We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
London
Post
Inbox
Search

“Fresh take on English cuisine”
Review of Lyle's

Lyle's
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 2/19
8:00 PM
OR
Reserve a Table
Ranked #2,012 of 28,989 Restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Shoreditch
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent meal for our first night in London. The menus changes daily so you never know what you’ll get, but we lucked out with a wonderful menu full of fresh and perfectly cooked ingredients. Don’t skip the cheese course!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank travelqueen928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had just travelled from Sydney via Perth. 5:00 am arrival at Heathrow, so after settling in our son took us into London. This was his recommendation.
What a great choice. Great wine list, attentive staff and a classically simple menu that focuses on great product.

Loved it. Will be back.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Danny2117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

atmosphere and staff were lovely and the food was amazing would definitely go back and eat there again only one thing to keep in mind is that only 1 toilet for gents and 1 for ladies but that ok

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Spikemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2019 via mobile

Give this one a miss ! Have been waiting to try Lyles for ages and having finally got a table was very disappointed. The service is inattentive and unfriendly. I had to catch attention and ask for the wine list and the restaurant certainly was not busy. Twice the food arrived before the wine and our carafe of red was chilly . The fizz was very odd. Some of the food was delicious but 2 courses were hugely over salted and I had to ask for fresh cabbage unsalted. I was told it’s a matter of taste but looking through these reviews , not so ! It seems Lyles are not interested in customer feedback .
It’s definitely not worth the price tag or hype. It’s resting on its laurels there are much better places to eat !

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank ruthbF4099SQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2019

Visited here for lunch, food was very good, loved the mallard and brill. Portions are small but the food is rich and tasty.
The decor was not as I expected, the decor and service felt very basic, nothing really noteworthy about them.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank SueCroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyle's also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Lyle's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing