We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London visit”
Review of Astors Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Astors Hotel
Ranked #128 of 554 London B&B and Inns
Bayonne, France
1 review
“London visit”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

A very well located hotel in a pleasant area with very pleasant surroundings, room a little small for three people but clean and nicely decorated, breakfast also had much more choice than expected. All good except the night receptionist who we nicknamed "our best friend" as he so most definitely wasn't!! surprised to be asked to pay on arrival at 2 am and impossible to split the bill altho' we were 6 singles which was strange.
Over all would recommend the hotel esp. if using the gatwick express.

Room Tip: Higher floors away from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank french40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Astors Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. Most of the comments are very positive apart from the receptionist splitting the bill.

We often do split bills for guests. I have not spoken directly to the receptionist but can assure you this is most likely a misunderstanding on his part.

We hope to welcome you again soon and pleased that you enjoyed the Hotel and location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    86
    67
    16
    17
See reviews for
67
56
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I recently visited London for a short trip and stayed at Astors Hotel.

We travelled via National Express coach to London and this hotel was a short walk away from the coach station. We had tickets to see Wicked at Victoria's Apollo Theatre and again, we were only a ten minute walk away from both the theatre and restaurant we had booked for a pre-theatre dinner.

The room was located on the top floor which, if we had more luggage with us, would have been a problem carrying cases up the stairs. Our room was spacious enough and quite comfortable. The en-suite facilities were good and so too were the room facilities.

Breakfast in the morning was a self service, continental set up and was always well stocked with fresh juice and milk. The only downfall to breakfast was the setting: tables cramped up in a small area, causing disturbance to other diners.

The staff upon arrival were welcoming and friendly and even though we couldn't check in as soon as we arrived, we were able to leave our luggage in a secured area.

Tourist Information
Victoria underground, rail and coach station: ten minute walk.
Buckigham Palace: fifteen minute walk.
St James's Palace and Clarence House: twenty minute walk.
Hyde Park: twenty minute walk.
Green Park: twenty minute walk.

Overall: a comfortable stay at a comfortable hotel. We will certainly be making a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaMarlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Astors Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review.

Astor's is situated in a perfect location for many attractions and bus, tube and rail links.

I am especially pleased to read that you would like to return to us and hope this will be soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and the room was near to the street. At night the cars passing by were really noisy and I can't sleep well. Other than the noise, it is a good location and it's just a stone throw away from Oxford Circus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqi393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Astors Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
London is a very busy City during the day or night. However, Astor's is situated in a quiet road. Many other reviews make the point how quiet it is.

I am therefore sorry that you "do not sleep well" maybe next time you can request a room at the back of the hotel.

We very much hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here recently on a work trip and found it to be in a good location with a couple of bars and shops close by and a short taxi ride to anywhere else I needed to go. Not overly luxurious but the room was clean, quiet and comfortable and the reception staff very pleasant. Ideal for a short stay especially for business purposes and gave good value for money considering the usual London prices. The only downside was trekking up the stairs to the room but that wasn't a huge issue in the scale of things and I'd be happy enough to stay again for future work trips.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Scarlet2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Astors Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review.

The Hotel is a small building and it would be very difficult to find suitable space to house a lift.

However, this does not seem to have put you off and we will be very happy to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed at this hotel on business. During my previous visits I have stayed upstairs, but unfortunately this time I was in the basement. The room smelt damp and musty and it was cold. There was a dehumidifier/heater in the room, but this really didn't take the edge off.

I asked if an alternative was available upstairs but unfortunately, even though I made the booking several weeks ago, the only alternatives were in the basement.

This hotel has been awarded a 4 Star status. However, the breakfast is poor, the basement rooms are poor and, whilst the linen was clean, the overall experience was pretty poor. To be fair, the upstairs rooms are much better so if you do choose this hotel, which is an easy walk from Victoria Station, I suggest you request a room upstairs.

Room Tip: Request a room "upstairs"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Astors Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I will speak to management regarding the damp smell. As the weather has been warm for many weeks I am suprised the room smelt of damp.

The Hotel is under new ownership and they are eager to check everything our guests say about their stay.

I am also sorry we could not have offered you an upstairs room but the Hotel although small is very popular and we seldom have vacant rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights. The room was hot due to it being top floor and the heat didn't shut off. We got a remote for the ductless air conditioning which kept the room tolerable. The safe didn't work even after asking for it to be unlocked (batteries were dead).

The breakfast was a lot like what you get at a low end US Hotel like a Day's Inn. No real innkeepers here. Just people working the desk. If you are looking for a homey B&B this isn't it. Rooms are expensive in London. This is lower priced. I would look at other alternatives for our next trip to London.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Guest Relations Manager at Astors Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review.

The Hotel is under new ownership and we are checking all the issues you mentioned in your review.

You do not say whether you raised any of these issues during your stay but it is essential that you do as we can only rectifiy the issues if we are made aware of them.

The Hotel is in an excellent location and taking London prices into consideration the Hotel is very moderately priced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I spent the last 2 nights of our honeymoon in London and spent a fair amount of time researching hotel accommodations. We arrived to the hotel and were shown quickly to our room on the top floor. The hotel was small, but it looks like they've put effort in to make it feel contemporary and in line with the boutique nature of hotels in the area. The room was small yet clean, which was to our satisfaction. We love the Victoria area and found that the hotel was happily situated by wonderful restaurants, cafes, and within walking distance to so many of London's wonders.
We discovered the air conditioner in our room did not work, which would not have been an issue for us but that we were visiting in the middle of a heat wave and our room was on the top floor of the hotel. We informed the receptionist right away and after several trips to our room, he told us that he would have to call the repair man to resolve our issue. He told us that the repair man should be able to resolve our issue that night, or at least first thing the next morning. We stepped out for a late dinner with the air conditioner still not functioning. We asked the gentleman at the desk before we left for dinner about receiving a discount on our room for the evening if the issue was not resolved, and he told us that there would be no issue with receiving a discount, we only needed to contact management the next morning. The following morning, we went back to the front desk to inquire again about the air conditioner situation. The woman at the front desk said she would send up someone to help. The repair man arrived and was unfortunately unhelpful. He turned the air on, but as we tried to explain, the air did not get cooler and really only the fan was functioning. He did not speak very much English and therefore left with our issue unresolved. We again mentioned this at this front desk where the receptionist informed us that the repair man told her that it was resolved and therefore there was nothing more she could do. We asked about a discount for the uncomfortable night the night before, and she told us that there would be no way to offer us any discount. We asked to speak with a manager, but he was not in town. We returned after breakfast to inquire again as to what could be done to remedy the situation. We were not looking forward to another sweltering night, especially at the price we were paying. At first the receptionist told us that there was nothing more she could do, but after pressing for some sort of assistance, she agreed to move us to another room. The second room was wonderful, still very clean, and the air conditioner worked great!
We understand that the price to stay in London is steep, but it was very unfortunate that we thought we were paying for one thing and received another.
I think the staff may have been a bit stretched in the absence of the manager, but we would have loved to end our amazing honeymoon on a more positive note.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#311 of 1,068 in London
1,580 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
#683 of 1,068 in London
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Eccleston Square Hotel
Eccleston Square Hotel
#173 of 1,068 in London
483 reviews
Belgravia
Park Avenue Belgravia
Park Avenue Belgravia
#181 of 554 in London
314 reviews
Belgravia
Lynton Hotel London
Lynton Hotel London
#50 of 554 in London
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astors Hotel

Property: Astors Hotel
Address: 110-112 Ebury Street, London SW1W 9QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 554 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Astors Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central London in the heart of Belgravia, this private hotel provides a comfortable and friendly accommodation close to Victoria station and many business and tourist attractions. A warm welcome awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Astors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astors Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing