We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windsor, Bath, Stonehenge”
Review of Golden Tours

Golden Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.04*
and up
3-Hour Royal Parks and Palaces Bike Tour of London
Ranked #115 of 692 Tours in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Things to see and do in and around London. Sightseeing Tours, Attractions, Theatre, Events and lots more.“Tourism is the only business that actively brings cultures together. It is through experiencing other cultures that we come to understand one another.” With this foremost in our minds since 1984, we have continually maintained our reputation as your local sightseeing experts. We offer a wide range of sightseeing tours designed to bring you the finest tour experience possible. Additionally, we also include a range of activities that have been brought to us from other providers.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Windsor, Bath, Stonehenge”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The beginning of this tour was so rushed and so rule oriented that it is difficult to give this a positive rating. Just wasn't enough time to do Windsor Castle properly and was terribly disappointed. The tour did not start until after 9.00 and felt if it left an hour earlier would have had more time in Windsor to have a look around. The lady guide Aria was somewhat abrupt, but she did have an enormous amount of knowledge and she improved as the tour progressed. Really enjoyed Bath and Stonehenge.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 76Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldentoursUK, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Tours, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on the recent excursion you took with Golden Tours.

We regret to hear that you have not been overall satisfied with the tour and would like to apologise for any disappointment caused.

Please note that the departure time from our Kensington Office, which is the last pick up point is 9.00 AM. We understand that you were in the impression you would have more time if the tour departed earlier, however it has left as scheduled. Regrettably the itinerary of the tour is quite tight due to the distance between the venues. In addition it is designed for visitors who only spend limited time and would like to see as much in a day as possible.

Also we have passed on your feedback to our operations team to take into consideration when applying changes to the itinerary of our excursions.

Once again thank you for your constructive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,021
    1,129
    658
    599
    1,120
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't do it”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This tour was a disappointment. We barely had an hour for a lunch break yet we had 2 hours to kill at the Tower of London. After that, we were supposed to cap the day off with a cruise on the Thames River. Well, we lined up and then got on a boat, which turned out to be a water taxi and after 2 stops, had to get off. I would not recommend this as it was a huge disappointment and I felt that I wasted my hard-earned money

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aneela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldentoursUK, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Tours, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

We regret to hear that you have not been satisfied with the service received and would like to apologise for any disappointment caused.

Naturally, as a responsible company, we take all negative feedback very seriously and investigate these in order to keep on improving our customer experiences but only if it proves to be authentic. Therefore may I request you to please send us more details on your reservation to customerservices@goldentours.com placing the word Trip Advisor into the subject header to be able to look into the issue further.

Thank you and looking forward to your email to resolve this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Stonehenge, Bathe,Windsor (with lunch)”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

What a great day. TIP: call the day before confirm time and pick up points! They do NOT post correctly on your confirmation! Many did not do this causing havoc for those of us that did. It does state on your confirmation to do this. Get specific the time is___ and the place is___. For this trip we walked to the Victoria Coach (bus) station down the street from the Victoria train station.
Because of the others that did not confirm we were held up an hour. Yes a full hour which for the rest of us took that hour away. On to the trip which started at Windsor. Mind you these are walking tours that are not short. You walk up steep cobblestone streets, stairs at a fast pace in order to see everything. Wear appropriate shoes.
Windsor Castle is just amazing. I see why this is the queens favorite! It is just elegant with so much history filled in this old caste I can't begin to put into words! Just go there, you must see it with your own eyes. You are given time to wonder about on your own. Remember that there is security check points. Don't carry anything you wouldn't on a plane.
Stonehenge can't be explained, maybe you can?! You walk around this mysterious set of stones in the grass and sometimes mud. You just can not go to the UK and miss this sight! So again you are given more than adequate time to see this and shop. I can tell you after waiting at Windsor for 30 minutes after time allotted a couple was left behind. Which I agree should have happened. You could not have been lost if you listen to our guide Graham. He is simply amazing. After leaving here you are given a bag lunch. This was to be enjoyed while traveling to our next stop Bathe. What was included in this was a peach, red wine, water, a bag of chips and a ham and cheese sandwich with some sort of pesto on it. I didn't care for it.
Bathe a simply gorgeous town that the Romans built for their luxury. The Roman baths were interesting. However I found the town more interesting. I wish I would have not included lunch and ate lunch here! There are may eateries, and great sausage carts! They were yummy. We also found a fudge shop all natural no gluten......yes I indulged there!
Trip back was about 2 hours. Ours a bit longer because of an accident on the road. You are dropped off at Glocesture(sp?) or Victoria coach station. We arrived back at 830pm again we had bad traffic.
This was a fab trip our guide was Graham. He was very specific how to get where, what to see, and what you had too see so that you would have no regrets! YES DO THIS!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mzzlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldentoursUK, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Tours, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on the Windsor, Bath & Stonehenge tour you took with Golden Tours.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed touring with us and found the visited sights amazing.
Please note that the pick up service can be arranged while booking online, alternatively if not done so a note will come up on the voucher to call us prior to the travel date.

Also we have passed on your kind comments to Graham, who was delighted to hear that you found him amazing and would like to personally thank you for your encouraging words.

Once again thank you for your constructive comments and high scores.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“windsor, bath and stonehenge”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Thanks for the enjoyable day. Amerish was a skilled driver in whose hands I felt entirely safe. Jess our guide was delightful and entertaining. She has an incredible knowledge of British history and makes it interesting and alive. It was a well spent day. BG

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldentoursUK, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Tours, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on the excursion you recently took with Golden Tours.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the day with us and got to know more about English history due to your tour guides interesting and informative commentary during the day. Also we have passed on your positive comments to Jess as well as Amrish and both of them would like to thank you for your kind words.

Once again thank you for your positive feedback and high scores.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Lost Day In London With Golden Tours”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We prepaid for four 48 hours tickets on Golden's Hop on Hop off bus in London. Our first day Sunday Sept. 15 was totally ruined thanks to Golden's incompetence. We waited at a designated pick up point (Picadilly Circus) four over an hour without a bus in sight. When we got a local to call for us we were told that this pick up sight was not operating because of the London Triathlon. Why would they not post a sign at the sight? Two other bus companies were picking up at the sight(the Original Bus and the Big Bus. We were told to go to tube station to be picked up(a 20 minute walk or a single ticket on the tube 4.30 pounds). We later learned that there was a pick up at Trafalgar Square( a 5 minute walk from where we were waiting. Later we were told that they had new agents in the office that were not familiar with the routes. Later that afternoon we sat at Victoria Station 45 minutes waiting for a new driver to take over the bus. When I questioned a supervisor who was sitting on the steps having a smoke all he could say that it was not a good day for us. If you choose to ride a hop on hop off bus in London I would suggest using one of the other companies. They have more buses on the road and more routes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank paltoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing