We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hop on hop off buses”
Review of Golden Tours

Golden Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$92.54*
and up
Warner Bros. Studio Tour London - The Making of Harry Potter
More Info
$123.39*
and up
Leeds Castle, Canterbury Cathedral, Dover and Greenwich with Thames River...
More Info
$139.48*
and up
Windsor Castle, Bath, and Stonehenge Tour from London
Ranked #123 of 716 Tours in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Things to see and do in and around London. Sightseeing Tours, Attractions, Theatre, Events and lots more. “Tourism is the only business that actively brings cultures together. It is through experiencing other cultures that we come to understand one another.” With this at the forefront of our minds since 1984, we have continuously maintained our reputation as your local sightseeing experts. We offer a wide range of sightseeing tours designed to bring you the finest tour experiences possible. Additionally, we also include a range of activities that have been brought to us from other providers.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

we pre bought tickets for the buses online, we saved quite a bit, the red line bus travels around london to & from canary wharf. Once in London you can transfer to the blue line buses for more intesting tours of london with commentry through out

Thank flossy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldentoursUK, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time for sharing your experience on a London Hop-on Hop-off bus booked via Golden Tours.

We always aim to make the Red and Blue lines as enjoyable as we can. These tours are even more meaningful with the on-board commentary throughout.

Thank you for booking with Golden Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,821 - 3,825 of 5,971 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

It would have been great if they had given us directions as to how to actually find Fountain Square on the booking. We spent so long getting lost we nearly missed our tour! The bus driver to Harry Potter seemed to like slamming on the brakes every five seconds so we were constantly being thrown back and forth through the bus! They also ask that you get there 15 minutes before to 'check in' but when you get there the staff take one look at your reservation and tell you to go and wait by the bus.. not very friendly staff at all!

Thank Gera_312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldentoursUK, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment and bringing this to our attention.

Your comments about the location of the departure point and the quality of driving do need further investigation. We always advise people to allow good time as London is working city. All buses are regulated and monitored by our on-board tracking system.

Naturally, as a responsible company, we take all negative feedback very seriously and investigate these in order to keep on improving our customer experiences but only if it proves to be authentic.
Unverified Comments and reviews (positive and negative) sometimes can be untrue.

Therefore may I request you to please send us as much information as you can, together with the details of your reservation/tickets to customerservices@goldentours.com placing the word Trip Advisor into the subject header to be able to look into all the points you mention.

Thank you and looking forward to receiving details to initiate a full investigation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I chose the tour as I was travelling with my daugther and I was told we would be taken to the gate, aware no guide but happy with that. We were collected at second stop and and only 2 seperate seats. I asked to sit with my daugther and they would not arrannge it...words first on. We were then dropped at the coach site on the others side of town and only when asked were we told to walk over the bridge and"we would find it". In fact, over the bridge was the station...would have been cheaper and easier to get the train. Recommend you do!

1  Thank MelindaJean66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldentoursUK, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment and bringing this to our attention.

I am sorry that you may not have been able to sit together during a trip to Windsor as we are unable to reserve seats or issue seat numbers yet however your comments regarding being dropped off on the other side of the town do need further investigation.

Naturally, as a responsible company, we take all negative feedback very seriously and investigate these in order to keep on improving our customer experiences but only if it proves to be authentic.
Unverified Comments and reviews (positive and negative) sometimes can be untrue.

Therefore may I request you to please send us as much information as you can, together with the details of your reservation/tickets to customerservices@goldentours.com placing the word Trip Advisor into the subject header to be able to look into all the points you mention.

Thank you and looking forward to receiving details to initiate a full investigation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Although rating this tour as average, I want to be clear that my rating more reflects the nature of the tour than the information or tour guide herself. This was a bus tour (with a few photo op stops and an included fairly in depth tour of St. Paul's Cathedral). Our tour guide was lovely, funny, knowledgeable, and quite entertaining and while she provided a lot of information on the various attractions we passed (most of which were closed as it was Boxing Day), I found that this type of tour was not really for me or my young adult kids who would have preferred a more active tour with more opportunity to explore on our own. That said, it was great for my mom who is older and has limited ability to do a lot of walking. The tour did get us oriented to the city and that was helpful. I would recommend this tour for less active or elderly individuals or, as was our situation, for a holiday when most attractions are closed. Otherwise, I would probably forgo this and do each sight more actively.

Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldentoursUK, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time for sharing your experience on a Golden Tours' Boxing Day Sights and Sounds Tour.

We agree, London being so dynamic, that some people may prefer a more active tour with more opportunity to explore on their own however when covering as big as a metropolis like London in a single day it is quite a challenge. We always aim to make this tour as enjoyable as we can and maximize time.

Thank you for mentioning that this particular tour helped you get oriented to the city of London. In fact some people (and we recommend) do take this day-trip to enjoy it as an overview, only to plan places worth revisiting with more time on their hands.

We are pleased your found your guide, funny, knowledgeable, and quite entertaining as it is so meaningful when accompanied by someone who knows and understands when to share just the right bite-sized but relevant information at the right time. Most people who explore on their own sometimes miss this.

Thank you for choosing Golden Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

graham our tour guide was great! We did 2x major tours with Golden tours. My favourite was Warwick castle, Oxford and Cotswold. I love the concept of if u were not back on time you will be left behind. People who make you wait are just plain selfish. It is a tight schedule if ur want in an overview of English history ... If not do the tours on your own if you do not want to be rushed. I will use Golden tours again as the staff are very friendly and for an extra $10 pounds it's worth buying lunch through them as this gives you more time to site see! P.s if you don't understand English best to check before booking, as we had few Italians whinging on why the tours was not in Italian we are in England!

Thank Kass1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldentoursUK, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for sharing your ‘great’ experience on both the tours with Golden Tours

Very pleased to learn you found your guide, Graham, great as it’s always much more meaningful and enjoyable when accompanied by someone who is informative and enthusiastic.

When covering three great locations with the distances involved from London in a single day we always aim to make sure we maximize as much time as possible at each location but only with a little cooperation from everyone on the tour.

Thank you for choosing Golden Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing