We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst experience ever”
Review of Golden Tours

Golden Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$42.85*
and up
London Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Ticket with Boat Ride and Walking Tour
Ranked #112 of 742 Tours in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Things to see and do in and around London. Sightseeing Tours, Attractions, Theatre, Events and lots more. “Tourism is the only business that actively brings cultures together. It is through experiencing other cultures that we come to understand one another.” With this at the forefront of our minds since 1984, we have continuously maintained our reputation as your local sightseeing experts. We offer a wide range of sightseeing tours designed to bring you the finest tour experiences possible. Additionally, we also include a range of activities that have been brought to us from other providers.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

It was supposed to be a simple tour to Windsor Castle. The company overbooked the coach and we were informed that we would not depart until someone volunteered to back out of the trip. The next 45 minutes were filled with arguments about who was going to have to back out (no one wanted to since everyone had booked in advance) The late departure might have been forgivable if we had been allowed our full time at the castle. Upon our arrival we were informed that the coach would still be departing on schedule, with or without us, not making up for the lost time due to the late start. The worst part was the complete lack of sensitivity on the part of the driver for the needs of my elderly mother - the driver escorted us on foot up to the entrance of the castle at such a frantic pace that I had to run to keep up. He also failed to point out the lift that would have saved my mother from having to struggle up 3 flights of stairs.

90 minutes is NOT enough time to see Windsor. Don't waste your time with a tour like this, the train ride from London is easy, under an hour AND less expensive. You will be able to explore at your own pace - and don't forget the charming shops and restaurants in the village below - which we intend to visit on our next trip to London since there was no time for such things with this tour.

I am happy for those folks who seem to have had a good experience with this company. I wish our little trip to Windsor had been as good, it seemed like a simple concept. I, myself, will NEVER work with this company again and I cannot recommend it to anyone.

2  Thank ilovetotravel536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldentoursUK, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment and bringing this to our attention.

Your comment about “escorting” during Golden Tours “Simply Windsor” does need further investigation, specially when we clearly publicise on our website and brochures that this particular trip is “unescorted”.

Naturally, as a responsible company, we take all negative feedback very seriously and investigate these in order to keep on improving our customer experiences but only if it proves to be authentic.
Unverified Comments and reviews (positive and negative) sometimes can be untrue.

Therefore may I request you to please send us as much information as you can, together with the details of your reservation/tickets to customerservices@goldentours.com placing the word Trip Advisor into the subject header to be enable us to look into all the points you mention.

Thank you and looking forward to receiving details to initiate a full investigation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,060)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,072 - 4,076 of 6,242 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

My wife and I were in London in November 2013. We managed to pack a lot into a few days. One day was dedicated to a tour from Golden Tours. The tour included Stonehenge, Salisbury Cathedral, and the Roman baths at Bath.

The tour went all day: from 8:15am to 6:00pm but it was great fun. The tour guide was incredibly funny and engaging. Like a lot of these tours time at each stop was limited but that’s the nature of these things. The particular tour that we signed up for included admission to each site so there were no lines, no need to pay admission fees or anything like that. We signed up for the optional lunch at Salisbury so we enjoyed a meal while were there. Others simply picked up sandwiches and such on their own at the gift shop / cafeteria there.

The tour bus included a (tiny) bathroom which was an added convenience.

It would have been impossible for me to get to these places on my own so this was a great value and great way to see some of the amazing sites that England has to offer.

Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldentoursUK, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time for sharing your wife and your ‘excellent’ experience on Golden Tour’s day-tour of “Stonehenge, Salisbury Cathedral and Roman baths at Bath”

This tour does begin early as it is specially designed to cover all three great locations in a single day to maximize time at each attraction however, with the stories from the guide to having admission tickets ready (avoiding long-lines), we always aim to make your day-trip as enjoyable as we can.

We are very pleased you found your guide to be incredibly funny and engaging. This must have been quite fun.

Thank you for pointing out that you found this trip offers great value and for choosing Golden Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The three of us toured the above. Godfrey our tour guide was EXCELLENT. He was helpful and patient. We had a full bus, but everyone got to see everything with plenty of time to spare. Thank you!

Thank Globalrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldentoursUK, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time for sharing your experience with Golden Tours.

Pleased to hear that your party of three enjoyed day-trip to “Windsor Castle, Bath and Stonehenge”.

Glad you found your tour guide Godfrey, excellent, helpful and with the full bus, noticed his patience.

This tour is specially designed to cover all three great locations in a single day to maximize time at each attraction hence we are pleased you noticed, “Everyone got to see everything with plenty of time to spare”

I have passed your thanks to the whole team here at Golden Tours.

Thank you posting this positive comment and for choosing Golden Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We took services of Golden Tours on 2 Itineraries.
1) Windsor Castle, Stonehenge & Bath
2) Oxford, Stratford & Cotswold.
Both the tours were very tightly scheduled. There was no time to eat or have a cup of coffee or even to go to the toilets. Worst of all there wasn't sufficient time to even visit the attractions properly.
The Driver/Guide were least interested to know if any one was comfortable or needed something. It was expected that every one was to just rush to the sites and rush back to catch the bus.
The attractions were very good, there was sufficient time only at Oxford and other places the tourists were hauled like a truck full of Sheep.

Thank RAMESHSHIRALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldentoursUK, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time for submitting your feedback.

Discerning travellers expect when covering three great locations with the distances involved from London in a single day can always be time challenging and hence are prepared to find this particular day-trip of this nature quite fast moving, however, with the stories from an expert guide to having admission tickets ready, we always aim to make this day-trip as enjoyable as we can and maximizing time where we can.

Some people have known to take this day-trip to enjoy an overview, only to plan which of the three attractions, which you mention are very good, are worth revisiting with more time on their hands.

However, as a responsible company, we take all negative feedback very seriously and investigate these in order to keep on improving our customer experiences but only if it proves to be authentic.
Unverified Comments and reviews (positive and negative) sometimes can be untrue.

Therefore may I request you to please send us as much information as you can together with the details of your reservation/tickets to customerservices@goldentours.com placing the word Trip Advisor into the subject header to be enable us to initiate a meaningful investigation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

I went with a friend from abroad on the Stonehenge, Salisbury and Bath tour and was very impressed with Golden Tours. From the very punctual start of the tour to the end, it was really very good. Graham was our tour guide and he was brilliant; told us some really great facts about boring looking places of London as we began our journey and gave us some quiet time to nap too as it was an early start! He was very enthusiastic and you could tell he knew his stuff. Coach driver was lovely too. We had enough time at all three attractions and didn't feel rushed - in bath we had time for a coffee after visiting the Roman baths and for a leisurely stroll around the town. Graham made sure everyone knew how to get back to their hotel or home after the tour. He really went above and beyond my expectations. A tiring but great day all round!

Thank noopnoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldentoursUK, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience on Golden Tour’s day-tour of “Stonehenge, Salisbury and Bath” which you found “perfectly organised”.

Your tour guide Graham, whom you mention to be brilliant, is one of our most knowledgeable and enthusiastic members of the team. I am sure Graham will be ‘over the moon’ when he reads your comment - “He really went above and beyond my expectations”. We will forward your positive comments to your coach driver.

We really appreciate that you did not feel rushed, had lots of time and even had the time for coffee, despite covering three great locations with the distances involved from London in a single day.

Thank you for choosing Golden Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing