We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect base for London break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Astors Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Astors Hotel
Ranked #181 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect base for London break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We booked a last minute 3 night break in London for a honeymoon, but wanted to keep costs down due to the obvious explosive costs of the wedding!
Let me start with the travel. We were quoted over £200 for the two of us by train and National Express from Cornwall to London. When I inquired about MegaBus we found it was less than £20 per person return to London Victoria Coach Station.
And this is where this hotel frst caught my attention.
It is only about 2 minutes walk from the coach station door. Having paid when booking for a double room, I was aware and a little concerned the rooms were small, however we intended to either be out and about or in bed, so we did not see this as too much of an issue.
We were first showed to Room 206 - which unfortunately was a twin room! When I mentioned this to the receptionist and in fact we were on honeymoon she told us she would get another couple moved from their room and we were to sit tight for ten minutes.
As it turned out, we were then allocated Room 208 on the top floor, a perfect double room. Yes the room was small but it had air conditioning and an en-suite. The en-suite has a small square shower, barely big enough for a man like me to turn round in, but it served a purpose. If they utilised the room properly they could install a much bigger shower cubilcle which would have been far more comfortable.
But anyway, it did not spoil our visit. The bed was soft, but exceptionally clean and quite sturdy! Not much of a view but we did not expect one.
We never tried the breakfast room - there are plenty of places to get breakfast close by. We did make plenty of cups of tea though, and had no issues whatsoever obtaining more tea bags or milk.
The staff were lovely - friendly and willing to help, and certainly did their part to make our little honeymoon memorable.
If you do stay here I suggest you definitely try the Peggy Porschen Cup Cake Cafe opposite - expensive (£12 for two cup cakes and two lattes) but they were the best cup cakes - apart form those made by my wife! Well worth it to try them and sit outside watching the world go by for half an hour.
Top hotel, great value and thoroughly recommended. And only ten minutes stroll from Victoria Tube Station, and five minutes from a pick up for the standard open top London tour bus.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Astors Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Many congratulations on your recent wedding. We feel honoured that you chose our hotel to spend your honeymoon.

As you say the Hotel is in a great location and the price very reasonable for London.

Trust you managed to see many of the attractions on the open roof buses.

Maybe we will be able to welcome you back for anniversaries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    71
    57
    15
    14
See reviews for
54
45
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

This small hotel is situated within SW1 postcode of London,it's central to Victoria train and bus station, making it a good location for seeing a lot of tourist sites in the capital.
Staff are not particularly helpful, breakfast area seats about 8 people on cheap bench style seating. Breakfast is better eaten away from the hotel. When we asked for extra milk I was told I had had my allowance, 2 small UHT pots! Only after arguing did I get some more.
The rooms are small and basic. The en suite in room 207 is impossible, you need open the en suite door, step back into the bedroom, open the shower door, step into the shower and close the bathroom door.....or just stay somewhere else! Would not recommend for any longer than a night or so.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Astors Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for your review.

It is most unusual for guests to say the staff are unhelpful. Indeed, the reviews are there for everyone to see.

The hotel is small with 20 rooms and not everyone eats breakfast at the hotel so the dining room is considered adequate.

If you were not happy with your room you could have asked to be moved to another. Unfortunately as you failed to bring this to our attention we are not able to help after the event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed April 2014 for 2 nights on business. Room was OK, though bed a bit soft and lumpy for my liking. Breakfast simple but OK, though the reception area where it was served was small and a bit crowded. This is a great part of town and a lovely street. But there are better hotels in the same street in my view!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 5intokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Astors Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for your review.

You do not say whether the other hotels in the road are the same price as Astor's.

If another room was available at the time of your visit we would have willingly transferred you had you mentioned your bed was too soft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

The Hotel was quite nearby Victoria Station from where easy access to Heathrow is possible.
Best for people who are in a Holiday visit in London.
London bus ticket vouchers are also available with the reception of the hotel.
Hotel authorities are very helpful for people visiting London for the first time.
For Indians, Indian restaurant is about 5-7 min. walking distance from the hotel.
All in all Best hotel to stay if you are there for 10-15 days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surveshsaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Astors Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Amazing review, a perfect score for everything.

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and pleased that you found many of the attractions and points of interest in very easy reach of the hotel.

We very much hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed at Astors Hotel with 2 girlfriends for one night in March. The location is great - 10 minutes taxi from Paddington, very close to Victoria Station, Knightsbridge, the Kings Road. Our room (102) was very clean, large (a triple - we expected a double and a sofa bed but we had 3 double beds) and quiet. The shower worked well, it had a TV, lots of complimentary water, tea and coffee. The reception staff were nice and helpful, breakfast was basic but fine considering that it's a budget, basic hotel. We'd absolutely stay here again - excellent value, perfect location, clean, quiet and cheap.

Room Tip: 102 is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Astors Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Your review sounds as though you had a brilliant time. Trust you managed to fit everything in!?

I will pass your comments to the staff.

Thank you for your complimentary description of the Hotel, really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

we enjoyed a lovely 3 night stay here at the end of january,fantastic location,very close to victoria coach station,15 minute walk to buckingham palace,around 25 minutes down to westminster bridge,it's pretty central to all the tourist attractions.our room was on the 3rd floor at the back of the hotel,it was small but very modern and the bed was really comfy and we slept like babies,it has a small breakfast area next to the reception and had a good selection of things to eat.all in all a good stay and would stay again

Room Tip: i would ask for a room on the 1st or 2nd floor(unless you're really fit)as there's no lift a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhian29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Astors Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Reading your review I trust you managed to fit all your sighting seeing in during your stay!.

We are extremely pleased you liked our hotel and that you had a great nights sleep.

We very much hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

The hotel location was very good. Close to the Victoria train station and lovely neighborhood with plenty of good restaurants and cafes.
The room we had was in the basement. It was noisy; stairs next to our room and breakfast room right above our head.
The bed was small and mattress bit sagging ; however we slept well.

Breakfast was everything you want from a breakfast Yoghurt, fruit, scrambled eggs etc.
However the breakfast area is cramped with 5 small tables and sometimes no spaces.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Astors Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
You review does not say how long you stayed with us but with regard to the noise you mention it is a great pity you did not bring this to the attention of the Management. I appreciate we do not always have alternative rooms available but if we had we certainly could have moved you.

You obviously enjoyed the location and the hearty breakfast. I am also very pleased that you slept well.

We hope to welcome you again in the future, perhaps in a room on a higher floor level.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#312 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
#650 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
BEST WESTERN Victoria Palace
Belgravia
Park Avenue Belgravia
Park Avenue Belgravia
#193 of 573 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Belgravia
Lynton Hotel London
Lynton Hotel London
#45 of 573 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astors Hotel

Property: Astors Hotel
Address: 110-112 Ebury Street, London SW1W 9QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Astors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central London in the heart of Belgravia, this private hotel provides a comfortable and friendly accommodation close to Victoria station and many business and tourist attractions. A warm welcome awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Astors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astors Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing