room I have played and definitely the hardest! We only had three team members and didn't ask for clues until 30 minutes in but it was tricky! The man was very friendly and you didn't feel rushed at all which was great! He happily took photos and asked lots of questions about how we found the game and discussed other people's experiences! Lots of different types of challenges but the only thing I would change would be the opportunity to find more things... There were lots of locks but most of these required 4 number combinations to be obtained through solving puzzles and things which was great if you're a high level logically thinker but otherwise they were quite abstract and I did find myself getting a little frustrated- would have been great to have more of a mix of some being hidden but overall a great experience!

Helpful?
Thank Kimberley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    25
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great activity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014

We went to escape land yesterday for a birthday (2 Couples) and had a fantastic hour. We escaped with 2 mins to spare (with a little help from the host) and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The puzzles were interesting and challenging. Hope they open a new room as we would definitely come back!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Lots of fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

My girlfriend had been talking about doing an escape room for awhile now and we discovered this one during our trip to London. The location was a bit challenging to find as google maps points you to a location across the street. Once we found it, the owner was friendly and helpful. We were locked into a room supplied with a piece of paper on a clipboard, a pen, and a walkie talkie incase we got stuck. We then had an hour to try to escape. The first room was challenging and the puzzles were very fun. The second room also had some fun puzzles but was overall less challenging (or we had gotten the hang it). With three people we managed to finish with just 3 minutes to spare. We really enjoyed ourselves and recommend it to everyone.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AdrianCC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Above expectations in many ways”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

My family and I went to Escape Land this afternoon. Our children range from 7 to 13.

We got a warm welcome from our host, listened carefully to his instructions and got going. Without giving anything away, I think it's fair to say that we started (very) slowly but gathered momentum. Our host gave us a few pointers (and a few extra minutes) and somehow we managed to escape.

We've been discussing the experience all evening. We all want to do it again. This is pretty unusual for us.

Very highly recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“what a brilliant hour (57 minutes actually!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

The biggest challenge is finding the place! A little off the beaten track but only a 7 minute walk from Bethnal Green on the central line. Turn right into Partimer and look for Seth Court about 100m on the left.

The place is basically an industrial unit which has been set up as a couple of rooms with a varity of puzzles in.

The host, who watches your progress via cameras, offers hints if you struggle to keep things moving - although in our case we felt we were nowhere near at a dead end before he helped out - maybe we were a little behind where we should've been at that point in order to get out in the hour?

The puzzles where all solveable but could do with a little tweaking to help with which solution code opened which lock.

We really enjoyed the experience and would recommend it to anyone - our team was 2 adults and a 13 and 14 year old.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pabcpabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Escape Land Oxford Street also viewed

 

Been to Escape Land Oxford Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing